Database Reporting Requirements
Clean Truck Check Database Reporting Requirements
This Fact Sheet lists information that vehicle owners (or designees) will be required to report in 2023 in the Clean Truck Check database when creating their accounts to comply with the Heavy-Duty Vehicle Inspection and Maintenance regulation. CARB anticipates that the database will be open for fleet representatives to create accounts on October 1, 2023. Required information must be entered for vehicles in their fleet that are subject to Clean Truck Check and the $30 per vehicle compliance fee(s) paid for all vehicles in the fleet by December 31, 2023. Failure to do so by December 31, 2023, may result in vehicles being cited for non-compliance and subject to penalties, and/or having their DMV vehicle registrations blocked. In addition, freight contractors, brokers, and applicable freight facilities are required to ensure Clean Truck Check compliance with vehicles they do business with starting in 2024.
The reporting database is expected to include batch upload functions to streamline the vehicle reporting and compliance fee payment process. Additional training materials on how to use the database will also be provided to assist users in meeting their Clean Truck Check reporting requirements.
(1) What information relating to owners will need to be reported?
(A) Registered Owner Name
(B) Entity Name
(C) Fleet/Secondary Name (if applicable)
(D) Designee (if applicable)
(E) Title of Designee (if applicable)
(F) Contact Email Address
(G) Contact Mailing Address
(H) Contact Phone Number
(I) Entity Physical Address
(J) United States Department of Transportation (U.S. DOT) number (if applicable).
(K) California Motor Carriers Permit (MCP) ID (if applicable).
(L) Public Utilities Commission (PUC) ID (if applicable).
(2) What vehicle information will need to be reported?
(B) License plate number.
(C) State in which the vehicle is registered with a DMV.
(D) Vehicle make.
(E) Vehicle model.
(F) Vehicle model year.
(G) Engine fuel type.
(H) Gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR).
To complete the reporting process, vehicle owners or their designee must attest, under penalty of perjury, that they have entered in the reporting database the complete list of vehicles in their fleet that are subject to the Clean Truck Check Program. Vehicle owners are also required to update their accounts within 30 days of adding or removing a vehicle from their fleets. Upon attesting responsibility for the complete list of vehicles, an Affirmation of Fleet Wide Compliance will be provided within 72 hours, once the vehicle owner or designee has demonstrated that every vehicle in the fleet complies with the requirements of this regulation.
For compliance assistance, please send an email to email@example.com. In addition, the Clean Truck Check homepage is available at Clean Truck Check (HD I/M) | California Air Resources Board where you will find other fact sheets, information on credentialed testers and how to become one, future vehicle testing requirements, training opportunities, and other helpful guidance.