Placer County Transit Settlement
Placer County Transit Case Settles for $3,000
In October 2009, Placer County Transit agreed to pay $3,000 in penalties for violating air quality regulations: $2,250 will go to the California Air Pollution Control Fund, which provides funding for projects and research to improve California's air quality; $750 will go to Peralta Community College District to fund emission education classes conducted by participating California community colleges, under the California Council for Diesel Education and Technology (CCDET) program. An investigation by the Air Resources Board (ARB) showed that Placer County Transit failed to properly self-inspect their diesel trucks to assure the trucks met state smoke emission standards, and to properly affix emission control labels the engines of their fleet vehicles. ARB documented violations as they related to the Periodic Smoke Inspection Program (PSIP) and Emission Control Label (ECL) Program. To settle the case, Placer County Transit agreed to the $3,000 penalty and to comply with the Emission Control Label and Periodic Smoke Inspection programs, and other ARB programs.