Abrasive Blasting - Certification Process
The purpose of the certification of abrasives is to approve abrasives for permissible dry outdoor blasting operations in order to reduce the generation of fine particles, which are inhalable and contribute to reduced visibility. Abrasive manufacturers apply to the California Air Resources Board (CARB) biannually to have their abrasives tested and certified for permissible dry outdoor use in California.
Manufacturers Producing Abrasives
Applying for Certification
Each grade of the abrasive you wish to have certified for permissible dry outdoor blasting must be submitted separately. Also, if you produce an abrasive at more than one site, a sample from each site must be submitted separately. Please complete and return the application form for all abrasives you wish to submit for certification. Be sure you read the instructions carefully before you fill out the application and ship your abrasives. Abrasives submitted incorrectly will not be tested. We will inform you when we have completed testing so that we can together arrange for the abrasives collect return shipment or disposal. Our costs for the disposal/return of your abrasives will be included in your invoice for certification testing.
In order to be certified, the abrasive must contain not more than one percent, by weight, materials passing a #70 U.S. Standard sieve before blasting. After blasting, the abrasive must contain not more than 1.8 percent, by weight, material 5 microns or smaller. The producer or manufacturer of an abrasive which fails the sieve test may choose to demonstrate that the abrasive meets a 20 percent opacity emission limit when blasted. The after-blast criteria must be met in either case. The regulations, test procedures, and a flow chart of the certification process are available above.
You will be billed for the actual cost of the testing and disposal/return. This varies, but is expected to be between $2,500 and $3,000 per sample plus disposal/return costs. An invoice for the cost of the test will be sent to you after the disposal/return of the product. Your results will be sent to you upon payment of the invoice. Non-payment of the invoice will result in decertification. Certification is effective for no more than 2 years.