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Off-Road Regulation Advisory 12-02

ANNUAL REPORTING FOR THE IN-USE OFF-ROAD DIESEL-FUELED FLEETS REGULATION
REQUIRED BY MARCH 1, 2012 FOR LARGE FLEETS

The California Air Resources Board’s (CARB) regulation for In-Use Off-Road Diesel-Fueled Fleets
(Off-Road Regulation) became effective under California law on June 15, 2008. This regulation is
intended to reduce harmful emissions from diesel powered construction and mining vehicles
operating in California. Among other things, fleet owners are subject to accelerated replacement/
repower requirements, as well as restrictions on unnecessary idling.

Fleets were required to initially report their off-road diesel vehicles to CARB in 2009 via DOORS, the
on-line reporting system for the Off-Road Regulation . As they buy or sell vehicles, fleets are
required to notify CARB within 30 days.

Annual Reporting Deadlines

Beginning in 2012 for large fleets, 2016 for medium fleets, and 2018 for small fleets, fleets must
annually update and affirm their reporting information is correct. This annual update is required by
March 1 of each year and must include a signed statement, called a Responsible Official Affirmation
of Reporting (ROAR), affirming that the fleet information reported is accurate and that the fleet is in
compliance. The first requirement for a ROAR is March 1, 2012 for large fleets (those with
affected vehicles totaling over 5,000 horsepower).

In addition to the ROAR, as part of their annual reporting, large fleets with low-use vehicles (those
operating in California no more than 200 hours per year) must also report engine hour meter readings
for those engines. Similarly, large fleets with vehicles used a majority of the time (but not solely) for
agricultural operations must also report hours of use for those vehicles each year as part of their
annual reporting.

Large fleets must submit a ROAR, low-use engine hours, and agricultural use hours each year from
2012 to 2023. Medium fleets must do so each year 2016 to 2023, and small fleets must do so each
year from 2018 to 2028.

Using DOORS to Report

Within DOORS there are forms for fleets to use in order to submit their annual reporting, including
screens to report low-use and agricultural vehicle hours. Fleets may submit the ROAR form to CARB
via mail, email, or fax and signed by the responsible official. Fleets also have the option to submit an
Electronic ROAR through their DOORS account. Log into DOORS here:
https://ssl.arb.ca.gov/ssldoors/doors reporting/doors login.html

If a designee signs the affirmation of reporting, a written statement signed by the responsible official
designating the designee must be attached to the affirmation of reporting and submitted to ARB. This
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written statement designating the designee must only be attached the first time that designee signs
the affirmation of reporting. This form is also available in DOORS.

If the responsible official or designee is the same for several fleets or fleet portions, the responsible
official or designee has the option of submitting a single affirmation for these fleets, as long as the
single affirmation appropriately identifies each fleet covered by the affirmation.

Penalties

Fleets that have not yet reported and are found to be in violation by enforcement personnel before
they report themselves will be subject to enforcement action, including fines. Health and Safety
Code, Sections 39674 (a) and (b) authorize civil penalties for the violation of the programs for the
regulation of toxic air contaminants not to exceed one thousand dollars or ten thousand dollars
respectively for each day in which the violation occurs, which can be applied to each vehicle
that is not reported.

For More Information

For information about the Off-Road Regulation, visit the website at: www.arb.ca.gov/ordiesel. For
guestions regarding off-road reporting, you may contact the DOORS hotline at (877) 59-DOORS
[(877) 593-6677] or by email at doors@arb.ca.gov. For general questions about diesel regulations,
you may contact the Diesel hotline at (866) 6-DIESEL [(866) 634-3735].
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