SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT AND RELEASE

This SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT AND RELEASE (hereinafter "Agreement") is
entered into between the STATE OF CALIFORNIA AIR RESOURCES BOARD
(hereinafter "ARB") 1001 | Street, Sacramento, California 95814, and Downey
Wholesale Incorporated (hereinafter “DWI”), 10240 Geary Avenue, Santa Fe
Springs, California 90670-3212.
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RECITALS

California Health and Safety Code section 44011.6 (HSC § 44011.6)
established the Heavy-Duty Vehicle Inspection Program (HDVIP). It
authorizes ARB to inspect on-road heavy-duty vehicles for excessive
smoke emissions and engine tampering and to issue citations,
accordingly. The program also requires the vehicle owner to repair its
engines that exceed the prescribed ARB smoke opacity standards,
perform a post-repair opacity test, and submit proof of repairs and any
assessed penalties under the Regulations of the HDVIP, chapter 3.5,
California Code of Regulations, title 13, sections 2180-2188, (13 CCR §§
2180-2188).

HSC § 43701 provides that ARB shall adopt regulations that require
owners or operators of heavy-duty diesel motor vehicles to perform
regular inspections of their vehicles for excessive smoke emissions

13 CCR § 2190 et seq. were adopted under the authority of HSC § 43701
and, with limited exceptions, which are not applicable here, apply to all
heavy-duty diesel powered vehicles with gross vehicle weight ratings
greater than 6,000 pounds that operate on the streets or highways within
the State of California.

13 CCR § 2190 et seq. authorize the Periodic Smoke Inspection Program
(PSIP) which requires the owners and operators of California based
vehicle fleets of two or more heavy duty diesel motor vehicles with gross
vehicle weight ratings greater than 6,000 pounds that operate on the
streets or highways within the State of California to conduct annual smoke
opacity inspections of their vehicles equipped with engines that are four
years and older.

Title 13 CCR, section 2192(a) requires inter alia that the owner of the
vehicle “[t]est the vehicle for excessive smoke emissions periodically
according to the inspection intervals specified in section 2193(a), (b), and
(c)", “[m]easure the smoke emissions for each test...”, “[r]ecord the smoke
test opacity levels and other required test information as specified in
section 2194..." and “[k]eep the records specified in section 2194 for two
years after the date of inspection.”
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HSC § 43016 states, “Any person who violates any provision of this part,
or any order, rule, or regulation of the state board adopted pursuant to this
part, and for which there is not provided in this part any other specific civil
penalty or fine, shall be subject to a civil penalty of not to exceed five
hundred dollars ($500.00) per vehicle.”

The ARB considers testing, measuring, recording, and recordkeeping to
be critical components in reducing excessive smoke emissions from these
heavy-duty vehicles.

ARB contends DWI failed to test, measure, record, and maintain records
of smoke emissions from its fleet of heavy-duty diesel vehicles for years
2011 and 2012 in violation of 13 CCR § 2190 et seq.

HSC §§ 39650-39675 mandate the reduction of the emissions of
substances that have been determined to be toxic air contaminants (TAC).
In 1998, following an exhaustive 10-year scientific assessment process,
ARB identified particulate matter (PM) from diesel-fueled engines as a
TAC. Transport Refrigeration Units (TRUs) are powered by diesel fueled
engines that emit this toxic PM. TRUs are regulated under the Airborne
Toxic Control Measure for In-Use Diesel-Fueled Transport Refrigeration
Units and TRU Generator Sets, and Facilities Where TRUs Operate (TRU
ATCM) as codified in (13 CCR § 2477.1 through 2477.21).

13 CCR § 2477.5(a) provides that no owner/operator shall operate a TRU
or TRU generator (gen) set in California unless it meets in-use
performance standards established in § 2477.5.

13 CCR § 2477.5(e)(1)(A) requires that on or before January 31, 2009
(delayed until July 31, 2009), owner/operators of all California-based
TRUs and TRU gen sets subject to this regulation shall apply for an ARB
Identification Number (IDN) for all California-based TRUs or TRU gen sets
operated by the operator by submitting an application to ARB.

13 CCR § 2477.5(e)(1)(F) requires that within 30 days of receipt of the
ARB-issued IDN, owners/operators of California-based TRUs and TRU
gen sets permanently affix or paint the IDN to both sides of the TRU
chassis housing.

ARB Enforcement Division has documented that DWI failed to register its
TRU in ARB's Equipment Registration system ARBER by the

July 31, 2009 deadline, and failed to affix ARB IDN to both sides of the
TRU its fleet within 30 days of receipt of ARB IDN.

Failure to bring the TRU fleet in compliance with applicable in-use
performance standards, failure to apply for and affix ARB IDNs and failure
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to submit an operator report are violations of state law resulting in
penalties. HSC § 39674 authorizes civil penalties of up to ten thousand
dollars ($10,000) for each day that the violation occurs.

In-use On-Road diesel vehicles are powered by diesel fueled engines that
emit toxic PM. On-Road vehicles are controlled under 13 CCR § 2025.

13 CCR § 2025(e)(1)(B) states: “Starting January 1, 2012, for all vehicles
with GVWR greater than 26,000 Ibs, excluding school buses, fleets must
meet the requirements of section 2025(g) or fleets that report may instead
comply with the phase-in option of § 2025(i).”

Failure to comply with the requirements of 13 CCR § 2025 is a violation of
state law resulting in penalties. HSC §§ 39674(a) and (b) authorize civil
penalties for the violation of the programs for the regulation of TACs not to
exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) or ten thousand dollars ($10,000),
respectively, for each day in which the violation occurs.

DWI has elected to meet the requirements of the Engine Model Year
Compliance Schedule provided for in 13 CCR § 2025(g).

13 CCR § 2025(g) requires that owners of diesel vehicles with a GVWR
greater than 26,000 Ibs. meet PM BACT requirements for all 1996 through
1999 engine model years by January 1, 2012.

ARB has documented that DWI failed to meet PM BACT requirements for
all 1996 through 1999 engine model years by January 1, 2012.

In order to resolve these alleged violations, DWI has taken, or agreed to
take, the actions enumerated below under "RELEASE". Further, the ARB
accepts this Agreement in termination and settlement of this matter.

In consideration of the foregoing, and of the promises and facts set forth
herein, the parties desire to settle and resolve all claims, disputes, and
obligations relating to the above-listed violations, and voluntarily agree to
resolve this matter by means of this Agreement. Specifically, the ARB and
DWI agree as follows:

TERMS AND RELEASE
In consideration of the ARB not filing a legal action against DWI for the

alleged violations referred to above, and DWI payment of the penalties set
forth in Section 1 below, the ARB and DWI agree as follows:
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Upon execution of this Agreement, DWI shall pay a civil penalty of
$23,000.00. Payment shall be made in two monthly payments as
described below, beginning on February 27, 2015.

Payment Due Date: In the Amount of and Payable to:
1  February 27, 2015 $17,250.00 the Air Pollution Control Fund
2 January 5, 2016 $5,750.00 the Peralta Colleges Foundation

Please send any future mailings or documents required per the
terms of this Settlement Agreement to:

Mr. Aldo Chaney

Air Pollution Specialist
California Air Resources Board
Enforcement Division

9480 Telstar Avenue Suite 4

El Monte, California 91731

Please submit each payment by the applicable payment due date
along with the corresponding “Settlement Agreement Payment
Transmittal Form” (Attachment A) to:

California Air Resources Board
Accounting Office

P.O. Box 1436

Sacramento, California 95812-1436

Effect of Untimely Payment. If any payment is more than 15 days late, the
entire remaining balance becomes immediately due and payable. In
addition, if the Attorney General files a civil action to enforce this
settlement agreement, DWI shall pay all costs of investigating and
prosecuting the action, including expert fees, reasonable attorney’s fees,
and costs

It is agreed that if DWI, including its subsidiary or parent company, at any
time becomes insolvent, or makes an assignment for the benefit of
creditors or similar action adversely involving DWI, its subsidiary, or parent
company, or a proceeding or petition under any bankruptcy,
reorganization, arrangement of debt, insolvency, readjustment of debt, or
receivership law or statute is filed by or against DWI, its subsidiary, or
parent company, or a trustee in bankruptcy, custodian, receiver or agent is
appointed or authorized to take charge of any of DWI, its subsidiary, or
parent company'’s properties, or if any deposit account or other property of
DWI, its subsidiary, or parent company be attempted to be obtained or
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held by writ of execution, garnishment, attachment, condemnation, levy,
forfeiture or other legal process, or DWI, its subsidiary, or parent company
takes any action to authorize any of the foregoing, the entire remaining
balance becomes immediately due and payable without notice or demand.

It is further agreed that the penalties described in “Terms and Release”,
paragraph 1 are punitive in nature, rather than compensatory.
Furthermore, the penalty is intended to deter and punish DWI for
violations of state environmental statutes, and these penalties are payable
to and for the benefit of ARB, a governmental unit. Therefore, it is agreed
that these penalties imposed on DWI through by ARB arising from the
facts described in recital paragraphs (1) through (20) are non-
dischargeable under 11 United States Code § 523 (a) (7), which provides
an exception from discharge for any debt to the extent such debt is for a
fine, penalty or forfeiture payable to and for benefit of governmental unit,
and is not compensation for actual pecuniary loss, other than certain types
of tax penalties.

DWI shall not violate HSC §§ 43701 et seq., 44011.6 et seq., and 13 CCR
§§ 2180 et seq., 2190 et seq., and 2485 et seq.

DWI shall comply with one or both of the following options to attend the
California Council on Diesel Education and Technology (CCDET ) class,
(SAE J1667 Snap Acceleration Smoke Test Procedure for Heavy-Duty
Diesel Powered Vehicles) as described on the ARB webpage at
http://www.arb.ca.gov/enf/hdvip/ccdet/ccdet.htm. This class is conducted
by various California Community Colleges and instructs attendees on
compliance with the PSIP, ECL and the HDVIP.

(a) DWI shall have the fleet maintenance manager (or equivalent) and all
staff performing opacity tests for compliance with PSIP and the HDVIP
attend the CCDET | class. Proof of CCDET | completion shall be
provided to ARB within six months of the date of this Agreement and
be maintained in each applicable employee’s file for the term of his or
her employment.

(b) If DWI uses a contractor to perform the annual smoke opacity testing
required under the PSIP, in addition to having the fleet maintenance
manager (or equivalent) attend the CCDET | course, DWI shall obtain
proof that the contractor's staff conducting the smoke opacity tests
completed the CCDET | course within the past four years. This proof of
CCDET | completion shall be provided to ARB with PSIP records as
required by this Agreement and be maintained with the annual PSIP
records.
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DWI shall comply with one or both of the following options to attend the
CCDET Il class (Diesel Exhaust After Treatment and Maintenance),
described on the ARB’s webpage
http://www.arb.ca.gov/enf/hdvip/ccdet/ccdet.ntm. This class is conducted
by various California Community Colleges and instructs attendees on
California’s emission regulations and the proper care and maintenance of
diesel exhaust after-treatment systems (DEATS).

(a) DWI shall have the fleet maintenance manager (or equivalent) and all
staff responsible for maintenance of DEATS attend the CCDET Il
class. Proof of CCDET Il completion shall be provided to ARB within
six months of the date of this Agreement and also be maintained in
each applicable employee’s file for the term of his or her employment.

(b) In case DWI uses a contractor for the maintenance of DEATS, in
addition to having the fleet maintenance manager (or equivalent)
attend the CCDET Il course, DWI shall obtain proof that the
contractor’s staff maintaining the DEATS device(s) completed the
CCDET II course within the last four years. This proof of the CCDET II
completion shall be provided by DWI to the ARB within six months of
the date of this settlement and be maintained with the DEATS
installation and maintenance records.

DWI shall complete Low NOx Software Upgrades (reflash) on all
applicable heavy-duty diesel engines operating in California and report to
the ARB within 45 days of this agreement.

DWI shall comply with the Emission Control Label (ECL) regulation as
codified in 13 CCR § 2183.

DWI shall instruct all employees who operate diesel-fueled vehicles to
comply with the idling regulations set forth in 13 CCR § 2485, within 45
days of this Agreement.

DWI shall not violate the Truck & Bus regulation as codified in 13 CCR §
2025 et seq.

DWI shall not violate the TRU ATCM as codified in 13 CCR § 2477.

DWI shall submit proof of compliance with the Truck and Bus regulation
(as codified in 13 CCR § 2025), within 45 days of the execution of this
Agreement, to Mr. Aldo Chaney, Air Pollution Specialist, ARB
Enforcement Division, 9480 Telstar Avenue, Suite 4, El Monte CA 91731.

DWI shall submit copies of all PSIP compliance records for years 2015
and 2016 to ARB by January 31 of the following year. Copies shall be
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addressed to the attention of Mr. Aldo Chaney at the California Air
Resources Board, Enforcement Division, 9480 Telstar Avenue Suite
4, El Monte, California 91731. ARB reserves the right to visit any DWI
fleet location at any time to conduct compliance audits for HDVIP and
PSIP, or any other applicable ARB program.

This Agreement shall apply to and be binding upon DWI, and its officers,
directors, receivers, trustees, employees, successors and assignees,
subsidiary and parent corporations and upon ARB and any successor
agency that may have responsibility for and jurisdiction over the subject
matter of this Agreement.

This Agreement constitutes the entire agreement and understanding
between ARB and DWI concerning the subject matter hereof, and
supersedes and replaces all prior negotiations and agreements between
ARB and DWI concerning the subject matter hereof.

No agreement to modify, amend, extend, supersede, terminate, or
discharge this Agreement, or any portion thereof, is valid or enforceable
unless it is in writing and signed by all parties to this Agreement.

Severability. Each provision of this Agreement is severable, and in the
event that any provision of this Agreement is held to be invalid or
unenforceable, the remainder of this Agreement remains in full force and
effect.

This Agreement shall be interpreted and enforced in accordance with the
laws of the State of California, without regard to California’s choice-of-law
rules.

This Agreement is deemed to have been drafted equally by the Parties; it
will not be interpreted for or against either party on the ground that said
party drafted it.

SB 1402 Statement:

Senate Bill 1402 (Dutton, Chapter 413, statutes of 2010) requires the ARB
to provide information on the basis for the penalties it seeks (HSC §
39619.7). This information, which is provided throughout this settlement
agreement, is summarized here:

The manner in which the penalty amount was determined, including
a per unit or per vehicle penalty.

Penalties must be set at levels sufficient to discourage violations. The
penalties in this matter were determined in consideration of all relevant
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circumstances, including the eight factors specified in HSC § 42403 and
43024,

PSIP Violations

The per vehicle penalty for the PSIP violations involved in this case is a
maximum of $500.00 per vehicle per violation per year. The penalty
obtained for the PSIP violations involved in this case is $3,750.00 for ten
PSIP violations involving five vehicles, or $375.00 per vehicle per
violation.

The penalty was discounted based on the fact that this was a first time
violation and the violator made diligent efforts to comply and to cooperate
with the investigation.

TRU Violation

The per unit penalty for the TRU violations involved in this case is a
maximum of $1,000 per unit per day for strict liability violations or $10,000
per vehicle per day for negligent or intentional violations pursuant to HSC
§ 39674. The penalty obtained for the TRU violation involved in this case
is $1,300.00. This penalty is for an outstanding citation received on
February 13, 2013 was (Citation number: TRU02131300CK).

The penalty was discounted based on the fact that this was a first time
violation and the violator made diligent efforts to comply and to cooperate
with the investigation.

Truck and Bus Violations

The per unit penalty for the Truck and Bus violations involved in this case
is a maximum of $1,000 per vehicle per day for strict liability violations or
$10,000 per vehicle per day for negligent or intentional violations.

The penalty obtained for the Truck and Bus violations involved in this case
for failure to meet the requirements of the Engine Model Year Compliance
Schedule is $16,150.00 or $336.45 per month of violation for 4

vehicles with a 1996 through 1999 model year engine (24 months in
violation) and $1,800.00 for a violation for one vehicle that received a
citation on February 13, 2013 (Citation number: STB021313003BOP).

The penalty was discounted based on the fact that this was a first time
violation and the violator made diligent efforts to comply and to cooperate
with the investigation.
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The provision of law the penalty is being assessed under and why
that provision is most appropriate for that violation.

PSIP Violations

The penalty provision being applied to the PSIP violations is HSC § 43016
because DWI failed to test, measure, record, and maintain records of
smoke emissions from its fleet of heavy duty diesel vehicles for the years
2011 and 2012 in violation of the PSIP regulation in title13 CCR § 2190 et
seq., for 10 violations. Since the PSIP regulation was adopted pursuant to
authority granted in Part 5 of Division 26 of the HSC and since there is no
specific penalty or fine provided for PSIP violations in Part 5, HSC §
43016 is the applicable penalty provision.

TRU Violation

The penalty provision being applied for the TRU ATCM (13 CCR § 2477)
violations (including registration and labeling) is HSC § 39674 because the
TRU rule is an Air Toxic Control Measure adopted pursuant to authority
contained in HSC § 39002 et seq., 39650-39675 and DWI, as an owner of
TRUs, failed to register the TRU in its fleet in ARBER.

Truck and Bus Violations

The penalty provision being applied for the Truck and Bus regulation

(13 CCR § 2025) violations in this case is HSC § 39674 because the
Truck and Bus regulation is a Toxic Air Contaminant Control Measure
adopted pursuant to authority contained in HSC §§ 39002 et seq., 39650-
39675 and because DWI failed to bring their diesel fleet into compliance
by the deadlines set forth in 13 CCR § 2025 (g).

Is the penalty being assessed under a provision of law that prohibits
the emission of pollution at a specified level, and, if so a
quantification of excess emissions, if it is practicable to do so.

PSIP Violations

The PSIP provisions cited above do prohibit emissions above a specified
opacity or level of g/hp-hr. However, since the hours of operation of the
non-compliant vehicles involved and their individual emission rates are not
known, it is not practicable to quantify the excess emissions.

TRU Violation

In this case, the provisions cited above do not prohibit emissions above a
specified level of g/hp-hr, since the violation is for failure to register the
TRU in ARBER.
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Truck and Bus Violations

The provisions cited above do prohibit emissions above a specified level
of g/hp-hr. However, since the hours of operation of the non-compliant
trucks involved and their individual emission rates are not known, it is not
practicable to quantify the excess emissions.

DWI acknowledges that ARB has complied with Senate Bill 1402 in
prosecuting or settling this case. Specifically, ARB has considered all
relevant facts, including those listed at HSC § 43024, has explained the
manner in which the penalty amount was calculated, has identified the
provision of law under which the penalty is being assessed and has
considered and determined that this penalty is being assessed under a
provision of law that prohibits the emission of pollutants at a specified
level.

Penalties were determined based on the unique circumstances of this
matter, considered together with the need to remove any economic benefit
from noncompliance, the goal of deterring future violations and obtaining
swift compliance, the consideration of past penalties in similar cases, and
the potential costs and risk associated with litigating these particular
violations. Penalties in future cases might be smaller or larger on a per
unit basis.

The penalty was based on confidential settlement communications
between ARB and DWI that ARB does not retain in the ordinary course of
business. The penalty is the product of an arms length negotiation
between ARB and DWI and reflects ARB's assessment of the relative
strength of its case against DWI, the desire to avoid the uncertainty,
burden and expense of litigation, obtain swift compliance with the law and
remove any unfair advantage that DWI may have secured from its actions.

Now therefore, in consideration of the payment on behalf of DWI to the Air
Pollution Control Fund and the Peralta Colleges Foundation, ARB hereby
releases DWI and their principals, officers, agents, predecessors and
successors from any and all claims, the ARB may have or have in the
future based on the circumstances described in paragraph (1) through
(20) of the Recitals. The undersigned represent that they have the
authority to enter into this Agreement.
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California Air Resources Board

Signature: /éﬁﬁ% ’P 4 A"

Print Name: Ellen M. P£ter
-

Title: Chief Counsel

Date: 3()_‘//1015/
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