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Executive Summary 

More than fifty years ago, California established the first motor vehicle emission 
standards as a strategy to improve the severe air pollution plaguing our state. Today, 
stringent standards cover not only cars and trucks, but nearly every vehicle or 
equipment powered by a combustion engine. State law prohibits the sale or use of 
new motor vehicles or new mobile source engines used within California unless they 
meet applicable emission standards adopted by the California Air Resourced Board 
(CARB). Similarly, state law generally prohibits the installation, sale, offer for sale, or 
advertisement of aftermarket emission-related parts without approval from CARB to 
prevent tampering of emission control systems. Manufacturer compliance with these 
requirements is demonstrated through CARB’s certification and compliance programs. 

Since the 1990 adoption of Health and Safety Code (HSC) section 43019 to assess a 
fee for on-road motor vehicles and engines (generally, cars, trucks, and motorcycles), 
emission standards and certification requirements have expanded to include the 
numerous categories of off-road vehicles and engines used in the state. CARB 
currently issues over 3,700 approvals, also known as executive orders or EOs, annually, 
which allow manufacturers to sell their products in this state. This is approaching a ten 
fold increase from the 430 EOs issued by CARB in 1990. CARB now issues approvals 
for all types of vehicles and engines, including automobiles and heavy-duty trucks, as 
well as large off-road equipment and small lawn and garden engines, evaporative 
systems, and aftermarket components that are used in automobiles, trucks, and off-
road engines. Each product is certified by CARB according to the regulations and test 
procedures established based on the product’s specific equipment classification or 
operating category. 

The amount of fees collected per year, which was capped at $4.5 million in fiscal year 
1989-1990, has increased with CPI, resulting in an assessed amount of roughly $9.7 
million for 2018, which is about one quarter of the cost to implement the current 
programs. The balance of the program costs is being paid through other sources, 
primarily the Air Pollution Control Fund (APCF), Motor Vehicle Account (MVA), and 
Vehicle Inspection and Repair Fund (VIRF), to implement CARB’s mobile source 
certification and compliance programs. Manufacturers of vehicles and engines not 
subject to an emission standard at the time of adoption were not included in the 1990 
fee regulation. As such, fees are currently being collected to help cover certification 
and compliance costs for only about one third of the products certified by CARB. As 
described below, CARB has just recently been given the authority to collect fees from 
regulated parties other than manufacturers of on-road vehicles and engines to cover 
the cost of certification and compliance activities. 

In 2018 and 2019, the Legislature directed CARB through AB 85, AB 2381 and SB 854 
to develop fee programs to reasonably cover the costs of its Mobile Source 
Certification and Compliance programs. This Proposed Regulation focuses accordingly 
on creating a schedule of fees that will result in the Mobile Source Certification and 
Compliance Program costs to be covered within the authority provided by SB 85, AB 
2381 and SB 854. These funds will be deposited into a new fund, the Certification and 
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Compliance Fund, specifically to support the Mobile Source Certification and 
Compliance programs. 

For this Proposal, CARB identified 33 different categories of activities, grouped into 
six separate categories: 

• On-Road Vehicles, Engines, and Equipment (On-Road), 
• Off-Road Vehicles, Engines, and Equipment (Off-Road), 
• Evaporative Components, 
• Aftermarket Parts, 
• Diesel Emission Control Strategies (Retrofits), and 
• At-Berth Alternative Emission Control Technologies (At-Berth 

Technologies) 

The total cost to implement these programs in 2022 is estimated at about $50 million. 
Staff’s proposal sets up a phase-in fee schedule, starting in calendar year 2022 and 
fully implemented in 2024. On-Road mobile source fees would be annually adjusted by 
CPI. Reduced fees include those adjusted for lower CARB workload, to support CARB 
policy to expand zero-emission technologies, and to assist small businesses and 
companies with low California sales. The total expected revenue (total fees collected) 
from the proposed regulation for 2022 through 2031 is shown in Table ES-1. The 
newly proposed fees combined with historical fee collection would cover a high 
percentage of total costs for CARB’s certification and compliance programs, but 
would not reach 100 percent. Although we may not have a 100% (full-cost) recovery at 
the time, this is what CARB reasonably expects that the market can bear based on 
their feedback from industry and staff’s analysis. CARB will strive for getting this 
program to as close to net-zero when possible in the future through planning and 
development of our existing and future programs. The unrecovered program costs will 
continue to be offset by existing funds as they represent a benefit to the state. Staff 
expects minimal or no impact on the processing time for certifications because of this 
funding structure. 
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Table ES-1. Total Fee Revenue from Proposed Regulation 

On-Road1 Off-Road2 Aftermarket 
Parts Retrofits At-Berth Totals 

2022 $16,189,411 $2,989,754 $749,487 $498,334 $194,494 $20,621,481 
2023 $23,924,484 $4,238,205 $749,487 $690,413 $203,382 $29,805,970 
2024 $31,659,557 $5,486,656 $749,487 $882,491 $212,270 $38,990,460 
2025 $32,546,024 $5,486,656 $749,487 $767,662 $212,270 $39,762,099 
2026 $33,457,313 $5,486,656 $749,487 $728,941 $212,270 $40,634,667 
2027 $34,394,118 $5,486,656 $749,487 $690,072 $212,270 $41,532,603 
2028 $35,357,153 $5,486,656 $749,487 $653,193 $212,270 $42,458,759 
2029 $36,347,153 $5,486,656 $749,487 $653,120 $212,270 $43,448,686 
2030 $37,364,874 $5,486,656 $749,487 $653,120 $212,270 $44,466,406 
2031 $38,411,090 $5,486,656 $749,487 $653,120 $212,270 $45,512,623 
TOTAL $319,651,177 $51,121,203 $7,494,875 $6,870,465 $2,096,035 $387,233,755 

1 The proposed certification fees are phased-in from 2022 through 2024. The proposed 2024 
certification fees are increased by a 2.8% CPI per year between 2024 and 2031. The fee total 
includes the baseline fees. 
2 Includes both the costs to certify off-road vehicles, equipment and equipment and the costs to 
certify the evaporative emission components that are used in those vehicles and equipment 
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Introduction and Background 

In 1966, California established the first tailpipe motor vehicle emission standards for 
carbon monoxide and hydrocarbons as a strategy to improve the severe air pollution 
plaguing our state. Today, stringent standards cover not only cars and trucks, but any 
vehicle or equipment with a combustion engine. State law prohibits the sale of new 
motor vehicles or new engines used in mobile sources within California unless they 
meet the currently applicable emission standards adopted by the California Air 
Resourced Board (CARB). Similarly, state law generally prohibits the installation, sale, 
offer for sale, or advertisement of aftermarket emission-related parts without approval 
from CARB to prevent tampering with emission control systems. Manufacturer 
compliance with these requirements is demonstrated through CARB’s certification and 
compliance programs. 

When a manufacturer requests certification of a product (i.e., vehicle, engine, or add-
on component), CARB may, as part of its certification review, verify the information 
provided by the manufacturer using pre-sale audits and confirmatory emissions testing 
of that product. This enables CARB to further validate that the information provided 
by the manufacturer in each certification application is accurate prior to issuing a 
certification document (Executive Order [EO] or other approval document). 
Confirmatory emission testing is done by CARB using the same test procedures 
employed by manufacturers to confirm emissions tests results. CARB may also perform 
screening testing that can include standard testing in the lab, in the field using 
Portable Emission Measurement Systems (PEMS), and/or by using special operating 
cycles in the lab that replicate conditions encountered in normal use to identify defeat 
devices. CARB also audits labs used by manufacturers to ensure the accuracy of the 
testing they conduct. 

After the product is sold, continued compliance with emission standards are double-
checked through a variety of in-use programs which includes laboratory and on vehicle 
monitoring systems. In-use emissions testing and warranty activities help confirm that 
vehicles and engines continue to comply with CARB requirements throughout their 
useful lives. Compliance issues found through these programs can result in required 
corrective actions, including product recall. 

CARB currently issues over 3,700 EOs annually, which allow manufacturers to sell their 
products in this State. This is nearly ten times more than the 430 EOs issued by CARB 
when the fee was first collected in 1990. CARB issues EOs for all types of vehicles and 
engines, including automobiles and heavy-duty trucks, as well as large off-road 
equipment and small lawn and garden engines, evaporative systems, and aftermarket 
components that are used in automobiles, trucks, and off-road engines. Each product 
is certified by CARB according to the regulations and test procedures established 
based on the product’s specific equipment classification or operating category. 

In 1988, the legislature gave CARB authority (Health and Safety Code [HSC] section 
43019) to assess a fee for motor vehicles and engines (generally, cars, trucks, and 
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motorcycles) that was capped at $4.5 million a year, but with annual adjustment of the 
cap based on the California Consumer Price Index (CPI). In 1990, CARB implemented 
this authority through regulation that provides a formula to assess fees on a limited 
class of motor vehicle and engine manufacturers. Manufacturers of vehicles and 
engines not subject to an emission standard at the time were not included in 
regulation. Since then, however, emission standards and certification requirements 
have expanded to include nearly all mobile sources. As such, only about one third of 
the products currently certified by CARB are assessed a certification fee. The amount 
collected in 2018 under these existing rules was roughly $9.7 million, only about one 
quarter of the cost to implement the programs. The balance of the program costs is 
being paid through other revenue sources. 

Until now, CARB did not collect fees from regulated parties other than manufacturers 
of on-road vehicles and engines to cover the cost of certification and compliance 
activities. Consequently, CARB has historically used existing funds (primarily the Air 
Pollution Control Fund (APCF), Motor Vehicle Account (MVA), and Vehicle Inspection 
and Repair Fund (VIRF)) to implement its mobile source certification and compliance 
programs. 

On June 27, 2018, legislation SB 854 (Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review, 
Chapter 51, Statutes of 2018) was passed and signed into law that directs CARB to 
adopt a schedule of fees to cover all or part of CARB’s reasonable costs associated 
with certification, audit, and compliance of off-road or non-vehicular engines and 
equipment, aftermarket parts, and emission control components sold in the State 
(limited to activities covered by HSC sections 38560, 43013 and 43018, and on-road 
aftermarket parts under Vehicle Code section 27156(h)). As such, this legislation 
directs CARB to assess fees to cover its reasonable costs, with specific considerations, 
on all off-road and other mobile source certification and compliance programs not 
previously covered under the existing fee regulation authority (HSC 43019). This new 
requirement is housed in HSC 43019.1. The fees collected will be deposited into the 
newly established Certification and Compliance Fund (CCF), created specifically to 
support mobile source certification and compliance activities. 

Also in 2018, legislation AB 2381 (Carillo, Chapter 713, Statutes of 2018) directs CARB 
to enhance its certification, audit, and compliance activities for new motor vehicles to 
detect defeat devices or other software used to evade emission testing, and allows 
CARB to recover its reasonable costs. Cost recovery for this activity is capped at $5 
million per year with CPI annual adjustments. The fees collected will also be put into 
the newly established CCF to support mobile source certification and compliance 
activities. 

The following year, on June 27, 2019, SB 85 (Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review, 
Chapter 51, Statutes of 2019) removed the cap on existing fee authority housed in 
HSC 43019, expanded the activities covered, and redirected the fees collected to the 
CCF. Under this legislation, CARB is directed to develop by regulation a schedule of 
fees for the certification, audit, and compliance of motor vehicles and engines sold in 
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the state to cover the state board’s reasonable costs of implementing the certification, 
audit, and compliance program. 

The Problem that the Proposal is Intended to Address 

As described above, CARB mobile source programs have increased in size and 
complexity since 1966. The fees established in 1990 collect about one quarter of the 
cost to implement the programs. The balance of the program costs is being paid 
through other revenue sources. Consequently, CARB has historically used existing 
funds (primarily the Air Pollution Control Fund (APCF), Motor Vehicle Account (MVA), 
and Vehicle Inspection and Repair Fund (VIRF)) to implement our mobile source 
certification and compliance programs. The funds may not be able to support these 
efforts on an ongoing basis 1, and new legislation, described below, makes clear that 
these activities should be supported to a much greater extent by the beneficiaries of 
certification (manufacturers). 

New legislation passed by the legislature in 2018 and 2019 provided authority to 
CARB address these issues. 

SB 85 modified Health and Safety Code section 43019 to read: 
“The state board may adopt, by regulation, a schedule of annual fees for the 
certification, audit, and compliance of motor vehicles and engines sold in the state to 
cover the state board’s reasonable costs of implementing the certification, audit, and 
compliance programs … related to mobile sources. The fee shall be paid by an entity 
seeking that certification. The fee shall be in an amount sufficient to cover the state 
board’s reasonable costs in implementing those state programs, including any 
administrative costs and may be adjusted by the annual change in the California 
Consumer Price Index …” 

SB 854 added Health and Safety Code section 43019.1 to cover mobile sources that 
were not included under section 43019, which reads: 
“…the state board may adopt a fee to cover all, or a portion of, the state board’s 
reasonable costs associated with each type of certification as authorized pursuant to 
[Sections 385602, 43013 and 43018 of this code and subdivision (h) of Section 27156 
of the Vehicle Code], to be paid by the entity seeking the certification. The state 
board may assess a fee at the time of application and upon certification to spread the 
financial burden to entities remitting the fee.” 

1Legislative Analyst’s Office, LAO, 2020. The 2020-21 Budget: Transportation 
https://lao.ca.gov/Publications/Report/4149 

2 Section 38560 added with SB 85 in 2019. 
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When adopting a schedule of fees, SB 854 directed CARB to work with impacted 
industries and to consider all of the following in the establishment of the fee schedule: 

• Potential impacts on manufacturers that may result from the fee. 

• Size of the manufacturer compared to the industry average served by the 
product on which the fee will be assessed. 

• Number of certifications requested and consistency with prior year 
certifications by the manufacturer. 

• Complexity of the regulated category for which a certification is requested. 

• A product’s potential impact on emissions, and the complexity of the 
evaluation required, including, for an aftermarket part, determining there is 
no risk to the environment when the aftermarket part is in actual use. 

• Anticipated change in the number of certifications issued annually. 

• Potential impacts for enacting a partial fee that does not fully cover the state 
board’s costs for activities associated with certification, including the 
impacts on the processing time for certification. 

New regulations are required along with modification of Title 13 CCR section 1990-
1994 to implement these Legislative directives. 

The Specific Purpose and Rationale of Each Adoption, 
Amendment, or Repeal 

This chapter provides information regarding CARB’s determination that each provision 
of the Proposed Regulation is: (1) reasonably necessary to carry out the purpose of the 
regulation; and (2) reasonably necessary to address the problem for which the 
regulation is proposed. 

A. Regulation Purpose And Considerations 

The Legislature directed CARB through AB 2381, SB 85, and SB 854 to develop fee 
programs to reasonably cover the costs of its Mobile Source Certification and 
Compliance programs. This Proposed Regulation focuses accordingly on creating a 
schedule of fees that will result in the Mobile Source Certification and Compliance 
program costs to be covered within the authority provided by AB 2381, SB 85 and 
SB 854. 

For On-Road sources, the controlling statutes are AB 2381 (Carrillo, statutes of 2018) 
and SB 85. Approved in 2018, AB 2381 directed CARB to enhance its certification, 
audit, and compliance activities for new motor vehicles to detect defeat devices or 
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other software used to evade emissions testing, and allows CARB to recover 
associated costs. Cost recovery for this activity is capped at $5 million per year, with 
CPI annual adjustments. CARB implemented enhanced certification, audit, and 
compliance activities in the years leading up to the enactment of AB 238, and continue 
making improvements. In 2019, SB 85 was approved that modified the existing fee 
authority housed in HSC 43019 by removing the previous fee cap and redirecting the 
fees collected from the Air Pollution Control Fund (APCF) to the newly created 
Certification and Compliance Fund (CCF). Under this legislation, CARB was directed to 
develop by regulation a schedule of fees for the certification, audit, and compliance of 
motor vehicles and engines sold in the state to cover the state board’s reasonable 
costs of implementing the certification, audit, and compliance programs. With the 
removal of the cap, CARB was directed to determine the reasonable cost of the 
program. The 2018 estimated program costs include the certification, audit, and 
compliance activities as well as the enhanced activities developed to detect software 
to evade emissions testing. These combined resource costs are the basis of the 
proposed fees. CARB will address the need for further improvements to the program 
and the associated additional fee recovery under AB2381 in future rulemakings. 

For Off-Road sources, Evaporative Components, Aftermarket Parts, Retrofits and At-
Berth Alternative Emission Controls, the controlling legislation is SB 854 which directs 
CARB to adopt a schedule of fees to cover all or a part of CARB’s reasonable costs 
associated with certification, audit and compliance of off-road or non-vehicular 
engines and equipment, aftermarket parts, and emissions control components sold in 
the State (limited to activities covered by HSC sections 38560, 43013 and 43018, and 
Vehicle Code section 27156(h)). SB 854 directs CARB to assess fees to cover its 
reasonable costs, with specific considerations, on all off-road and other mobile sources 
programs not currently covered under the existing fee regulation authority (HSC 
43019). When assessing a fee, SB 854 directed CARB to work with impacted industries 
and consider all of the following: 

• Potential impacts on manufacturers that may result from the fee. 

• Size of the manufacturer compared to the industry average served by the 
product on which the fee will be assessed. 

• Number of certifications requested and consistency with prior year 
certifications by the manufacturer. 

• Complexity of the regulated category for which a certification is requested. 

• A product’s potential impact on emissions, and the complexity of the 
evaluation required, including, for an aftermarket part, determining there is 
no risk to the environment when the aftermarket part is in actual use. 

• Anticipated change in the number of certifications issued annually. 
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• Potential impacts for enacting a partial fee that does not fully cover the state 
board’s costs for activities associated with certification, including the 
impacts on the processing time for certification. 

To address these directives, staff identified the scope of the regulatory activity, 
reasonable costs associated with certification, audit, and compliance, potential 
impacts on businesses and other criteria provided by the legislature for the 
development of the fees. 

To define the scope of regulatory activities covered by the Proposed Regulation, 
CARB conducted a review of existing activities in the Mobile Source Certification and 
Compliance Programs. The scope of this regulatory activity is based on existing on-
road fee sources covered by Health and Safety Code (HSC) section 43019 along with 
the new categories allowed by the new legislation (SB 854). SB 854 allows CARB to 
adopt a schedule of fees to cover CARB’s reasonable costs associated with 
certification, audit, and compliance of off-road or non-vehicular engines and 
equipment, aftermarket parts, and emission control components sold in the State 
(limited to activities covered by HSC sections 38560, 43013 and 43018, on-road 
aftermarket parts under Vehicle Code section 27156(h)). 

For this Proposal, CARB identified 33 different regulatory categories, 31 of which are 
assigned a distinct Executive Order series. These regulatory categories are grouped 
into six areas of activities: 

• On-Road Vehicles, Engines, and Equipment (On-Road), 
• Off-Road Vehicles, Engines, and Equipment (Off-Road), 
• Evaporative Components, 
• Aftermarket Parts, 
• Retrofits, and 
• At-Berth Alternative Emission Control Technologies (At-Berth 

Technologies) 

The Executive Order series and product approvals for each of the regulatory 
categories are listed below. (A detailed description of each of these is found in 
Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix A Pages 91-99). 

On-Road 
• On-Road New Cars, Light/Medium-Duty Vehicles (“A” EO series) 
• On-Road Medium/Heavy-Duty Engines and Vehicles (“A” Vehicle and Engine 

EO series) 
• Phase 2 Greenhouse Gas Vehicles, Trailers and Aerodynamic Devices (“A”, 

“AT”, and “AD” EO Series) 
• Heavy-duty Zero-Emission Powertrain (“A” EO series) 
• Federal AB 965 Cars and light trucks (“P” EO series) 
• On-Road HD Exempt (“N” EO series) 

6 



 

 

  
  

 
   

 
  
  

 
  
  

 
  

 
   

 
  

  
    

 
  

  
  
  
  
  
     
    

  
   

   
    
     
    
    
   

 
     

   

• Fuel-fired Heaters 
• Street-Use Motorcycles (“M” EO series) 

Off-Road 
• Off-Highway Recreational Vehicles (green sticker [“U-M” EO series] and red 

sticker [“U-N” EO series] all-terrain vehicles and off-road motorcycles) 
• Electric Golf Carts (“U-G” EO series) 
• Large Off-Road Spark-Ignition Engines (“U-L” Evaporative and Exhaust EO 

series) 
• Small Off-Road Engines (“U-U” Evaporative and Exhaust EO series) 
• Spark-Ignition Marine Engines/Watercraft (“U-W” Evaporative and Exhaust EO 

series) 
• Off-Road Compression Ignition Engines (“U-R” EO series) 

Evaporative Components 
• Evaporative Emission Control System Components - Small Off-Road Engines 

(“Q” EO series) 
• Evaporative Emission Control System Components - Spark-Ignited Marine 

Watercraft (“RM” EO series) 
• Evaporative Emission Control System Components - Off-Highway Recreational 

Vehicles (“RV” EO series) 
• Portable Fuel Containers and Portable Outboard Marine Tanks (“G” EO series) 

Aftermarket Parts 
• Alternative Fuel Retrofits (“B” EO Series) 
• Experimental Permits (“C” EO series) 
• Aftermarket Parts (“D” and “F” EO series) 
• Aftermarket Catalytic Converters (“DCat“ EO series) 
• Aftermarket Parts – Diesel Particulate Filters (“Ddpf“ EO series) 
• Motorcycle Critical Emission Control Parts (“K” series EO) 

Retrofits 
• Diesel Emission Control Strategy (“DE” EO Series) 

o SS - Stationary Compression Ignition Engines 
o TRU - Transport Refrigeration Units 
o RTG - Rubber Tired Gantry Crane 
o Marine 
o ON - On-Road: on-road heavy-duty diesel vehicles 
o OFF - Off-Road: off-road heavy-duty diesel compression ignition 

engines 
o APU - Auxiliary Power Unit 

• Locomotive repowers and retrofits 
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At-Berth Technologies  
• Alternative Control Technologies for ocean-going vessels at-berth in a 

California Port (“AB” EO series) 

To develop the proposed fees for this regulatory activity, staff first determined the 
actual costs for specific certification and approval categories and activities as 
described in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix A, pages 91-129) and then applied 
the various considerations as directed by legislation. The fee development 
methodology can also be found in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix B, page 130-
134). Staff employed the cost collection methodology used by U.S. EPA3 in 2004 for 
their mobile source fee development for this process. 

A staff survey was conducted to determine the percent time each staff and first line 
manager spent in each essential certification and compliance activity conducted in 
2018. Program costs were based on the essential tasks required to complete 
certification and compliance activities that ensure products meet California’s 
requirements; therefore; they do not include resources to conduct enforcement, 
regulatory or research activities. The certification and compliance activities include the 
evaluation of an application for a vehicle, engine or component to ensure the product 
meets the certification requirements; the confirmation that the product as produced 
and distributed as certified; and that the product has durable emission control 
equipment and meets warranty requirements. A detailed description of the types of 
activities that are included in this cost determination can be found in Appendix B 
(Revised SRIA, Appendix A, Table Appn A-2, Page 102). Staff assumed that the 
program activities for 2022 were the same as for 2018, except where new post-2018 
regulations are implemented before the 2022 year and DOF approved resources were 
added to programs. Additional costs were included for facility and operational 
increases from the 2018 survey data due to additional programs and the additional 
testing capacity of the new CARB Laboratory being built in Riverside, California. The 
existing testing capacity does not meet the need of CARB’s programs. In 2016, CARB 
adopted plans and the Legislature approved funding for this new facility, which 
expands the testing for mobile source certification, audit, and compliance programs 
expected starting in 2022. A detailed description of the methodology and costs are 
provided in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix A, pages 91-129). 

Table IV-A-1, presents the total program costs by category for 2018 and 2022. 

3 Federal Register Fed. Reg, 2004. The Motor Vehicle and Engine Compliance Program (MVECP) fees 
rule (69 Fed. Reg. 26222) 
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Table IV-A-1. CARB Program Costs 

Sources Cost of Program 
On-Road 

2018 $27,850,443 
2022 estimate $37,299,493 

Off-Road 
2018 $4,673,315 

2022 estimate $5,512,926 
Evaporative Components 

2018 $426,415 
2022 estimate $536,228 

Aftermarket Parts 
2018 $3,253,911 

2022 estimate $4,805,349 
Retrofits 

2018 $1,961,505 
2022 estimate $1,270,099 

At-Berth Technologies 
2018 $204,833 

2022 estimate $212,270 
TOTAL 

2018 $38,370,422 
2022 estimate $49,636,366 

To address the legislative directives of SB 854, staff considered the following in 
developing all fees. 

Complexity of the Regulated Category 
More complex categories where products are required to meet more regulatory 
requirements generally had more resources directed to the category, compared to 
less complex categories. Each category has its own emissions standards, regulations 
and test procedures. The stringency of the standards is different for each category 
because of the differences in base emissions levels, cost of controls, and the 
availability of emission control technologies. Those with more stringent emissions 
standards tend to have more complicated emissions control technologies that require 
more thorough review by certification and in-use compliance staff to ensure 
compliance. Certain regulations include other requirements, such as on-board 
diagnostics, warranty, production testing, and in-use testing that require staff to 
expend more resources to ensure compliance with these programs. Some categories 
have less workload activities than other categories because there are less stringent 
emissions and procedure requirements. Staff expends fewer resources for these 
categories where only engineering analysis is required of the application. (See 
Appendix B: Revised SRIA, Appendix A, Table Appn A-2, Page 102.) To address the 
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complexity of each category, staff estimated CARB’s costs to conduct certification and 
compliance work by grouping each fee category by the Executive Order series 
category or certification type. Staff averaged the application variations to arrive at 
average costs per by executive orders (EO) issued and by application for that category 
in 2018 (Base year cost was 2018.) Variations in this approach to address the various 
mobile source categories are discussed below for each separate Article discussed in 
the Regulation Rationale Section. 

For less complicated applications, such as model year renewals or simple permits, a 
lower rate from each category’s Base Fee was determined based on the amount of or 
reduction in staff time to complete the process. In addition, CARB developed special 
fee categories to minimize impacts on small businesses and to support California’s 
zero-emission technology goals. 

Number of Certifications Requested and Consistency with Prior Year Certifications by 
the Manufacturer. 
Staff reviewed the EO history in each category. EOs issued per year have gradually 
increased over time since 2000. However, staff evaluated the number of EOs and 
applications issued for the years 2015 to 2018 and the numbers have remained 
consistent. For this analysis, staff assumed the number will remain the same for 2022, 
the first year of the fees program. Since the fee is applied at the time of application, 
staff compared the number of applications received with the number of EOs issued in 
each category. In most categories, the number of EOs issued and the number of 
applications were the same or similar. 

Size of Manufacturer 
In most categories, as directed by statue, special fee categories were added to 
address effects on small business or companies with low sales in California. 

A Product’s Potential Impact on Emissions 
Staff provided discounts to products that provide greater air quality benefits, such as a 
battery and fuel cell electric vehicles or other zero-emission technologies. 

Potential Impacts on Manufacturers 
Staff worked closely with manufacturers to develop the fee schedule by conducting 
workshops and several one-on-one meetings to discuss product price, product price 
elasticity, business effects, and product availability as a result of the fee. 

Potential Impacts for Enacting a Partial Fee 
Through balancing the above factors, the proposed regulation and schedule of fees 
would mostly, but not fully, cover the state board’s costs for activities associated with 
certification and compliance. The programs have previously relied on existing funding 
from sources other than the entities that benefit from certification and staff expects 
that these funds will continue to be drawn on to the extent necessary to fully fund 
CARB programs. Staff expects minimal or no impact on the processing time for 
certifications because of this funding structure. 
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B. Regulation Rationale 

Through the workshop process with stakeholders, CARB developed a proposed fee 
structure to cover the difference between program costs anticipated for 2022 and 
existing fees collected for the Mobile Source Certification and Compliance Program. 

The current fee for on-road vehicles and engines is assessed under the requirements 
held in Title 13 CCR Sections 1990 through 1994. The existing fee is based on 
manufacturers’ California sales data, which is reported after the sales year. The total 
number of on-road engines and vehicles are divided into the annually adjusted 
statutory limit to determine the per vehicle fee. CARB then invoices the amount each 
manufacturer must pay based on the number of engines or vehicles that were sold in 
California. This process is cumbersome and delays the receipt of the monies until 
about two years after the certification work has been conducted. The new fee 
structure is based on an upfront fee due upon submittal of a manufacturer’s 
application for certification of the product. See Appendix B (Revised SRIA, 
Appendix B, pages 130-134) for a description on how the fee levels were determined 
for the proposed regulation. 

The proposed fees would be phased-in from calendar year 2022 through 2024. In 
general, the proposed phase-in schedule calls for 50 percent of the fee in 2022, 75 
percent of the fee in 2023, and 100 percent of the fee starting in 2024. Many of the 
fees are based on vehicle or engine model year. For example the first year of the fee 
(calendar year 2022) would apply to 2023 model year applications. Applications that 
are not annually renewed (not by model year) are phased-in by calendar year. On-
Road Fees include a CPI adjustment starting in 2025 for model year 2026 and later 
engines and vehicles. 

The existing fee program will be replaced with the proposed new fee program in 2022 
(for 2023 model year). Manufacturers of on-road vehicles and engines will not pay 
double fees in this transition. The existing fee structure located for on-road vehicles 
and engines in Title 13, California Code of Regulations, Division 3, Chapter 1, 
Articles 2.5, Sections 1990 through 1994 will be deleted to align with the new 
proposed regulatory language. The new proposed regulatory language will be in 
Title 13, California Code of Regulations, Division 3, Chapter 16, Articles 1 through 7, 
Sections 2900 through 2914. 

1. Repeal Chapter 1, Article 2.5. Sections 1990 through 1994 
Certification Fees for On-Road Mobile Sources 

Purpose 
Repeal language that is no longer necessary and would be duplicative of language 
in the Proposed Regulation with the adoption of Chapter 16, Articles 1 through 7. 

Rationale 
The existing regulations in Article 2.5 are proposed to be replaced to accomplish the 
goals of the Proposed Regulation. The requirements for on-road mobile source 
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certification fees are being moved into a new chapter of Title 13 instead of amending 
the existing regulations in Chapter 1, Article 2.5. This approach is necessary to keep all 
certification related fees in a single chapter within the California Code of Regulations. 

The Executive Officer will continue to implement this article until the effective date of 
the proposed regulation. Therefore, the last fees assessed under this article before it is 
repealed will be in fiscal year 2021-2022 to cover vehicles and engines produced for 
sale in California in calendar year 2020 (or model year 2020, as applicable). 

Repeal Section 1990. Applicability. 

Purpose 
Repeal language that is no longer necessary and that would be duplicative of 
language in the Proposed Regulation with the adoption of Chapter 16, Articles 1 and 
2. Repeal of this language on the effective date of the Proposed Regulation will also 
avoid duplicative fees that would otherwise apply without amendment or repeal of this 
section. Two categories of activities that are subject to the fee provisions in Article 2.5 
are not included in the fee calculations of the Proposed Regulation, including, New 
Modifier Certified Motor Vehicles (certified under title 13, division 3, chapter 1, article 
2, section 1964); and Used Modifier-Certified Motor Vehicles (certified under title 13, 
division 3, chapter 1, article 7, section 2047). 

Rationale 
In the Proposed Regulation, Article 1, Section 2900, “Applicability.” is substantially 
similar to the existing language in Section 1991 in that it outlines which entities are 
subject to the Proposed Regulation and that the fees shall be collected by the 
Executive Officer. 

Although the Proposed Regulation generally applies to many more categories of 
activities under CARB’s authority in comparison to the existing regulations, two 
categories subject to the fee provisions in Article 2.5 are not included in the fee 
calculations of the Proposed Regulation, including, New Modifier Certified Motor 
Vehicles (certified under title 13, division 3, chapter 1, article 2, section 1964); and 
Used Modifier-Certified Motor Vehicles (certified under title 13, division 3, chapter 1, 
article 7, section 2047). Vehicles certified through these provisions are small in 
number, covered by other fees associated with these programs, and under the 
existing regulations which calculate fees on a per vehicle basis, are charged a minimal 
fee of roughly $4 per vehicle. Continuing the existing regulations for only these 
categories would add administrative burden that is not justified by the expected 
revenue. 
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Repeal Section 1991. Calculation of Total Revenues to be Assessed for Each Fiscal 
Year. 

Purpose 
Repeal language that is no longer necessary and would be duplicative of language in 
the Proposed Regulation with the adoption of Chapter 16, Article 2, Section 2904. 

Rationale 
This section provides the total dollar amount of fees to be collected in fiscal year 
1989-90 and a calculation to increase that dollar amount each year by the change in 
the California Consumer Price Index. The statutory change being implemented by the 
Proposed Rulemaking removed this specific dollar amount to be collected for on-road 
mobile source certification fees. Accordingly, the specific dollar amount from this 
regulatory section has not been carried over in the Proposed Regulation in section 
2904; however, the California Consumer Price Index adjustment has been retained 
because statutory authorization remains and moved to Section 2904, subdivision (f) in 
the Proposed Regulation. 

Repeal Section 1992. Calculation of Per-Vehicle or Per-Engine Certification Fees. 

Purpose 
Repeal language that is no longer necessary and would conflict with language in the 
Proposed Regulation with the adoption of Chapter 16, Articles 1 and 2. 

Rationale 
Since this section’s first effective date in 1990, CARB has calculated the fee per vehicle 
or engine according to the formula provided. This requires determining the total 
number of all vehicles and engines produced for California sale in the previous 
calendar year, based on numbers reported by manufacturers’ assembly line reports, as 
specified in section 1993. As explained in Section 2902, the Proposed Regulation 
replaces this process with a certification fee to be submitted in conjunction with an 
application seeking certification of any mobile source, as defined, for compliance with 
applicable emission requirements. 

Repeal Section 1993. Calculation of Fees to be Collected from Each Manufacturer. 

Purpose 
Repeal language that is no longer necessary and would conflict with language in the 
Proposed Regulation with the adoption of Chapter 16, Articles 1 and 2. 

Rationale 
As explained in Section 2902, the Proposed Regulation replaces the existing fee 
calculation process with an certification fee to be submitted in conjunction with an 
application seeking certification of any mobile source, as defined, for compliance with 
applicable emission requirements. Production numbers are no longer utilized in the 
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Proposed Regulation to calculate annual fees on a continuous basis, so this section is 
no longer necessary. 

Repeal Section 1994. Fee Payment and Collection. 

Purpose 
Repeal language that is no longer necessary and would conflict with language in the 
Proposed Regulation with the adoption of Chapter 16, Articles 1 and 2. 

Rationale 
As explained in Section 2902, the Proposed Regulation replaces the existing fee 
calculation process with an certification fee, to be submitted in conjunction with an 
application seeking certification of any mobile source, as defined, for compliance with 
applicable emission requirements. Fees are no longer collected on an annual basis, nor 
is there an installment provision in the Proposed Regulation. In addition, the new 
statutory authority created a new Certification and Compliance Fund, to which all fees 
collected must be deposited. 

2. Adopt Chapter 16. Certification Fees for Mobile Sources 

For this Proposed Regulation, staff proposes new adoption of CCR Title 13, Division 3, 
Chapter 16 to house the proposed regulations. The entire text of Chapter 16 set forth 
below is new language proposed to be added to the California Code of Regulations. 
The proposed Chapter contains 7 Articles. 

3. Adopt Article 1. General Provisions 

Section 2900. Applicability. 

Purpose 
The purpose of this section is to define the applicability for Chapter 16, including 
which parties are subject to the proposed regulation, the Executive Officer’s duties, 
and the categories of mobile sources subject to the regulation. 

Rationale 
This section is necessary to establish which parties are subject to the proposed 
regulation, the categories of mobile sources subject to the regulation, and that a 
certification fee shall be collected by the Executive Officer. This section is substantially 
similar to the previous fee regulation for on-road mobile sources, section 1991; 
however, the Proposed Regulation applies to many more categories of mobile sources 
under CARB’s authority in comparison to the existing regulations. Accordingly, 
“manufacturer or modifier of motor vehicles” has been replaced with “applicant 
submitting an application to the California Air Resources Board seeking certification of 
any mobile source described in Articles 2 through 7” to more accurately describe the 
broader range of mobile sources and entities covered by the proposed regulation. 
Although manufacturers are often the entities that submit applications for certification, 
replacing this term with “applicant” more accurately describes the parties subject to 
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the proposed regulation. The scope of the regulation applies only to those categories 
of mobile sources that are defined in Articles 2 through 7, which include: On-Road 
Mobile Sources (Article 2); Off-Road Mobile Sources (Article 3); Evaporative 
Components (Article 4); Aftermarket Parts (Article 5); Diesel Emission Control Strategy 
Verifications and Approvals (Article 6); and the At-Berth Regulation (Article 7). 

Two categories subject to the fee provisions in the existing fee regulations are not 
included in the Proposed Regulation, including, New Modifier Certified Motor Vehicles 
(certified under title 13, division 3, chapter 1, article 2, section 1964); and Used 
Modifier-Certified Motor Vehicles (certified under title 13, division 3, chapter 1, 
article 7, section 2047). Vehicles certified through these provisions are small in number 
and are charged a minimal per vehicle fee under the existing regulations of roughly 
four dollars ($4) per vehicle. Staff determined including these categories in the 
proposed regulations was not necessary because other fees applicable to these 
categories already exist in each section referenced above, as applicable, and will 
continue to be collected. 

Federally certified vehicles that are sold in California pursuant to Health and Safety 
Code Section 43102 are not specifically referenced in this section, in contrast to the 
existing regulations. However, these federally certified vehicles are included in the 
definition for light-duty vehicle in Article 2. 

These regulations apply to the 2023 and subsequent model year or the 2022 and 
subsequent calendar year, as applicable. Some categories, such as On-Road Mobile 
Sources (Article 2), are certified on a model-year basis, while other categories are 
certified on a calendar year basis. The included dates are the earliest these proposed 
regulations are expected to become effective. 

Section 2901. Definitions. 

Purpose 
The section contains definitions that apply to Chapter 16, Article 1 through Article 7, 
including: the definitions set forth in chapter 2 (commencing with section 39010), part 
1, division 26 of the California Health and Safety Code, “Base fee”, “Carry-over,” 
“Certification,” “Certification fee” “Executive Officer,” “Engine family,“ “Evaporative 
family,” “Fee credit,” “Model year,” “Partial carry-over,” “Receipt of payment,” 
“Small business,” “Test Group,” “Vehicle family,” and “Zero-Emission”. 

Rationale 
The purpose of this section is to clarify that the definitions in this chapter supplement 
and are governed by those found in chapter 2 (commencing with section 39010), part 
1, division 26 of the California Health and Safety Code, unless a specific definition has 
been revised in this chapter. Regulatory revision of these statutory definitions is 
expressly provided by Health and Safety code section 39010. In addition, the following 
are definitions are located in Article 1 because the definitions are utilized in Article 1, 
or in multiple articles in this chapter. 
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“Base fee” – It is necessary to add this definition because it is used in multiple articles 
throughout the chapter and is included in each of the certification fee tables. This base 
fee applies to applicants that do not qualify for a reduced cost certification fee, as 
listed. Not all reduced cost certification fee types apply to all articles or to all 
categories, but every category does include a base fee. The specific criteria for each 
reduced cost certification fee type are contained in the definition of each of reduced 
cost certification fee type. 

“Carry-over” - It is necessary to add this definition because the term is used to 
describe the criteria associated with this lower cost certification fee type in Article 2, 
Article 3, and Article 5 of the proposed regulation. The “Carry-over” fee type is not 
used in Article 4, Article 6, and Article 7 because applications covered in those articles 
are provided alternative lower cost certification fee types. These applications must be 
identical to previously approved product applications with minor changes due to 
model year, annual naming conventions, projected sales data, or manufacturer contact 
information. 

“Certification” - It is necessary to add this definition because the term is used in 
Article 1 through Article 7 of these proposed regulations. This definition is nearly 
identical to the definition of “certification” in Health and Safety Code section 39018, 
except where that definition only applies to vehicular sources, the definition included 
in the proposed regulation is inclusive of all mobile sources as described in Article 2 
through Article 7. 

“Certification Fee” - It is necessary to add this definition, because the term is used in 
Article 1 through Article 7 of these proposed regulations. 

“Engine family” – It is necessary to add this definition because the term is used in 
Article 1, Article 2, and Article 3 of these proposed regulations. In Article 1, this is a 
criteria for the “Partial carry-over” and “Carry-over” definitions. The certification 
regulations for each category of mobile sources in Article 2 and Article 3, as described 
with citations to each certification regulation section, contain similar but unique 
definitions of this term. 

“Evaporative family” – It is necessary to add this definition because the term is used in 
Article 1, Article 2, and Article 3 of these proposed regulations. In Article 1, this is a 
criteria for the “Partial carry-over” and “Carry-over” definitions. The certification 
regulations for each category of mobile sources in Article 2 and Article 3, as described 
with citations to each certification regulation section, contain similar but unique 
definitions of this term. 

“Executive Officer” - It is necessary to add this definition because the term is used in 
Article 1 and Article 2 of these proposed regulations. CARB’s Executive Officer is 
responsible for numerous provisions in the proposed regulation, as such, it is 
necessary to establish who has such authority. 
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“Fee credit” - It is necessary to add this definition because the term is used in Article 1 
of these proposed regulations to define that any fee credit balance may be used to 
pay future fees only under this Chapter. CARB collects fees in a variety of other 
programs it implements, however, because fees are particularized for activities and 
categories of mobile sources described in Articles 2 through 7, fees paid for those 
activities can only be used for similar fees. 

“Model year” - It is necessary to add this definition because the term is used in 
Article 1, Article 2, Article 3, and Article 5 of the proposed regulations. Most 
applications for on-road and off-road sources are based on the model year of the 
product requesting certification. The production is limited within each model year’s 
certification. As a result, each certification must be annually renewed for the next 
model year of the product. In any calendar year, manufacturers may submit 
applications for multiple model years. Therefore, to simplify the proposed regulation 
implementation, these fees are based on engine or vehicle model year as indicated in 
the certification application, not calendar year of application submittal. The model 
year of each certification category is defined within the certification regulation itself. 
This definition is not used in Article 4,Article 6, or Article 7 because applications for all 
mobile sources covered in those Articles are based on calendar year, or the date of 
application submittal. 

“Partial carry-over” - It is necessary to add this definition because the term is used to 
reference the criteria associated with this lower cost certification fee type in Article 2, 
Article 3, and Article 5 of the proposed regulation. The “Partial carry-over” fee type is 
not used in Article 4, Article 6, and Article 7 because applications covered in those 
articles are provided alternative lower cost certification fee types. These applications 
are similar to “Carry-over” applications, but involve more extensive changes from the 
previous model year. These applications must be identical to previously approved 
product applications with minor changes due to model year, annual naming 
conventions, projected sales data or manufacturer contact information. Additionally, 
changes are allowed to model names (including additional models if the certification 
emission levels are not changed); part numbers (including new parts are durable to full 
useful life and do not impact the certification emission levels); and equipment types. 

“Receipt of payment” - It is necessary to add this definition because the term is used 
in Article 1 of the proposed regulations to determine the exact date payment is 
received. The timing of receipt of payment is critical in calculating the amount of any 
requested fee credit. This term is not in Articles 2 through 7 because the term is not 
needed. 

“Small business”- It is necessary to add this definition because the term is used as a 
lower cost certification fee in Article 5, Article 6, and Article 7 of the proposed 
regulations. The “Small business” fee type is not used in Articles 2 through Article 4 
because applications covered in those articles are provided alternative lower cost 
certification fee types. Staff received multiple questions from stakeholders on the what 
is meant by independently owned and operated, as used in the Government Code 
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definition cited. The definition used for the proposed regulation modifies the 
definition for “small business” in California Government Code section 11346.3, 
subdivision (b)(4)(B) to clarify what is meant by a business that is independently owned 
and operated and is consistent with the definition in CCR Title 2, section 1896.12. 

“Test Group” – It is necessary to add this definition because the term is used in Article 
1 and Article 2 of these proposed regulations. In Article 1, this is a criteria for the 
“Partial carry-over” and “Carry-over” definitions. 

“Vehicle family” – It is necessary to add this definition because the term is used in 
Article 1 and Article 2 of these proposed regulations. In Article 1, this is a criteria for 
the “Partial carry-over” and “Carry-over” definitions. 

“Zero-emission” - It is necessary to add this definition, because the term is used as a 
lower cost certification fee in Article 2, Article 3, and Article 5 of these proposed 
regulations. The Zero-emission fee type is not used in Articles 4, Article 6, and Article 
7 because no zero-emission technologies currently exist or are required to get 
approved under the categories defined in those articles. 

Section 2902. Fee Payment, Refunds, and Credits. 

Purpose 
The purpose of this section is to define the payment, refund, and credit process for 
fees collected in Chapter 16. 

Rationale 
The section is necessary to describe the process for applicants to submit certification 
fees, the paths available to receive a fee credit, and Executive Officer’s duties in 
reviewing submitted fees. In addition, this section makes clear that certification 
applications will not be reviewed without fee payment. Necessity for each subsection 
is described below. 

Subsection 2902(a)(1) 

Purpose 
The purpose of this subsection is to provide the requirement that applicants 
submitting an application for the certification or evaluation of any mobile source 
described in Article 2 through 7 shall also submit a fee. 

Rationale 
This subsection is necessary to address the problem that the proposal is intended to 
address, accomplish the goals of the proposed regulation, and implement the 
legislative authority in SB 854 and SB 85 to collect application fees from the entity 
seeking that certification. This subsection specifies that such fees are to be paid for 
applications seeking certification of any mobile source described in Articles 2 
through 7. Only applications for those mobile sources described in Articles 2 
through 7 are required to submit fees. These specific categories of mobile sources 
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were selected in compliance with the authority to collect certification fees 
provided in Health and Safety Code sections 43019 and 43019.1, which specify a 
limited range of activities and specific mobile source categories for which 
certification fees may be collected. 

Subsection 2902(a)(2) 

Purpose 
The purpose of this subsection is to provide the timing of payment submittal, how 
payments are to be made, and where payments are to be deposited. 

Rationale 
This subsection is necessary specify that applicants are required to remit the fee that 
meets the criteria for the selected category and fee type to the California Air 
Resources Board in conjunction with the application. The mobile source categories 
and fee types are provided in Article 2 through Article 7 in fee tables that list the 
various categories of mobile sources subject to the proposed regulation and 
corresponding fee types. The fee types include a base fee, as defined in section 
2901, and other reduced cost certification fee types that specify the criteria for to 
qualify for that reduced fee type. Payment shall be made payable to the California 
Air Resources Board in conjunction with the application. The Executive Officer shall 
forward all payments to the State Controller’s Office for deposit in the 
Certification and Compliance Fund in compliance with Health and Safety Code 
section 43019. 

Subsection 2902(a)(3) 

Purpose 
The purpose of this subsection is to provide the criteria for the processing of the 
application for certification or evaluation of any mobile source described in Articles 
2 through 7 for compliance with applicable emission requirements. 

Rationale 
This subsection is necessary to specify that any submitted application will not be 
processed, and cannot be deemed complete, before the fee meets the criteria for 
the selected category and fee type is received. This requirement helps ensure that 
fees will be submitted in a timely manner by each applicant because processing of 
each application to determine if the mobile source complies with the applicable 
emission requirements, contained in the applicable certification regulation and 
cited in the definition of each mobile source category, cannot begin until the fee is 
received. The additional criteria that any submitted applications cannot be 
deemed complete before the fee is received is intended to supplement, not 
supplant, any other criteria required within the cited certification regulations for 
each mobile source category. Therefore, the requirements in this subsection are 
necessary, but not necessarily sufficient, to deem an application complete. The 
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requirements in this subsection are in additional to any other requirements within 
the mobile source category certification regulations. 

Subsection 2902(a)(4) 

Purpose 
The purpose of this subsection is to provide requirements for the Executive Officer’s 
review of the submitted fee and the steps that must be taken if the submitted 
application and fee does not meet the criteria of the selected category and fee type. 

Rationale 
This subsection is necessary to inform applicants of the initial steps in the review of the 
submitted application The determination required by this subsection must be made 
before the certification or evaluation process of the application can begin, as outlined 
in subsection 2902(a)(3). To avoid unnecessary delay in the processing of each 
application, the Executive Officer is only required to notify the applicant if, upon 
review of the application and the fee submitted, it is determined that the fee does not 
meet the criteria for the selected category and fee type. If such notification is 
necessary, the Executive Officer will calculate the appropriate fee, include the results 
of that calculation in the notification, and allow the applicant to remit the appropriate 
fee. Although the fee tables in Article 2 through 7 clearly indicate the fee for each 
category and fee type, it is possible that an applicant may select and remit a fee that 
does not match the fee in the applicable fee table. The process in this subsection 
provides a pathway for the Executive Officer to calculate and provide an opportunity 
for the applicant to submit the appropriate fee. 

Subsection 2902(a)(5) 

Purpose 
The purpose of this subsection is to establish a process for when a manufacturer 
selects either the “Low California production manufacturer” or “Low California 
production for sale engine family” fee types and utilizes projected production for sale 
data, as provided for in the definitions of those reduced cost fee types in sections 
2903 and 2905. 

Rationale 
The “Low California production manufacturer” and “Low California production for sale 
engine family” fee types are used in Article 2 and Article 3 to provide for reduced cost 
fees for defined mobile source categories within those articles. The criteria for these 
fee types limits the total allowable mobile source production for sale total to no more 
than a specified number. The number of units produced for sale is averaged across 
the previous three consecutive model years, unless production for sale data is not 
available for three consecutive model years, in which case projected production for 
sale estimates are allowed. Projected production for sale estimates are required to be 
reported under each certification regulation. This subsection states if the end of the 
model year reported production for sale for that model year application exceeds the 
criteria in the definition for the “Low California production manufacturer” or “Low 
California production for sale engine family” fee types, the Executive Officer will bill 
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the applicant for the difference between the fee paid and the applicable fee And no 
new applications shall be processed until payment is received. This process is 
necessary because actual production for sale data is not available until the end of 
the model year’s production. Providing review of this reduced cost fee category 
ensures the integrity of the proposed regulation to collect appropriate fees. 

Subsection 2902(a)(6) 

Purpose 
The purpose of this subsection is to specify that applicants shall attest any information 
provided in true, accurate, and correct. 

Rationale 

This subsection is necessary to inform applicants of this requirement of certification 
fee submission. 

Subsection 2902(b) 

Purpose 
The purpose of this subsection is to set the criteria for refunds for fee payments. 

Rationale 
It is necessary to add this subsection to specify that no refunds will be provided after 
fee payment. The “fee credit” system in 2902(c) exists in lieu of a refund system. 
Stakeholders did not request refunds but the ability to get credits for their fee 
payments instead. 

Subsection 2902(c) 

Purpose 
The purpose of this subsection is to provide the criteria for the withdrawal of an 
application, the fee credit provided based on the timing of a withdrawal, the mobile 
source categories eligible for fee credits, and the mechanism to request a fee credit. 

Rationale 
Stakeholders commented on the need for fee credits for applications that are 
withdrawn early in the process or when the fee payment is made but no application is 
submitted. Credits are limited to Article 2, 3, and 4, and not used for Articles 5, 6, and 
7. Staff believe that no credit is needed for Articles 5, 6, and 7 because these 
applications undergo more pre-application discussions between the applicant and 
CARB staff prior to submittal of the application. These applications also are fewer in 
number within a calendar year. Applicants for Article 2, 3, and 4 approvals often 
submit multiple applications in a year, sometimes at the same time, and for multiple 
model years. These manufacturers wish to have the option to submit multiple 
payments at one time, where some of these applications may be withdrawn, 
exchanged for different test group or engine family name, or not submitted at all. 
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Staff determined that minimal work is done on applications received by CARB within 
15 days of submittal. The proposed regulations allows for 100 percent credit for 
withdrawal of an applications in writing within 15 calendar days of the fee payments or 
the date the Executive Officer notifies the applicant that the submitted payment is not 
the appropriate fee type for the application submitted (as outlined in section 
2902(a)(4)), or if an incorrect fee payment is made. The proposed regulation allows for 
100 percent credit if no application is received, as no CARB resources could have been 
expended for review. For applications withdrawn within 16 to 46 days of the submittal 
of payment or the date the Executive Officer notifies the submitted payment is not the 
appropriate fee type for the application submitted, the proposed regulation is 
providing 50 percent credit of the fee payment. Under existing practice, staff provide 
feedback to the applicant on the completeness of their application soon after 
application submittal. Under the proposed regulation, staff will also verify the 
application matches the criteria for the selected category and fee type and that 
payment was submitted for the application. If the fee payment is incorrect, staff will 
notify the applicant, where the applicant can provide the appropriate payment or get 
credit as described above. The application review does not start until the appropriate 
fee payment is made. The completeness review is estimated to be about 50 percent of 
the staff workload, therefore between 16 to 46 calendar days, only 50 percent credit 
will be provided. No credit is provided after 46 days after payment or the date the 
staff notifies the applicant that the submitted payment is not the appropriate fee type 
or the incorrect fee payment is made. The date of the credit request will be the date 
that CARB received written notification from the applicant. 

4. Adopt Article 2. Certification Fees for On-Road Mobile Sources 

Article 2 houses the certification fees for on-road mobile sources. These fees are 
authorized by HSC section 43019, which was amended by AB 85 in 2019. 

A phase in schedule for certain fees was created to reduce the initial cost burden to 
manufacturers for model years 2023 and 2024. Starting model year 2026, fees are 
adjusted annually by the California Consumer Product Index as allowed by HSC 
section 43019. 

Reduced cost fee types are discussed in each applicable subsection. Fees for less 
complicated applications, such as model year renewals or other simple applications, 
are proposed as a discounted rate determined based on the amount of, or reduction 
in, staff time to complete the process. In addition, CARB developed a special fee to 
support California’s zero-emission technology goals. 

The following outlines the new regulatory language purpose and rationale for 
Article 2. The new fee regulations will be housed in Section 2903 and Section 2904. 
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Section 2903. Definitions. 

Purpose 
This section contains definitions that apply to Article 2, including: “Aerodynamic 
technologies,” “Engine family,” “Evaporative emissions family,” “Family emission limit 
(FEL),” “Fuel-fired heater,” Heavy-duty compression ignition (HD CI) engine family,” 
“Heavy-duty Otto-cycle (HDO) engine family,” “Heavy-duty greenhouse gas vehicle 
family,” “Heavy-duty greenhouse gas (HD GHG) partial carry-over,” “Heavy-duty 
vehicle evaporative emission family,” “Incomplete medium-duty vehicle,” “Incomplete 
medium-duty vehicle (MDV) evaporative emissions family,” “Light-duty vehicle,” “Low 
California production manufacturer,” “Low California production for sale engine 
family,” “Medium-duty compression ignition (MD CI) engine family,” “Medium-duty 
Otto-cycle (MDO) engine family,” “Medium-duty vehicle,” “On-road heavy-duty 
exempt engine,” “Street-use motorcycle family or motorcycle engine,” “Test group,” 
“Trailer Family,” and “Zero-emission powertrain family”. 

Rationale 
This section is needed to create the following definitions that shall govern the 
provisions of Article 2. The following terms are required to define each of the fee 
categories and fee types: 

“Aerodynamic technologies”- It is necessary to add this definition because the term is 
used in Article 2. The definition references and is consistent with the existing 
regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile 
source certification fee category. 

“Engine Family” - It is necessary to add this definition because the term is used in 
Article 2. The definition references and is consistent with the existing regulatory 
certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define multiple mobile source 
certification fee categories. 

“Evaporative emission family” - It is necessary to add this definition because the term 
is used in Article 2. The definition references and is consistent with the existing 
regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define multiple 
mobile source certification fee categories. 

“Fuel-fired heater”- It is necessary to add this definition because the term is used in 
Article 2. The definition references and is consistent with the existing regulatory 
certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile source 
certification fee category. 

“Heavy-duty compression ignition (HD CI) engine family”- It is necessary to add this 
definition because the term is used in Article 2. The definition references and is 
consistent with the existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to 
clearly define the mobile source certification fee category. 
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“Heavy-duty greenhouse gas vehicle family”- It is necessary to add this definition 
because the term is used in Article 2. The definition references and is consistent with 
the existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define 
the mobile source certification fee category. 

“Heavy-duty greenhouse gas (HD GHG) partial carry-over application” - It is necessary 
to add this definition because the term is used in Article 2. The definition for HD GHG 
partial carry-over is unique from the other partial carry-over reduced cost fee types 
and it is necessary to clearly define the differences in this mobile source certification 
fee type. The definition is consistent with the existing regulatory certification 
requirements. 

“Heavy-duty vehicle evaporative emission family”- It is necessary to add this definition 
because the term is used in Article 2. The definition references and is consistent with 
the existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define 
the mobile source certification fee category. 

“Incomplete medium-duty vehicle evaporative emissions family” - It is necessary to 
add this definition, because the term is used in Article 2. The definition references and 
is consistent with the existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary 
to clearly define the mobile source certification fee category. 

“Incomplete medium-duty vehicle evaporative emissions family” - It is necessary to 
add this definition because the term is used in Article 2. The definition is consistent 
with the existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly 
define the mobile source certification fee category. 

“Light-duty vehicle”- It is necessary to add this definition because the term is used in 
Article 2. The definition references and is consistent with the existing regulatory 
definitions, and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile source certification fee 
category. 

“Low California production manufacturer” - It is necessary to add this definition 
because the term is used in Article 2. “Low California production manufacturer” fee 
criteria is based on the end of the model year production for California sale number 
reporting requirement currently in existing regulations. A new company or 
manufacturer submitting an application with a new engine family name for the “Low 
California production manufacturer” fee type may not have this information available 
because there is no reporting history. In this situation, manufacturers can use 
projected production for California sale numbers for the model year of the product 
application to determine fee criteria. Subsection 2902(a)(5) states if the end of the 
model year reported production for that model year application exceeds the criteria in 
the definition for a “Low California production manufacturer” fee, the Executive 
Officer will bill the applicant for the difference between the fee paid and the 
applicable fee. For the “Low California production manufacturer” fee type, projected 
sales can be used in the three year average, but the average will be adjusted based on 
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the actual reported model year sales for the application submitted. If three years of 
actual reported sales numbers are available, projected production of California sales 
cannot be used. The production caps included in the definition represent a balance 
of providing this reduced cost fee type to manufacturers with the goals of the 
proposed regulation. 

“Low California production for sale engine family” - It is necessary to add this 
definition, because the term is used in Article 2. Low California production for sale 
engine family” fee criteria is based on the end of the model year production for 
California sale number reporting requirement currently in existing regulations. A 
manufacturer submitting an application with a new engine family name for the “Low 
California production for sale engine family” fee type, may not have this information 
available because there is no reporting history. In this situation, manufacturers can use 
projected production for California sale numbers for the model year of the product 
application to determine fee criteria. In subsection 2902(a)(5) states if the end of the 
model year reported production for that model year application exceeds the criteria in 
the definition for the “Low California production for sale engine family” fee type, the 
Executive Officer will bill the applicant for the difference between the fee paid and the 
applicable fee. If actual reported sales numbers are available, projected production of 
California sales cannot be used. The production caps included in the definition 
represent a balance of providing this reduced cost fee type to manufacturers with 
the goals of the proposed regulation. 

“Medium-duty compression ignition (MD CI) engine family”- It is necessary to add this 
definition, because the term is used in Article 2. The definition references and is 
consistent with the existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to 
clearly define the mobile source certification fee category. 

“Medium-duty Otto-cycle (MDO) engine family”- It is necessary to add this definition, 
because the term is used in Article 2. The definition references and is consistent with 
the existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define 
the mobile source certification fee category. 

“Medium-duty vehicle”- It is necessary to add this definition, because the term is used 
in Article 2. The definition references and is consistent with the existing regulatory 
definition, and it is necessary to clearly define multiple mobile source certification fee 
categories. 

“On-road heavy-duty exempt engine”- It is necessary to add this definition, because 
the term is used in Article 2. The definition references and is consistent with the 
existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the 
mobile source certification fee category. 

“Street-use motorcycle or motorcycle engine”- It is necessary to add this definition, 
because the term is used in Article 2. The definition references and is consistent with 
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the existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define 
the mobile source certification fee category. 

“Test group”- It is necessary to add this definition, because the term is used in 
Article 2. The definition references and is consistent with the existing regulatory 
definition, and it is necessary to clearly define multiple mobile source certification fee 
categories. 

“Trailer Family”- It is necessary to add this definition, because the term is used in 
Article 2. The definition references and is consistent with the existing regulatory 
certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile source 
certification fee category. 

“Zero-emission powertrain family”- It is necessary to add this definition, because the 
term is used in Article 2. The definition references and is consistent with the existing 
regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile 
source certification fee category. 

Section 2904. Certification Fees for On-Road Mobile Sources. 

Purpose  
This section provides the proposed Base Fees and discounted fees that a 
manufacturer would be required to pay for each category identified under Article 2 for 
the submission of an application to obtain approval to sell an engine, vehicle or 
equipment certified as listed in Table IV-B-1. 
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Table IV-B-1: On-Road Fee Categories 

Light-duty vehicle test group and medium-duty vehicle test 
group 

HD CI engine family and MD CI engine family 

HDO engine family and MDO engine family 

Heavy-duty vehicle evaporative emissions family and Incomplete 
MDV evaporative emissions family 

Heavy-duty greenhouse gas vehicle family 

Trailer family 

Zero-emission powertrain family 

On-road heavy-duty exempt engine 

Street-use motorcycle family and motorcycle engine family 

Aerodynamic technologies 

Fuel-fired heater 

Rationale 
This section provides the specific fees by category for applications for model years 
2023, 2024, 2025 and subsequent years and applications based on calendar year 
received in 2022, 2023, 2024 and subsequent years as applicable. It also provides the 
methodology for including annual CPI adjustments of the annual fees for 2025 
calendar year or 2026 model year and subsequent years. Specific fee rationale is 
discussed in the following subsections. 

Subsection 2904(a)(1) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides the certification fees for model year 2023 for Light-duty 
vehicle test groups, Medium-duty vehicle test groups, Heavy-duty engine families, 
Medium-Duty Engine Families, Heavy-duty vehicle evaporative emissions families, and 
Incomplete medium-duty vehicle evaporative emissions families. 

Rationale 
The Base Fee and Partial carry-over fee type are phased-in for model year 2023 and 
model year 2024 applications to reduce the initial cost burden and to be responsive to 
business impacts on manufacturers. The phase-in allows for a stepped increase in fees 
requested by manufacturers. For model year 2023, the fees are 50 percent of the 
model year 2025 fees discussed in subsection 2904(a)(3). 
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Subsection 2904(a)(2) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides the certification fees for model year 2024 for categories for 
Light-duty vehicle test groups, Medium-duty vehicle test groups, Heavy-duty engine 
families, Medium-Duty Engine Families, Heavy-duty vehicle evaporative emissions 
families, and Incomplete medium-duty vehicle evaporative emissions families. 

Rationale 

The Base Fee and Partial carry-over fee type are phased-in for model year 2023 and 
model year 2024 applications to reduce the initial cost burden and to be responsive to 
business impacts on manufacturers. The phase-in allows for a stepped increase in fees 
requested by manufacturers. For model year 2024, the fees are 75 percent of the 
model year 2025 fees discussed in subsection 2904(a)(3). 

Subsection 2904(a)(3) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides the certification fees for model year 2025 for categories for 
Light-Duty Vehicle Test Groups, Medium-Duty Vehicle Test Groups, Heavy-Duty 
Engine Families, Medium-Duty Engine Families, Heavy-duty vehicle evaporative 
emissions families, and Incomplete medium-duty vehicle evaporative emissions 
families. 

Rationale 
Subsection 2904(a)(3) lists the Base fee and low cost fee types for Light-duty vehicle 
test groups, Medium-duty vehicle test groups, Heavy-duty engine families, Medium-
Duty Engine Families, Heavy-duty vehicle evaporative emissions families, and 
Incomplete medium-duty vehicle evaporative emissions families applications. The fees 
for these categories are based on model year applications, not calendar year 
submittals, because these categories are certified on a model year basis under the 
applicable certification regulation section cited in each definition in section 2903. As a 
result, each product must be annually renewed for the next model year of production. 
In any given calendar year, manufacturers could submit applications for multiple model 
years; therefore, to simplify the implementation of the proposed regulation, and 
provide clarity and level playing field for applicants, these fees are on a model year 
basis, not the calendar year date of application submittal. 

As part of the methodology of calculating the amount of the certification fees in this 
table, CARB estimated the number applications will be the same as the number of EOs 
to be issued and these numbers will remain consistent in future years. The Base Fee in 
this section is the average cost per application or Executive Order. The fee 
development methodology can be found in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix B, 
page 130-134). The baseline cost to implement the certification and compliance 
program can be found in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix A, pages 91 through 
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129), including a detailed breakdown of CARB’s included activities for certification and 
compliance, labor costs, operational costs, equipment costs, and facilities costs. These 
costs per category and the average cost per EO can be found in Appendix B (Revised 
SRIA, Appendix A, Table Appn A-7, page 122). The Base fee and reduced fee types 
are listed in the tables in subsections 2904(a)(1) through subsection 2901(a)(3) for each 
model year and category. 

Subsequent to this analysis, two categories were disaggregated from the broader 
categories: “Heavy-duty Otto-cycle (HDO) engine family” and “Medium-duty Otto-
cycle engine family”. The original cost to determine the Base Fee for heavy-duty and 
medium-duty engine families included both Heavy-duty and medium-duty 
compression ignition (HD CI, MD CI) and HDO engine families (Appendix B: Revised 
SRIA, Appendix A, Table Appn A-7, page 122.) A HDO/MDO engine family 
application evaluation takes about 65 percent less staff evaluation time than for a 
HD/MD CI engine family application. Because of this difference in evaluation time, the 
HDO/MDO engine family application Base Fee has been reduced by 65 percent of the 
original cost used in the analysis and the proposed HD/MD CI Base Fee. Therefore, 
the HDO/MDO engine family application Base Fee is 35 percent of the HD/MD CI 
Base Fee. 

Three reduced cost fee types, Partial carry-over, Carry-over, and Zero-emission, are 
available within the categories of Light-duty vehicle test groups, Medium-duty vehicle 
test groups, Heavy-duty engine families, Medium-Duty Engine Families, Heavy-duty 
vehicle evaporative emissions families, and Incomplete medium-duty vehicle 
evaporative emissions families. Medium-Duty Engine Families, Heavy-duty vehicle 
evaporative emissions families, and Incomplete medium-duty vehicle evaporative 
emissions families are not eligible for the zero-emission fee type because there are no 
zero-emission technologies that exist within those categories. (The “zero-emission 
powertrain family” category is in section 2904(e).) The rational for each reduced fee 
type is as follows: 

“Carry-over” - As defined in section 2901, this is a lower cost fee type for all 
categories in subsection 2904(a). A Carry-over application is used in a streamlined 
review process for those certification applications where there are limited changes 
made to their product application from the previous model year. The application 
approval process times are reduced because the applications are identical to 
previously approved applications except for minor modifications set forth in the 
definition in section 2901. A reduced review time is required to ensure the current 
application is identical to the previously approved one in all other aspects. On 
average, the staff analysis time for this process is roughly 25 percent of staff time 
required for Base Fee applications. Therefore, the fee for this fee type is discounted 
by 75 percent resulting in a fee that is 25 percent of the Base Fee. 

“Partial carry-over” - As defined in section 2901, this is a lower cost fee type for all 
categories in subsection 2904(a). A Partial carry-over application is used in a 
streamlined review process for those certification applications where there are limited 
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changes made to their product application from the previous model year. The 
application approval process times are reduced because the applications are identical 
to previously approved applications except for minor modifications set forth in the 
definition in section 2901. A reduced review time is required to ensure the current 
application is identical to the previously approved one in all other aspects. In 
comparison to the Carry-over application fee type, additional staff time is required to 
review the additional allowable changes. For example, a Partial carry-over application 
may include additional parts. Staff must ensure the new parts do not impact 
certification emission levels or durability requirements. On average, the staff analysis 
time for this process is roughly 50 percent of staff time required for Base Fee 
applications. Therefore, the fee for this fee type is discounted by 50 percent resulting 
in a fee that is 50 percent of the Base Fee. 

“Zero-emission” - As defined in section 2901, this is a lower cost fee type for the 
Light-duty vehicle test group and medium-duty vehicle test group categories in 
subsection 2904(a). Zero-emission vehicles have fewer requirements, are easier to 
review, and take less processing time. Additionally, the discount for this fee type was 
provided to support the introduction of zero-emission products. The certification fee 
for products that meet this definition is reduced by 75 percent, resulting in a fee that 
is 25 percent of the Base Fee for the category. 

Subsection 2904(a)(4) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides the fee requirements for model year 2026 and subsequent 
model years by referencing section 2904(f). 

Rationale 
This subsection is necessary to inform applicants how fees for model year 2026 and 
subsequent model years are determined. Section 2904(f) contains the calculation to 
adjust the certification fee by the annual change in the California Consumer Price 
Index, as authorized by Health and Safety Code Section 43019. Because CPI is not 
calculated or published by the California Department of Industrial Relations until after 
the reference time period, it is not possible for CARB to calculate and publish the 
certification fees for model year 2026 and subsequent model years at this time. 
However, section 2904(f) does require the Executive Officer to publish the calculated 
fees annually, so that applicants will be informed of the applicable fees before they 
must be paid. 

This adjustment is needed to help ensure that the fees paid are as commensurate as 
possible with the costs of implementing the mobile source certification and 
compliance program. CARB agency costs to implement certification and compliance 
activities have increased and are expected to continue to increase at rate that 
outpaces the California Consumer Price Index. Therefore, while including the CPI 
adjustment is not expected to be sufficient to cover increases in the cost to implement 
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all program activities, CARB is including this provision as authorized by statute to 
offset at least a portion of increased agency costs. 

The methodology in section 2904(f) is nearly identical to the existing CPI adjustment 
regulation for on-road mobile source certification fees found in Title 13, Division 3, 
Chapter 1, Article 2.5, section 1991. See subsection 2904(f) below for specific 
changes. 

Subsection 2904(b)(1) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides the certification fees for model year 2023 for Heavy-Duty 
Greenhouse Gas (HD GHG) Vehicle Families and Trailer Families. 

Rationale 
The Base Fee, Low California Production Manufacturer, and HD GHG Vehicle Partial 
carry-over fee types are phased-in for model year 2023 and model year 2024 
applications to reduce the initial cost burden and to be responsive to business impacts 
on manufacturers. The phase-in allows for a stepped increase in fees requested by 
manufacturers. For model year 2023, the fees are 50 percent of the model year 2025 
fees discussed in subsection 2904(b)(3). 

Subsection 2904(b)(2) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides the certification fees for model year 2024 for Heavy-Duty 
Greenhouse Gas (HD GHG) Vehicle Families and Trailer Families. 

Rationale 
The Base Fee, Low California Production Manufacturer, and HD GHG Vehicle Partial 
carry-over fees are phased-in for model year 2023 and model year 2024 applications 
to reduce the initial cost burden and to be responsive to business impacts on 
manufacturers. The phase-in allows for a stepped increase in fees requested by 
manufacturers. For model year 2024, the fees are 75 percent of the model year 2025 
fees discussed in subsection 2904(b)(3). 

Subsection 2904(b)(3) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides tables of the certification fees for model year 2025 for Heavy-
Duty Greenhouse Gas (HD GHG) Vehicle Families and Trailer Families. 

Rationale 
The certification regulation for these two categories—the Phase 2 Heavy-Duty 
Greenhouse Gas program—was adopted in 2018 and the new requirements for 
engines, vehicles, trailers, and aerodynamic components started in 2020. Therefore, 
no actual certification or application data was available for 2018. The fees are based 
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on the costs of staff activities identified from the Heavy-Duty Greenhouse Gas (HD 
GHG) Phase II regulations. To determine the fee, staff identified the resources used for 
HD GHG Phase I in 2018 and added the Department of Finance (DOF) approved 
position costs for the implementation of HD Greenhouse Gas Phase II. The total costs 
were divided by the regulatory estimates for the number of approvals expected in the 
program starting in model year 2022 to determine the Base Fee. The number of EOs 
issued is assumed to be consistent in future years. 

The HD GHG vehicle family and Trailer family certification fees are based on vehicle or 
trailer model year applications, not calendar year submittals. There is no difference 
between applications received and EOs issued for this category. The Base Fee for HD 
GHG vehicle family and Trailer family is the average cost per application or Executive 
Order. The fee development methodology can be found in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, 
Appendix B, page 130-134). The baseline cost to implement the certification and 
compliance program can be found in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix A, pages 
91 through 129), including a detailed breakdown of CARB’s included activities for 
certification and compliance, labor costs, operational costs, equipment costs, and 
facilities costs. These costs per category and the average cost per EO can be found in 
Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix A, Table Appn A-7, page 122). The Base fee and 
reduced fee types are listed in the tables in subsections 2904(b)(1) through subsection 
2901(b)(3) for each model year and category. 

Four reduced fee types: Carry-over, Low California production manufacturer, HD GHG 
partial carry-over, and Zero-emission, are available within qualified HD GHG vehicle 
and Trailer families categories. The rational for each reduced fee type is as follows: 

“Carry-over” - As defined in section 2901, this is a lower cost fee type for all 
categories in subsection 2904(b). A Carry-over application is used in a streamlined 
review process for those certification applications where there are limited changes 
made to their product application from the previous model year. The application 
approval process times are reduced because the applications are identical to 
previously approved applications except for minor modifications set forth in the 
definition in section 2901. A reduced review time is required to ensure the current 
application is identical to the previously approved one in all other aspects. On 
average, the staff analysis time for this process is roughly 25 percent of staff time 
required for Base Fee applications. Therefore, the fee for this fee type is discounted 
by 75 percent resulting in a fee that is 25 percent of the Base Fee. 

“Heavy-duty greenhouse gas partial carry-over” - This is lower cost fee type for all 
categories in subsection 2904(b). A Heavy-duty greenhouse gas partial carry-over 
application will be used in a streamlined review process for those certification 
applications where there are limited changes made to their product application from 
the previous model year. The application approval process times are expected to be 
reduced because the applications are identical to previously approved applications 
except for minor modifications. Since the HD Greenhouse Gas Phase 2 regulation 
requirements initiated in 2020, there are no application submittals for this fee type for 
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staff’s analysis, but there is an expected need for application streamlining approval . 
This fee type was modeled after the “Partial carry-over” fee type. “Heavy-duty 
greenhouse gas partial carry-over” is the same as Partial carry-over (as defined in 
section 2901) but includes heavy-duty greenhouse gas vehicle and trailer family 
regulatory elements that are specific to this category, such as model names (only if the 
CO2 standard to which the vehicle is certified or the lowest and highest FELs are not 
changed); part numbers (only if the CO2 standard to which the vehicle is certified or 
the lowest and highest FELs are not changed); engine families, transmission families, 
powertrain families, and axle families (only if the CO2 standard to which the vehicle is 
certified or the lowest and highest FELs are not changed); and tires (for design-based 
standards only, tire changes must not impact the worst case coefficient of rolling 
resistance). Reduced review time is expected to ensure the current application is 
identical to the previously approved one in all other aspects and review the additional 
allowable changes. On average, the staff analysis time for this process is expected to 
be roughly 50 percent of staff time required for Base Fee applications. Therefore, the 
fee for this fee type is discounted by 50 percent resulting in a fee that is 50 percent of 
the Base Fee. 

“Low California production manufacturer” - This lower cost application applies to 
“Heavy-duty greenhouse gas vehicle family” applications only. Trailer manufacturers 
did not provide a business need for this discount, therefore this fee type was not 
provided for Trailer family applications. The “Low California production manufacturer” 
fee type is a lower cost fee for HD Greenhouse Gas vehicle manufacturers that 
produce small volumes for sale in California. The criteria for determining low 
production is based on criteria used for similar flexibility provided for product 
approval in the certification regulation for this category. The production limits shall be 
based on the average number of applicable heavy-duty vehicles produced for sale in 
California for the three previous consecutive model years for which a manufacturer 
seeks certification as a low California production manufacturer. This discount takes 
into consideration the cost burden and business impacts to low California production 
manufacturers, which include small business. Staff’s proposal would provide a 25 
percent discount for this fee type, resulting in a fee that is 75 percent of the Base Fee. 

“Zero-emission” - As defined in section 2901, this is a lower cost category for HD GHG 
Vehicle family applications in subsection 2901(b). Trailers do not have combustion 
emission requirements therefore Trailer family applications do not require this fee 
type. Zero-emission vehicles have fewer requirements and take less processing time. 
An additional discount was provided to support the introduction of zero-emission 
products. The application fee is for product applications that meet this definition. This 
fee type is reduced by 75 percent, resulting in a fee that is 25 percent of the Base Fee 
for the category. 
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Subsection 2904(b)(4) 

Purpose 
The subsection provides the fee requirements for model year 2026 and subsequent 
model years by referencing section 2904(f). 

Rationale 
This subsection is necessary to inform applicants how fees for model year 2026 and 
subsequent model years are determined. Section 2904(f) contains the calculation to 
adjust the certification fee by the annual change in the California Consumer Price 
Index, as authorized by Health and Safety Code Section 43019. Because CPI is not 
calculated or published by the California Department of Industrial Relations until after 
the reference time period, it is not possible for CARB to calculate and publish the 
certification fees for model year 2026 and subsequent model years at this time. 
However, section 2904(f) does require the Executive Officer to publish the calculated 
fees annually, so that applicants will be informed of the applicable fees before they 
must be paid. 

This adjustment is needed to help ensure that the fees paid are as commensurate as 
possible with the costs of implementing the mobile source certification and 
compliance program. CARB agency costs to implement certification and compliance 
activities have increased and are expected to continue to increase at rate that 
outpaces the California Consumer Price Index. Therefore, while including the CPI 
adjustment is not expected to be sufficient to cover increases in the cost to implement 
all program activities, CARB is including this provision as authorized by statute to 
offset at least a portion of increased agency costs. 

The methodology in section 2904(f) is nearly identical to the existing CPI adjustment 
regulation for on-road mobile source certification fees found in Title 13, Division 3, 
Chapter 1, Article 2.5, section 1991. See subsection 2904(f) below for specific 
changes. 

Subsection 2904(c)(1) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides tables of the certification fees for model year 2023 for the 
Street-use motorcycle family and Motorcycle engine family category. 

Rationale 
The Base Fee, Low California Production manufacturer, and Partial carry-over fees are 
phased-in for model year 2023 and model year 2024 applications to reduce the initial 
cost burden and to be responsive to business impacts on manufacturers. The phase-in 
allows for a stepped increase in fees requested by manufacturers. For model year 
2023, the fees are 50 percent of the model year 2025 Base Fee discussed in 
subsection 2904(c)(3). 
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Subsection 2904(c)(2) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides tables of the certification fee for model year 2024 for Street-
use motorcycle family and Motorcycle engine family categories. 

Rationale 
The Base Fee, Low California production manufacturer, and Partial carry-over fees are 
phased-in for model year 2023 and model year 2024 applications to reduce the initial 
cost burden and to be responsive to business impacts on manufacturers. The phase-in 
allows for a stepped increase in fees requested by manufacturers. For model year 
2024, the fees are 75 percent of the model year 2025 Base Fee discussed in 
subsection 2904(c)(3). 

Subsection 2904(c)(3) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides tables of the certification fee for model year 2025 for Street-
use motorcycle families and Motorcycle engine families. 

Rationale 
The certification fees for these categories are based on the model year application 
requirements, not calendar year. There is no difference between applications received 
and EOs issued for this category. The Base Fee for Street-use motorcycle family and 
Motorcycle engine family applications is the average cost per application or Executive 
Order. The fee development methodology can be found in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, 
Appendix B, page 130-134). The baseline cost to implement the certification and 
compliance program can be found in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix A, pages 
91 through 129), including a detailed breakdown of CARB’s included activities for 
certification and compliance, labor costs, operational costs, equipment costs, and 
facilities costs. These costs per category and the average cost per EO can be found in 
Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix A, Table Appn A-7, page 122). The Base fee and 
reduced fee types are listed in the tables in subsections 2904(c)(1) through subsection 
2901(c)(3) for each model year and category. 

Four reduced fee types, Carry-over, Low California production manufacturer, Low 
California production for sale engine family, and Partial carry-over are available within 
qualified Street-use motorcycle and engine families. The rational for each reduced fee 
type is as follows: 

“Carry-over” - As defined in section 2901, this is lower cost fee type for all categories 
in subsection 2904(c). A Carry-over application is used in a streamlined review process 
for those certification applications where there are limited changes made to their 
product application from the previous model year. The application approval process 
times are reduced because the applications are identical to previously approved 
applications except for minor modifications set forth in the definition in section 2901. 
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A reduced review time is required to ensure the current application is identical to the 
previously approved one in all other aspects. On average, the staff analysis time for 
this process is roughly 25 percent of staff time required for Base Fee applications. 
Therefore, the fee for this fee type is discounted by 75 percent resulting in a fee that is 
25 percent of the Base Fee. 

“Low California production manufacturer” - This is a lower cost fee for motorcycle 
manufacturers that produce small volumes for sale in California. The criteria for 
determining low production is based on criteria used for similar flexibility provided for 
product approval in the certification regulation for this category. The production limits 
shall be based on the average number of applicable street-use motorcycles or 
motorcycle engines produced for sale in California for the three previous consecutive 
model years for which a manufacturer seeks certification as a low California production 
manufacturer. This discount takes into consideration the cost burden and business 
impacts of low California production manufacturers, which include small business. 
Staff’s proposal would provide a 25 percent discount to assist these businesses, 
resulting in a fee that is 75 percent of the Base Fee. 

“Low California production for sale engine family” - This lower cost option for 
motorcycle manufacturers is necessary to mitigate certification costs for low-cost 
entry-level and extremely low sale volume motorcycle engine families. Business 
models for the on-road motorcycle industry are more complex than the other on-road 
categories. There are low-cost entry-level motorcycles and specialized boutique 
motorcycles, and motorcycles that range from small scooters to full touring size. Based 
on the significant feedback from the motorcycle industry on the need for additional 
fee reductions for low sales Street-use motorcycle families and Motorcycle engine 
families, staff developed the Low California sales engine family fee to be available to 
all qualifying manufacturers, except those that use the Low California Production 
Manufacturer option. Staff utilized information from the motorcycle manufacturers to 
develop this category based on cost burden and business impacts. A manufacturer 
may produce up to 100 units for sale in California in an engine family to be defined as 
a “Low California production for sale engine family” application. The production limits 
shall be based production estimates of street-use motorcycles or motorcycle engines 
produced for sale in California at the time of application and confirmed by the actual 
sales reported for each engine family by a manufacturer who seeks to utilize this fee 
type. Staff’s proposal would provide a 95 percent discount, resulting in a fee that is 
five percent of the Base Fee. A manufacturer may submit up to three “Low California 
production for sale engine family” applications for each model year. It may not 
combine the use of the “Low California production manufacturer” fee type for any 
other applications of the same model year. 

“Partial carry-over” - As defined in section 2901, this is lower cost fee type for all 
categories in subsection 2904(c). A Partial carry-over application is used in a 
streamlined review process for those certification applications where there are limited 
changes made to their product application from the previous model year. The 
application approval process times are reduced because the applications are identical 
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to previously approved applications except for minor modifications set forth in the 
definition in section 2901. A reduced review time is required to ensure the current 
application is identical to the previously approved one in all other aspects. In 
comparison to the Carry-over application fee type, additional staff time is required to 
review the additional allowable changes. For example, the Partial carry-over 
application may include additional parts. Staff must ensure the new parts do not 
impact certification emission levels or durability requirements. On average, the staff 
analysis time for this process is roughly 50 percent of staff time required for Base Fee 
applications. Therefore, the fee for this fee type is discounted by 50 percent resulting 
in a fee that is 50 percent of the Base Fee. 

Subsection 2904(c)(4) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides the fee requirements for model year 2026 and subsequent 
model years by referencing section 2904(f). 

Rationale 
This subsection is necessary to inform applicants how fees for model year 2026 and 
subsequent model years are determined. Section 2904(f) contains the calculation to 
adjust the certification fee by the annual change in the California Consumer Price 
Index, as authorized by Health and Safety Code Section 43019. Because CPI is not 
calculated or published by the California Department of Industrial Relations until after 
the reference time period, it is not possible for CARB to calculate and publish the 
certification fees for model year 2026 and subsequent model years at this time. 
However, section 2904(f) does require the Executive Officer to publish the calculated 
fees annually, so that applicants will be informed of the applicable fees before they 
must be paid. 

This adjustment is needed to help ensure that the fees paid are as commensurate as 
possible with the costs of implementing the mobile source certification and 
compliance program. CARB agency costs to implement certification and compliance 
activities have increased and are expected to continue to increase at rate that 
outpaces the California Consumer Price Index. Therefore, while including the CPI 
adjustment is not expected to be sufficient to cover increases in the cost to implement 
all program activities, CARB is including this provision as authorized by statute to 
offset at least a portion of increased agency costs. 

The methodology in section 2904(f) is nearly identical to the existing CPI adjustment 
regulation for on-road mobile source certification fees found in Title 13, Division 3, 
Chapter 1, Article 2.5, section 1991. See subsection 2904(f) below for specific 
changes. 
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Subsection 2904(d)(1) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides the certification fee for model years 2023, 2024, and 2025 for 
On-road heavy-duty exempt engines. 

Rationale 
These are applications for approval of a single vehicle and engine to be sold and used 
in California. The applications must meet specific requirements for approval of an 
exemption from meeting the current heavy-duty engine emission standards. Since 
these approvals are issued for an individual vehicle, staff estimated that each 
application would take one hour to evaluate. The fee is based on an engineering 
classification cost, is not phased in, and applications are based on model year 
applications. 

Subsection 2904(d)(2) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides the fee requirements for model year 2026 and subsequent 
model years by referencing section 2904(f). 

Rationale 
This subsection is necessary to inform applicants how fees for model year 2026 and 
subsequent model years are determined. Section 2904(f) contains the calculation to 
adjust the certification fee by the annual change in the California Consumer Price 
Index, as authorized by Health and Safety Code Section 43019. Because CPI is not 
calculated or published by the California Department of Industrial Relations until after 
the reference time period, it is not possible for CARB to calculate and publish the 
certification fees for model year 2026 and subsequent model years at this time. 
However, section 2904(f) does require the Executive Officer to publish the calculated 
fees annually, so that applicants will be informed of the applicable fees before they 
must be paid. 

This adjustment is needed to help ensure that the fees paid are as commensurate as 
possible with the costs of implementing the mobile source certification and 
compliance program. CARB agency costs to implement certification and compliance 
activities have increased and are expected to continue to increase at rate that 
outpaces the California Consumer Price Index. Therefore, while including the CPI 
adjustment is not expected to be sufficient to cover increases in the cost to implement 
all program activities, CARB is including this provision as authorized by statute to 
offset at least a portion of increased agency costs. 

The methodology in section 2904(f) is nearly identical to the existing CPI adjustment 
regulation for on-road mobile source certification fees found in Title 13, Division 3, 
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Chapter 1, Article 2.5, section 1991. See subsection 2904(f) below for specific 
changes. 

Subsection 2904(e)(1) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides the certification fee for 2022, 2023, and 2024 calendar year 
applications for Zero-emission powertrain families, Aerodynamic technologies, and 
Fuel-fired heaters. 

Rationale 
Zero-Emission Powertrain Families 
The zero-emission powertrain family is a new certification category recently created 
through a new certification regulation. The requirement starts in 2021. Zero-Emission 
powertrain family applications focus on a vehicle model to power, not model year 
engine, therefore fees are based on a manufacturer’s date of application (calendar 
year) submittal, not model year. No actual pre-existing data is available for this 
analysis, so CARB costs are based on estimated costs and the number of EOs to be 
issued from the regulatory development of the certification standards in “Standards 
and Test Procedures for New 2021 and Subsequent model Heavy-Duty Zero-Emission 
Powertrains” adopted in 2019. CARB assumes the number applications will be the 
same as the number of EOs to be issued and these numbers will remain consistent in 
future years. The fee development methodology can be found in Appendix B (Revised 
SRIA, Appendix B, page 130-134). The baseline cost to implement the certification and 
compliance program can be found in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix A, pages 
91 through 129), including a detailed breakdown of CARB’s included activities for 
certification and compliance, labor costs, operational costs, equipment costs, and 
facilities costs. These costs per category and the average cost per EO can be found in 
Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix A, Table Appn A-7, page 122).To support 
CARB’s zero-emission policy and to be in line with lower review required for zero-
emission technology applications, this fee was reduced by 75 percent of the average 
cost per application. This category does not have a phase in schedule. 

Aerodynamic Technologies 
This is a new program as the result of HD GHG Phase 2 adoption. Under this process, 
manufacturers submit an application in a particular calendar year and the approval will 
be available until regulation requirements change or is revised. Renewals are needed 
when trailer model year requirements change for model years 2020, 2024, and 2026. 
Manufacturers submit applications for approval of a component for usage on multiple 
trailer model years to be sold and used in California. The certification fee is based on 
date of submittal of the application (calendar year). The CARB costs and EO estimates 
are based on the regulatory cost estimates. CARB assumes the number applications 
will be the same as the number of EOs to be issued and these numbers will remain 
consistent in future years. The fee development methodology can be found in 
Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix B, page 130-134). The baseline cost to 
implement the certification and compliance program can be found in Appendix B 
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(Revised SRIA, Appendix A, pages 91 through 129), including a detailed breakdown of 
CARB’s included activities for certification and compliance, labor costs, operational 
costs, equipment costs, and facilities costs. These costs per category and the average 
cost per EO can be found in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix A, Table Appn A-7, 
page 122).For 2022 calendar year application submittals, the fees are 50 percent of 
the 2024 Base Fee; for 2023 calendar year application submittals, the fees are 75 
percent of the 2024 Base Fee; and for 2024 application submittals, the full Base Fee 
would apply. 

Fuel-fired Heaters 
Manufacturers submit applications on a calendar year basis for approval on multiple 
model year vehicles or engines. They are reviewed and approved for use according to 
the certification requirements for Fuel-Fired Heaters and the certification fee is based 
on the date of submittal of the application (calendar year). Since these approvals are 
infrequent, staff used an average hourly rate based on an engineering classification 
cost and estimated that each application takes three hours to evaluate and issue an 
approval. This category does not have a phase in schedule. 

Subsection 2904(e)(2) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides the fee requirements for calendar year 2025 and subsequent 
calendar year applications. For the Aerodynamic technologies and Fuel-fired heaters 
categories, the fees for calendar year 2025 and subsequent calendar year applications 
are the same as for calendar year 2024. For the Zero-emission powertrain family 
category, fees in calendar year 2025 and subsequent calendar years is provided by 
referencing section 2904(f). 

Rationale 
This subsection is necessary to inform applicants how fees for calendar year 2025 and 
subsequent calendar years are determined. Health and Safety Code Section 43019 
allows for the annual adjustment of fees based on CPI for motor vehicles and engines. 
Fuel-fired heaters and Aerodynamic technologies are components, therefore these 
categories are not subject to the annual CPI adjustments. The Zero-emission 
powertrain family category does meet this definition, and therefore is subject to 
annual CPI adjustments, as contained in section 2904(f). 

Section 2904(f) contains the calculation to adjust the certification fee by the annual 
change in the California Consumer Price Index, as authorized by Health and Safety 
Code Section 43019. Because CPI is not calculated or published by the California 
Department of Industrial Relations until after the reference time period, it is not 
possible for CARB to calculate and publish the certification fees for model year 2026 
and subsequent model years at this time. However, section 2904(f) does require the 
Executive Officer to publish the calculated fees annually, so that applicants will be 
informed of the applicable fees before they must be paid. 

40 



 

 

  
   

 
 

 
   

    

    
  

    
 

  

 
 

  

 
 

 
  

   
   

 
    

    
   

   
  

   
  

   

 
   

 
 

  
  

 

This adjustment is needed to help ensure that the fees paid are as commensurate as 
possible with the costs of implementing the mobile source certification and 
compliance program. CARB agency costs to implement certification and compliance 
activities have increased and are expected to continue to increase at rate that 
outpaces the California Consumer Price Index. Therefore, while including the CPI 
adjustment is not expected to be sufficient to cover increases in the cost to implement 
all program activities, CARB is including this provision as authorized by statute to 
offset at least a portion of increased agency costs. 

The methodology in section 2904(f) is nearly identical to the existing CPI adjustment 
regulation for on-road mobile source certification fees found in Title 13, Division 3, 
Chapter 1, Article 2.5, section 1991. See subsection 2904(f) below for specific 
changes. 

Subsection 2904(f) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides the methodology to calculate CPI fee adjustments for 
sections 2904(a) through 2904(e). 

Rationale 
This subsection is necessary to inform applicants how fees starting with model year 
2026 and calendar year 2025 are determined, as applicable. Health and Safety Code 
Section 43019 allows for the annual adjustment of fees based on the annual change in 
the California Consumer Price Index. This section provides the methodology to 
calculate the adjusted certification fee starting with the 2026 model year for the on-
road categories included in subsections (a) through (d) and starting with the 2025 
calendar year for the on-road categories included in subsection (e). This adjustment is 
needed to help ensure that the fees paid are as commensurate as possible with the 
costs of implementing the mobile source certification and compliance program. CARB 
agency costs to implement certification and compliance activities have increased and 
are expected to continue to increase at rate that outpaces the California Consumer 
Price Index. Therefore, while including the CPI adjustment is not expected to be 
sufficient to cover increases in the cost to implement all program activities, CARB is 
including this provision as authorized by statute to offset at least a portion of 
increased agency costs. 

The included methodology is nearly identical to the existing CPI adjustment regulation 
for on-road mobile source certification fees found in Title 13, Division 3, Chapter 1, 
Article 2.5, section 1991. The proposed regulation no longer includes the $4.5 million 
reference for fees to be collected in fiscal year 1989-90 because the amendments to 
HSC 43019 from SB 85 removed this dollar amount. Further, since fees are no longer 
collected by fiscal year in the proposed regulation, all mentions of fiscal year have 
been updated to model year or calendar year, as applicable. The proposed regulation 
also uses the published CPI from the prior year and two calendar years prior to the 
state of the current model year or calendar year—this change is necessary because the 
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proposed regulation requires payment of certification fees at application, instead of 
the retrospective process in the existing regulation based on prior year mobile source 
production reports. Therefore, more lead time is necessary to be able to calculate and 
publish the calculated fees at the beginning of the applicable calendar year or model 
year. Section 2904(f) requires the Executive Officer to publish the calculated fees 
annually, so that applicants will be informed of the applicable fees before they must 
be paid. The proposed regulation also more specifically identifies the California 
Consumer Price Index for all items and all consumers as determined pursuant to 
Revenue and Taxation Code Section 2212 is to be used in this calculation. This more 
accurately matches the Revenue and Taxation Code section cited. 

5. Adopt Article 3. Certification Fees for Off-Road Mobile Sources 

Article 3 houses the certification fees for off-road mobile sources. These fees are 
authorized by HSC 43019.1 which was approved by the Legislature through AB 854 in 
2018. A phase in schedule is proposed for certain fees to reduce the initial cost 
burden to manufacturers. There are no certification and compliance fees that currently 
apply to these sources. 

Reduced cost fees are discussed in each applicable section rationale. For example, 
fees for less complicated applications, such as next carry-over applications, are 
provided a discounted rate. This was determined based on the amount of reduction in 
staff time to complete the process. In addition, CARB developed a special fee to 
support California’s zero-emission technology goals. 

The following outlines the new regulatory language purpose and rationale for 
Article 3. The new fee regulations will be housed in Section 2905 and Section 2906. 

Section 2905. Definitions. 

Purpose 
This section contains definitions that apply to Article 3, including: “Large spark-ignition 
(LSI) engine family,” “Large spark-ignition (LSI) evaporative family,” “Low California 
production manufacturer,” “Off-road compression-ignition (ORCI) engine family,” 
“Off-highway recreational vehicle (OHRV) engine family,” “Off-road compression-
ignition (ORCI) engine family,” “Small off-road engine (SORE) family,” “Small off-road 
engine (SORE) evaporative family,” “Spark-ignition marine engine (SIME) family,” 
“Spark-ignition marine watercraft (SIMW) evaporative family,” and “Zero-emission golf 
cart”. 

Rationale 
The section is needed to define the terms incorporated into the provisions of this 
Article 3. The following terms are required to define each of the fee categories: 

“Large spark-ignition (LSI) engine family”- It is necessary to add this definition, 
because the term is used in Article 3. The definition references and is consistent with 
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the existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define 
the mobile source certification fee category. 

“Large spark-ignition (LSI) evaporative family”- It is necessary to add this definition, 
because the term is used in Article 3. The definition references and is consistent with 
the existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define 
the mobile source certification fee category. 

“Low California production manufacturer” - It is necessary to add this definition, 
because the term is used in Article 3. “Low California production manufacturer” fee 
criteria is based on the end of the model year production for California sale number 
reporting requirement currently in existing regulations. A new company or 
manufacturer submitting an application with a new engine family name for the “Low 
California production manufacturer” fee type, may not have this information available 
because there is no reporting history. In this situation, manufacturers can use 
projected production for California sale numbers for the model year of the product 
application to determine fee criteria. Subsection 2902(a)(5) states if the end of the 
model year reported production for that model year application exceeds the criteria in 
the definition for a “Low California production manufacturer” fee, the Executive 
Officer will bill the applicant for the difference between the fee paid and the 
applicable fee. For the “Low California production manufacturer” fee type, projected 
sales can be used in the three year average, but the average will be adjusted based on 
the actual reported model year sales for the application submitted. If three years of 
actual reported sales numbers are available, projected production of California sales 
cannot be used. The production caps included in the definition represent a balance 
of providing this reduced cost fee type to manufacturers with the goals of the 
proposed regulation. 

“Off-highway recreational vehicle (OHRV) engine family”- It is necessary to add this 
definition, because the term is used in Article 3. The definition references and is 
consistent with the existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to 
clearly define the mobile source certification fee category. 

“Off-road compression-ignition (ORCI) engine family”- It is necessary to add this 
definition, because the term is used in Article 3. The definition references and is 
consistent with the existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to 
clearly define the mobile source certification fee category. 

“Small off-road engine (SORE) family”- It is necessary to add this definition, because 
the term is used in Article 3. The definition references and is consistent with the 
existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the 
mobile source certification fee category. 

“Small off-road engine (SORE) evaporative family”- It is necessary to add this 
definition, because the term is used in Article 3. The definition references and is 
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consistent with the existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to 
clearly define the mobile source certification fee category. 

“Spark-ignition marine engine (SIME) family”- It is necessary to add this definition, 
because the term is used in Article 3. The definition references and is consistent with 
the existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define 
the mobile source certification fee category. 

“Spark-ignition marine watercraft (SIMW) evaporative family”- It is necessary to add 
this definition, because the term is used in Article 3. The definition references and is 
consistent with the existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to 
clearly define the mobile source certification fee category. 

“Zero-emission golf cart”- It is necessary to add this definition, because the term is 
used in Article 3. The definition references and is consistent with the existing 
regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile 
source certification fee category. 

Section 2906. Certification Fees for Off-Road Mobile Sources. 

Purpose 
This section provides the proposed Base Fee and discounted fees for which an 
applicant is required to pay for each category identified under Article 3 when 
submitting an application to obtain approval to sell an engine, vehicle, or equipment 
in California as listed in Table IV-B-2 

Table IV-B-2:  Off-Road Fee Categories 

LSI engine family 

LSI evaporative family 

OHRV engine family 

ORCI engine family 

SORE family 

SORE evaporative family 

SIME family 

SIMW evaporative family 

Zero-emission golf cart 
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Rationale 
The section provides the specific fees by category for applications for model years 
2023, 2024, 2025 and subsequent years. Specific fee rationale is discussed in the 
following subsections. 

Subsection 2906(a) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides a table of the certification fees for model year 2023 Off-Road 
Mobile Sources. 

Rationale 
The Base Fee, Low California Production Manufacturer, and Partial carry-over fee 
types are phased-in for model year 2023 and model year 2024 applications to reduce 
the initial cost burden and to be responsive to business impacts on manufacturers. The 
phase-in allows for a stepped increase in fees requested by manufacturers. For model 
year 2023, the fees are 50 percent of the model year 2025 Base Fee, Low California 
Production Manufacturer, and Partial carry-over fees discussed in subsection 2906(c). 

Subsection 2906(b) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides a table of the certification fees for model year 2024 Off-Road 
Mobile Sources. 

Rationale 
The Base Fee, Low California Production Manufacturer, and Partial carry-over fee 
types are phased-in for model year 2023 and model year 2024 applications to reduce 
the initial cost burden and to be responsive to business impacts on manufacturers. The 
phase-in allows for a stepped increase in fees requested by manufacturers. For model 
year 2024, the fees are 75 percent of the model year 2025 Base Fee, Low California 
Production Manufacturer, and Partial carry-over fees discussed in subsection 2906(c). 

Subsection 2906(c) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides a table of the certification fees for model year 2025 and 
subsequent model years Off-Road Mobile Sources. 

Rationale 
The certification fees for these categories are based on the model year application 
requirements. Production is limited to a model year in the regulatory requirements for 
each category, cited in the definition of each category. As a result, each product must 
be annually renewed for the next model year of production. In any given calendar 
year, manufacturers could submit applications for multiple model years; therefore, to 
simplify the implementation of the regulations, these fees are on engine, equipment, 
or vehicle model year basis, not calendar year date of application submittal. As part of 
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the methodology of calculating the amount of the certification fees in this table, CARB 
estimated the number applications will be the same as the number of EOs to be issued 
and these numbers will remain consistent in future years. The Base Fee application 
fees in section 2906 are the average cost per application or EO. The fee development 
methodology can be found in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix B, page 130-134). 
The baseline cost to implement the certification and compliance program can be 
found in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix A, pages 91 through 129), including a 
detailed breakdown of CARB’s included activities for certification and compliance, 
labor costs, operational costs, equipment costs, and facilities costs. These costs per 
category and the average cost per EO can be found in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, 
Appendix A, Table Appn A-9, page 124). The Base fee and reduced fee types are 
listed in the tables in subsections 2906(a) through subsection 2906(c) for each model 
year and category. 

Four reduced fee types, Carry-over, Low California production manufacturer, Partial 
carry-over, and Zero-emission , are available for Off-road mobile source categories. 
The rational for each reduced fee type is as follows: 

“Carry-over” as defined in section 2901 for the criteria that must be met for this 
reduced cost fee type for all categories in Article 3, except “Zero-emission golf cart.” 
“Zero-emission golf cart” applications as discussed below are already a discounted fee 
type, therefore this fee type was not provided for “Zero-emission golf cart” 
applications. A Carry-over application is used in a streamlined review process for those 
certification applications where there are very limited changes made to the product 
application from the previous model year. The application approval process times are 
reduced because the applications are identical to previously approved applications 
that were fully reviewed except for minor modifications set forth in the definition in 
section 2901. A reduced review time is adequate to ensure the current application is 
identical to the previously approved one in all other respects. On average, the staff 
analysis time for this process is roughly 25 percent of staff time required for Base Fee 
applications. Therefore, the fee for this category is discounted by 75 percent resulting 
in a fee that is 25 percent of the Base Fee. 

“Low California production manufacturer” is a reduced cost fee type for all categories 
in section 2906, except for “ORCI engine family,” SORE family,” “SORE evaporative 
family,” and “Zero-emission golf cart.” “ORCI engine family,” “SORE family,” and 
“SORE evaporative family” manufacturers did not provide a business need for this 
discount, therefore this fee type was not provided for these application categories. 
“Zero-emission golf cart” applications as discussed below are already a discounted fee 
type, therefore this fee type was not provided for “Zero-emission golf cart” 
applications. The “Low California production manufacturer” fee type is a lower cost 
fee for manufacturers that produce small volumes for sale in California. The criteria for 
determining low production is based on criteria used for similar flexibility provided for 
product approval in the certification regulation for each category. The production 
limits shall be based on the average number of applicable products produced for sale 
in California for the three previous consecutive model years for which a manufacturer 
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seeks certification as a low California production manufacturer. This discount takes 
into consideration the cost burden and business impacts to low California production 
manufacturers, which include small business. The proposed regulation would provide a 
25 percent discount for this fee type, resulting in a fee that is 75 percent of the Base 
Fee. 

“Zero-emission” as defined in section 2901 is a lower cost fee type for the categories: 
OHRV emission family, SORE family, and Zero-emission golf carts. Zero-emission LSI 
and ORCI engine families are not required to obtain certification under existing 
regulations, therefore the fee type is not needed. All evaporative family applications 
do not have combustion emission requirements therefore evaporative family 
applications do not require this fee type. Zero-emission vehicles have fewer 
requirements, are easier to review, and take less processing time. Additionally, the 
discount for this category was provided to support the introduction of zero-emission 
products. This fee type is available for products that meet the zero-emission definition 
and are reduced by 75 percent of the base fee, resulting in a fee that is 25 percent of 
the base fee for the category. 

6. Adopt Article 4. Certification Fees for Evaporative Components 

Article 4 houses the certification fees for evaporative component mobile sources. The 
following outlines the new regulatory language purpose and rationale for Article 4. 
These fees are authorized by HSC 43019.1 which was approved by the Legislature 
through AB 854 in 2018. 

Reduced cost fees are discussed in each applicable section rationale below. For 
example, fees for less complicated applications, such as a renewal with no changes to 
the components, are provided a discounted rate which was determined based on the 
amount of, or reduction, in staff time to complete the certification process. 

The following outlines the new regulatory language, purpose, and rationale for 
Article 4. 

There are no certification and compliance fees that currently apply to these sources. 
The new fee regulations will be housed in Section 2907 and Section 2908. 

Section 2907. Definitions. 

Purpose 
This section contains definitions that apply to Article 4, including: “Administrative 
change,” “Model change,” “No change renewal,” “Off-highway recreational vehicle 
(OHRV) evaporative emission control system component,” “Portable container 
product family,” “Small off-road engine (SORE) evaporative emission control system 
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component,” and “Spark-ignition marine watercraft evaporative emission control 
system component.” 

Rationale 
This section is needed to create the following definitions that shall govern the 
provisions of Article 4. The following terms are required to define each of the fee 
categories: 

“Administrative change” - It is necessary to add this definition, because the term is 
used in Article 4. The term is used to describe the criteria associated with this lower 
cost certification fee type in this article of the proposed regulation. These applications 
must be identical to previously approved product applications with minor changes due 
to manufacturer name, component name, component labeling, or manufacturer 
contact information. 

“Model change” - It is necessary to add this definition, because the term is used in 
Article 4. The term is used to describe the criteria associated with this lower cost 
certification fee type in this article of the proposed regulation. These applications must 
be identical to previously approved product applications except for additional 
components or component systems. 

“No change renewal” - It is necessary to add this definition, because the term is used 
in Article 4. The term is used to describe the criteria associated with this lower cost 
certification fee type in this article of the proposed regulation. These applications must 
be identical to previously approved product applications except for a new certification 
period. 

“Off-highway recreational vehicle (OHRV) evaporative emission control system 
component” - It is necessary to add this definition, because the term is used in Article 
4. The definition references and is consistent with the existing regulatory certification 
requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile source certification fee 
category. 

“Portable container product family” - It is necessary to add this definition, because the 
term is used in Article 4. The definition references and is consistent with the existing 
regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile 
source certification fee category. 

“Small off-road engine (SORE) evaporative emission control system component” - It is 
necessary to add this definition, because the term is used in Article 4. The definition 
references and is consistent with the existing regulatory certification requirements, 
and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile source certification fee category. 

“Spark ignition marine watercraft evaporative emission control system component” - It 
is necessary to add this definition, because the term is used in Article 4. The definition 
references and is consistent with the existing regulatory certification requirements, 
and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile source certification fee category. 
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Section 2908. Certification Fees for Evaporative Components. 

Purpose  
This section provides the base fee and discounted fees for which an applicant is 
required to pay for each category identified under Article 4 for the submission of an 
application to obtain authority to sell evaporative components as listed in Table IV-B-3 

Table IV-B-3:  Evaporative Component Fee Categories 

OHRV evaporative emission control system component 

Portable container product family 

SORE evaporative emission control system component 

Spark-ignition marine watercraft evaporative emission control system 
component 

Rationale 
The section provides the specific fees by category for applications received in calendar 
years 2022, 2023, 2024 and subsequent years as applicable. Specific fee rationale is 
discussed in the following subsections. 

Subsection 2908(a) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides the certification fees for calendar year 2022 for Evaporative 
Components. 

Rationale 
The Base Fee is phased-in for calendar year 2022 through 2024 applications to reduce 
the initial cost burden and to be responsive to business impacts on manufacturers. The 
phase-in allows for a stepped increase in fees requested by manufacturers. For 
calendar year 2022, the fees are 50 percent of the calendar year 2024 Base Fee 
discussed in subsection 2908(c). 

Subsection 2908(b) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides the certification fees for calendar year 2023 for Evaporative 
Components. 

Rationale 
The Base Fee is phased-in for calendar years 2022 and 2023 applications to reduce the 
initial cost burden and to be responsive to business impacts on manufacturers. The 
phase-in allows for a stepped increase in fees requested by manufacturers. For 
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calendar year 2023, the fees are 75 percent of the calendar year 2024 Base Fee 
discussed in subsection 2908(c). 

Subsection 2908(c) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides the certification fees for calendar years 2024 and subsequent 
years for Evaporative Components. 

Rationale 
For OHRV evaporative emission control system components, SORE evaporative 
emission control system components, Spark-ignition marine watercraft evaporative 
emission control system components, and Portable fuel containers, manufacturers 
submit applications for approval of a component on multiple model year engines or 
vehicles. Under this process, manufacturers submit an application in a particular 
calendar year and the approval is valid until it expires or is revised. They are reviewed 
and approved for use according to the regulatory requirements for the component 
category and the application fee is based on the date of submittal of the application 
(calendar year). The EOs for SORE components and portable fuel containers expire 
after four years. OHRV and marine watercraft components EOs expire when the 
emission standards change. CARB assumes the number applications will be the same 
as the number of EOs to be issued and these numbers will remain consistent in future 
years. The Base Fee applications in section 2908 is the average cost per application or 
EO. The methodology to develop these values can be found in Appendix B (Revised 
SRIA, Appendix A, pages 91 through 129) and the average cost can be found in 
Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix A, Table Appn A-11, page 125). The fee 
development methodology can be found in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix B, 
page 130-134). The Base fee and reduced fee types are listed in the tables in 
subsections 2908(a) through subsection 2908(c) for each calendar year and category. 

Three reduced fee types, Administrative change, Model change, and No change 
renewal are available within all Evaporative Component categories and are listed in 
the tables for each year and category. The rational for each reduced fee type is as 
follows: 

“Administrative change” is a lower cost fee type for applications where there are 
limited changes made to the manufacturer’s previously approved application. The 
application approval process times are reduced because the applications are identical 
to previously approved applications except for minor administrative modifications 
Examples of administrative changes include: company name change, component 
name change, and change to component labeling. A review time is required to ensure 
the current application is identical to the previously approved one in all other respects. 
On average, the staff analysis time for this process is roughly 25 percent of staff time 
required for Base Fee applications. Therefore the fee for this category is discounted 
by 75 percent, resulting in a fee that is 25 percent of the Base Fee. 
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“Model change” is a lower cost fee type for applications where there are limited 
changes made to the manufacturer’s previously approved application. The application 
approval process times are reduced because the applications are identical to 
previously approved applications except for model year where model year changes do 
not affect the component’s ability to control evaporative emissions. A review time is 
required to ensure the current application is identical to the previously approved one 
in all other respects. On average, the staff analysis time for this process is roughly 25 
percent of staff time required for Base Fee applications. Therefore the fee for this 
category is discounted by 75 percent, resulting in a fee that is 25 percent of the Base 
Fee. 

“No change renewal” is a lower cost fee type for applications where there are no 
changes made to the manufacturer’s previously approved application. Portable fuel 
container and small off-road engine evaporative component EOs expire after four 
years. Renewals that qualify for this fee category have a reduction in staff time to 
complete the process. The application approval process times are reduced because 
the applications are identical to previously approved applications. A review time is 
required to ensure the current application is identical to the previously approved one 
in all other respects. On average, the staff analysis time for this process is roughly 25 
percent of staff time required for Base Fee applications. Therefore the fee for this 
category is discounted by 75 percent, resulting in a fee that is 25 percent of the Base 
Fee. 

7. Adopt Article 5. Certification Fees for Aftermarket Parts 

Article 5 houses the certification fees for aftermarket part mobile sources. The 
following outlines the new regulatory language purpose and rationale for Article 5. 
These fees are authorized by HSC 43019.1 which was approved by the Legislature 
through AB 854 in 2018. Aftermarket Parts certification analyses are different than the 
previous Articles because these product approvals are exemptions from the California 
Anti-Tampering Law. Manufacturers must demonstrate that its product does 
not reduce the effectiveness of the emissions control system of a vehicle or engine as 
originally certified. Article 5, Aftermarket Parts, contains three different groups of 
aftermarket parts: experimental Permits, alternative fuel retrofit systems, and the five 
aftermarket part categories. 
The following outlines the new regulatory language, purpose, and rationale for 
Article 5. 

There are no certification and compliance fees that currently apply to these sources. 
The new fee regulations will be housed in Section 2909 and Section 2910. 

Section 2909. Definitions. 

Purpose 
This section contains definitions that apply to Article 5, including: “Aftermarket 
catalytic converter,” “Aftermarket catalytic converter reduced cost application,” 
“Aftermarket critical emission control part,” “Aftermarket diesel particulate filter,” 
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“Aftermarket fuel tank,” “Aftermarket part,” “Aftermarket part – general,” 
“Alternative fuel retrofit system,” “Alternative fuel retrofit system extension,” 
“Category I,” “Category VIII,” “Experimental permit,” “Motorcycle critical emission 
control part”. 

Rationale 
The section is needed to define the definitions that shall govern the provisions of this 
Article 5. The following definitions are required to define the fee categories: 

“Aftermarket catalytic converter” - It is necessary to add this definition, because the 
term is used in Article 5. The definition references and is consistent with the existing 
regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile 
source certification fee category. 

“Aftermarket catalytic converter reduced cost application” - It is necessary to add this 
definition, because the term is used in Article 5. The term is used to describe the 
criteria associated with this lower cost certification fee type in this article of the 
proposed regulation. 

“Aftermarket diesel particulate filter” - It is necessary to add this definition, because 
the term is used in Article 5. The definition references and is consistent with the 
existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the 
mobile source certification fee category. 

“Aftermarket fuel tank” - It is necessary to add this definition, because the term is 
used in Article 5. The definition references and is consistent with the existing 
regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile 
source certification fee category. 

“Aftermarket part” - It is necessary to add this definition, because the term is used in 
Article 5 definition of “Aftermarket part – general.” 

“Aftermarket part – general” - It is necessary to add this definition, because the term 
is used in Article 5. The definition references and is consistent with the existing 
regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile 
source certification fee category. 

“Alternative fuel retrofit system” - It is necessary to add this definition, because the 
term is used in Article 5. The definition references and is consistent with the existing 
regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile 
source certification fee category. 

“Alternative fuel retrofit system extension” - It is necessary to add this definition, 
because the term is used in Article 5. The definition references and is consistent with 
the existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define 
the mobile source certification fee category. 
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“Category I” - It is necessary to add this definition, because the term is used in Article 
5. The term is used to describe the criteria associated with this lower cost certification 
fee type in this article of the proposed regulation. The definition references and is 
consistent with the existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to 
clearly define the mobile source certification fee type. 

“Category VIII” - It is necessary to add this definition, because the term is used in 
Article 5. The term is used to describe the criteria associated with this lower cost 
certification fee type in this article of the proposed regulation. The definition 
references and is consistent with the existing regulatory certification requirements, 
and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile source certification fee type. 

“Experimental permit” - It is necessary to add this definition, because the term is used 
in Article 5. The definition references and is consistent with the existing statutory 
requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile source certification fee 
category. 

“Motorcycle critical emission control part” - It is necessary to add this definition, 
because the term is used in Article 5. The definition references and is consistent with 
the existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define 
the mobile source certification fee category. 

Section 2910. Certification Fees for Aftermarket Parts. 

Purpose  
This section provides the Base fee and discounted fee types for which an applicant is 
required to pay for the submission of an application to obtain an exemption to sell 
aftermarket parts. Each category identified under Article 4 is listed in Table IV-B-4 

Table IV-B-4:  Aftermarket Part Fee Categories 

Aftermarket catalytic converter 

Aftermarket diesel particulate filter 

Aftermarket fuel tank 

Aftermarket part – general 

Alternative fuel retrofit system 

Alternative fuel retrofit system extension 

Experimental permit 

Motorcycle critical emission control part 
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Rationale 
The aftermarket part industry is unique compared to the other categories for which 
CARB issues certification EOs. Aftermarket part EOs exempt aftermarket parts from 
statutory anti-tampering requirements on the basis that the installation of the 
aftermarket part does not have an adverse effect on emissions or the proper operation 
of emission control components. Many applicants in the industry are small businesses, 
the product markets can be highly competitive, and the retail value of the parts can be 
relatively low compared to new vehicle or engine costs, leaving little profit margin. 
Many applications do not result in CARB approval, resulting in no EOs being issued. 
These factors, and all other factors in Health and Safety Code section 43019.1 were 
balanced in determining the base fee for each category. The total cost for Aftermarket 
part certification and compliance activities can be found in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, 
Appendix A, Table Appn A-13, page 127). The fee development methodology can be 
found in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix B, page 130-134). Each aftermarket part 
category is discussed below. There is no phase in of the Base Fee for any category in 
this article. 

Experimental permits (“C” EO Series) 
Experimental permits provide a temporary exemption from the CA anti-tampering Law 
and allow industry to test and operate vehicles, engines, and equipment prior to 
showing compliance with emission control requirements and the issuance of a new 
vehicle or engine EO. They are comparatively routine and straightforward, therefore 
the base fee is based on two hours of average engineering staff time to process the 
exemption. 

Alternative fuel retrofit system & system extension (“B” EO Series) 
Alternative fuel retrofit conversions, or “retrofits”, are applicable to light-duty or 
heavy-duty vehicles and engines. They are kits used to convert exiting California 
certified gasoline or diesel vehicles to alternative fuel. There are two types of activities 
under this category: alternative fuel retrofit system extensions and alternative fuel 
retrofit system. This category fee structure was based on staff workload, and reduced 
cost fee types include zero-emission and small business. 

Alternative fuel retrofit system extensions. Manufacturers who submit applications to 
produce new alternative fuel vehicles or engines may also submit applications to apply 
the same components onto similar gasoline and diesel vehicles and engines already 
produced and owned by California consumers. These alternative fuel conversion 
retrofit extensions include any alternative fuel conversion retrofit that complies with 
the requirements in Title 13, section 2030, subsection (c) or Title 13, section 2031, 
subsection (c). When the applications for retrofit are submitted at the same time as the 
new vehicle or engine applications, CARB will review the applications together. 
Manufacturers will have to pay the new vehicle or engine fees, but no additional fees 
will be required for the retrofit application as long as both applications cover the same 
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scope of vehicles and engines, and hardware and software changes are the same. This 
category is identified as the alternative fuel conversion retrofit extension. 

Alternative fuel retrofit system. For other alternative fuel retrofit system applications 
submitted according to the requirements in Title 13, section 2030, subsection (c) or 
Title 13, section 2031, they will be identified as the alternative fuel retrofit system. The 
fee for this category is based on average number of EOs issued. The Base Fee is 
based on the average CARB cost per EO issued in 2018, adjusted for 2022 costs. The 
fee cost methodology can be found in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix A, 
pages 91 through 129) and the average cost can be found in Appendix B (Revised 
SRIA, Appendix A, Table Appn A-13, page 127). The Base fee and reduced fee types 
are listed in the table in section 2910. 

Three reduced fee types, Alternative fuel retrofit system extensions, Small business 
and Zero-Emission technology application are available within qualified alternative fuel 
system applications. The rational for each reduced fee type is as follows: 

“Alternative fuel retrofit system extensions,” as described above, when the 
applications for retrofit are submitted at the same time as the new vehicle or engine 
applications, CARB will review the applications together. Manufacturers will have to 
pay the new vehicle or engine fees, but no additional fees will be required for the 
retrofit application as long as both applications cover the same scope of vehicles and 
engines, and hardware and software changes are the same. 

“Small business” – This low cost fee is available to all small businesses that meet the 
criteria set forth in the definition in section 2901. As a result of comments received at 
workshops on the business impact of the proposed regulation, CARB is providing a 
twenty-five percent discount to reduce cost impacts for small businesses. The fee for 
the alternative fuel retrofit system category is 75 percent of the Base Fee. 

“Zero-emission technology application” as defined in section 2901, this is a lower cost 
category available for alternative fuel system applications in Article 5. Zero-emission 
technologies have fewer requirements, are easier to review, and take less processing 
time. Additionally, the discount for this category was provided to support the 
introduction of zero-emission products. This fee type is for products that meet this 
definition and are reduced by seventy-five percent of the Base Fee for the category. 

Aftermarket fuel tank, Aftermarket part - general, Aftermarket catalytic converter, 
Aftermarket diesel particulate filter, and Motorcycles critical emission control part 
(“D”, “F” and “K” EO Series) 
For these categories, manufacturers submit applications for approval of a component 
on multiple model year engines or vehicles. Under this process, manufacturers submit 
an application in a particular calendar year and the approval will be valid until it 
expires or is revised. The applications are reviewed and approved for use according to 
the requirements for the components and the certification fee is based on the date of 
submittal of the application (calendar year). 
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For the Aftermarket Parts program, the number of applications received were 25 to 50 
percent higher than the number of EOs issued. A manufacturer may submit an 
application for approval, and after the initial review and prescribed testing 
requirements presented by CARB, may not follow through with submittal of test 
results. Because CARB resources are still expended for applications that aren’t seen 
through to approval, the number of applications was used for determining average 
CARB costs. Stakeholders in the performance parts industry and Specialty Equipment 
Market Association (SEMA) were concerned about the resource needs of CARB to 
reduce the response time between the submission of an application and EO issuance. 
In response, DOF in July of 2018 approved additional resources for this program. For 
the 2022 CARB cost analysis, staff resource costs from the 2018/2019 budget change 
approval were added to the 2018 labor cost analysis. The fee cost methodology can 
be found in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix A, pages 91 through 129) and the 
average cost of the certification and compliance program for these categories can be 
found in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix A, Table Appn A-13, page 127). 

In 2020, CARB adopted “Procedures for Exemption of Add-On And Modified Part(s) 
for On-Road Vehicles/Engines” to address concerns from industry and SEMA to 
reduce the response time between the submission of an application and EO issuance. 
Staff estimated that the new procedures would result in a four times increase in the 
number of applications submitted. The staff resource analysis noted above did not 
reflect these modifications. Significant feedback was received from manufacturers and 
SEMA requesting adjustments in fees due to the increased number of applications 
required to be submitted. The proposed fees for Aftermarket part - general and 
Aftermarket fuel tank categories take into consideration the increased number of 
applications as the results of the 2020 aftermarket part rulemaking and have been 
adjusted downward. 

CARB worked closely with industry, Manufacturers of Emission Controls Association 
(MECA), Motorcycle Industry Council (MIC) and SEMA to evaluate the industry’s 
business models, product pricing, product price flexibility, and other factors to 
establish the proposed fees. Aftermarket parts - general, catalytic converters and 
motorcycle critical emission control parts fee categories were discounted from CARB’s 
average cost per application to reflect the business information received. The Base fee 
and reduced fee types are listed in the table in section 2910. 

Four reduced fee types, Aftermarket catalytic converter reduced cost application, 
Category I and Category VIII, Carry-over, and Small business are available for the 
categories of: Aftermarket fuel tank, Aftermarket part - general, Aftermarket catalytic 
converter, Aftermarket diesel particulate filter, and Motorcycles Critical Emission 
Control Parts, as applicable. The rational for each reduced fee type is as follows: 

“Aftermarket catalytic converter reduced cost application” – This is a lower cost fee 
for the Aftermarket catalytic converter category. No other fee categories in section 
2910 use this fee type because they are not subject to the same regulatory 
requirements. Aftermarket catalytic converter approval encompasses different 
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regulatory approaches than other aftermarket parts. Some of the activities that result 
in reduced staff workload include review of remarketing agreements, and vehicle 
model and model year additions. Remarketing agreements are agreements between 
an aftermarket catalytic converter manufacturer and another manufacturer that is 
allowed to sell or market the approved aftermarket catalytic converter under its brand 
name with new part numbers. Also, manufacturers may add vehicle models within the 
approved model year range and test groups included in the original approval, and add 
new part numbers for catalytic converters to include additional pipe diameter parts. 
On average, the staff analysis time for this process is roughly 25 percent of staff time 
required for Base Fee applications. Therefore, the fee for this category is discounted 
by 75 percent resulting in a fee that is 25 percent of the Base Fee. 

“Carry-over” as previously defined in section 2901 is the criteria that must be satisfied 
for a lower cost fee for the Motorcycle critical emission control part category. No 
other aftermarket part category uses this lower cost category because they have other 
lower cost fee types that are utilized in their respective categories that serve the same 
function. A Carry-over application is used for those certification applications where 
there are very limited changes made to the product application from the previous 
model year. The application approval process times are reduced because the 
applications are identical to previously approved applications that were fully reviewed 
except for minor modifications set forth in the definition in section 2901. A reduced 
review time is adequate to ensure the current application is identical to the previously 
approved one in all other respects. On average, the staff analysis time for this process 
is roughly 25 percent of staff time required for Base Fee applications. Therefore, the 
fee for this category is discounted by 75 percent resulting in a fee that is 25 percent of 
the Base Fee. 

“Category I and Category VIII” – This is a lower cost fee for the Aftermarket fuel tank 
and Aftermarket part – general categories. No other fee category in section 2910 use 
this fee type because they are not subject to the same aftermarket part approval 
procedures. CARB worked closely with industry and SEMA to evaluate these factors 
which were included in the development of the fees. Staff worked with industry to 
establish a fee recognizing the impact on the industry’s business models and the sales 
revenue of their product. The Category I and Category VIII applications are 
administrative, take less staff review effort, or require minimal testing, if at all, 
therefore fees are reduced to reflect the level of CARB effort. For Aftermarket fuel 
tank and Aftermarket part - general categories, CARB established a minimum fee of 
$500 per application for Category I and Category VIII applications. 

“Small business” - This is a lower cost fee for all categories in section 2910, except 
experimental permits. Experimental permit fees are routine and straightforward, 
therefore the fee is based on two hours of average engineering staff time to process 
the exemption. A small business fee type is not needed. For Aftermarket fuel tank, 
Aftermarket part - general, Aftermarket catalytic converter, and Motorcycle Critical 
Emission Control Parts, CARB worked closely with industry, MECA, MIC and SEMA to 
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evaluate these factors which were included in the development of the fees. Staff is 
proposing a fee recognizing the impact the fees may have on the industry’s business 
models and the sales cost of their product. As a result of comments received at 
workshops on the business impact of the proposed regulation, CARB established a fee 
50 percent of the base fee per application for small business applicants meeting the 
criteria set forth in the definition in section 2901. 

8. Adopt Article 6. Certification Fees for Diesel Emission Control 
Strategy Verifications and Approvals 

Article 6 houses the certification fees for Diesel Emission Control Strategy Verifications 
and Approvals. The following outlines the new regulatory language purpose and 
rationale for Article 6. These fees are authorized by HSC 43019.1 which was approved 
by the Legislature through AB 854 in 2018. The Diesel Emission Control Strategy 
(DECS or Retrofit) program is a mature program that was developed in the early 2000s 
to address emissions from existing (or in-use) engines. Retrofits are aftermarket parts 
but also are approved to reduce nitrogen oxides and diesel particulate matter 
emissions. Many in-use regulations require the use of these products to retrofit 
engines. Several of the in-use regulations have or will soon be fully implemented; 
however, some programs are expected to require continued retrofits into the future, 
or increased sales of retrofits, such as on marine engines to support planned 
amendments to the Commercial Harbor Craft Regulation. Overall, sales and activity is 
expected to decline, and CARB staffing on the program will track demand. 

There are no certification and compliance fees that currently apply to these sources. 
The new fee regulations will be housed in Section 2911 and Section 2012. 

Section 2911. Definitions. 

Purpose 
This section contains definitions that apply to Article 6, including: “Diesel emission 
control strategy verification – locomotive,” “Diesel emission control strategy 
verification – other than locomotive,” “Emission control group (ECG),” “Executive 
Order fee for New Verifications or Major Modification,” “Final application fee for new 
verifications or major modification,” “In-use compliance emissions testing fee,” “In-
use compliance field testing fee,” “Locomotive initial application fee,” “Locomotive 
final verification letter fee,” “Major modification,” “Minor modification,” “Minor 
modification fee,” ”New verification,” “Preliminary application fee for new verifications 
or major modification” and “Small business.” 

Rationale 
This section is needed to define the definitions that shall govern the provisions of this 
Article 6. The following definitions are required to define the fee categories: 

“Diesel emission control strategy verification – locomotive” - It is necessary to add this 
definition, because the term is used in Article 6. The definition references and is 
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consistent with the existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to 
clearly define the mobile source certification fee category. 

“Diesel emission control strategy verification – other than locomotive” - It is necessary 
to add this definition, because the term is used in Article 6. The definition references 
and is consistent with the existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is 
necessary to clearly define the mobile source certification fee category. 

“Emission control group (ECG)” - It is necessary to add this definition, because the 
term is used in Article 6. The definition references and is consistent with the existing 
regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile 
source certification fee category. 

“Executive Order fee for New Verifications or Major Modification” - It is necessary to 
add this definition, because the term is used in Article 6. The term is used to describe 
the criteria associated with this certification category in this article of the proposed 
regulation. 

“Final application fee for new verifications or major modification” - It is necessary 
to add this definition, because the term is used in Article 6. The definition references 
and is consistent with the existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is 
necessary to clearly define the mobile source certification fee category. 

“In-use compliance emissions testing fee” - It is necessary to add this definition, 
because the term is used in Article 6. The definition references and is consistent with 
the existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define 
the mobile source certification fee category. 

“In-use compliance field testing fee” - It is necessary to add this definition, because 
the term is used in Article 6. The definition references and is consistent with the 
existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the 
mobile source certification fee category. 

“Locomotive initial application fee” - It is necessary to add this definition, because the 
term is used in Article 6. The definition references and is consistent with the existing 
regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile 
source certification fee category. 

“Locomotive final verification letter fee” - It is necessary to add this definition, 
because the term is used in Article 6. The term is used to describe the criteria 
associated with this certification category in this article of the proposed regulation. 

“Major modification” - It is necessary to add this definition, because the term is used 
in Article 6. The definition references and is consistent with the existing regulatory 
certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile source 
certification fee category. 
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“Minor modification” - It is necessary to add this definition, because the term is used 
in Article 6. The definition references and is consistent with the existing regulatory 
certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile source 
certification fee category. 

“Minor Modification Fee” - It is necessary to add this definition, because the term is 
used in Article 6. The definition references and is consistent with the existing 
regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile 
source certification fee category. 

“New Verification” – It is necessary to add this definition, because the term is used in 
Article 6. The definition references and is consistent with the existing regulatory 
certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile source 
certification fee category. 

“Preliminary application fee for new verifications or major modification” - It is 
necessary to add this definition, because the term is used in Article 6. The definition 
references and is consistent with the existing regulatory certification requirements, 
and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile source certification fee category. 

Section 2912. Certification Fees for Diesel Emission Control Strategy Verifications 
and Approvals. 

Purpose 

This section provides the proposed Base fee and discounted fee types that an 
applicant would be required to pay for each regulatory activity (category) identified 
under Article 6 for the submission of an application for obtaining approval to sell or 
install a diesel emission control strategy or conduct other regulatory activities 
described in Title 13 section 2700 et seq listed in Table IV-B-5 and Table IV-B-6. 

Table IV-B-5: Diesel Emission Control Strategy Verification Fee Categories 

Preliminary Application Fee for New Verifications or Major Modification 

Final Application Fee for New Verifications or Major Modification 

Executive Order Fee for New Verification or Major Modification 

In-Use Compliance Field Testing Fee 

In-Use Compliance Emissions Testing Fee 

Minor Modification Fee 

60 



 

 

 
 

 
 

   
 

 

 
  

   
  

 
  

 
   

  
  

 
 

   
  

 
 

 
 

 
 

   
     

  
    

  

 

  

Table IV-B-6:  Diesel Emission Control Strategy Verification-Locomotive Fee 
Categories 

Locomotive Initial Application Fee 

Locomotive Final Verification Letter Fee 

Rationale 
This section provides the specific fees by category for applications received in 
calendar years 2022, 2023, and 2024 and subsequent years, as applicable. Specific fee 
rationale is discussed in the following subsections. 

Subsection 2912(a) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides an exemption from fees specified in sections 2912(b) through 
section 2912(d) for the “Diesel emission control strategy verification – other than 
locomotive” category under certain conditions that are specified in this section. 

Rationale 
CARB received feedback from manufacturers regarding the impacts on existing 
businesses with existing products in the market. Manufacturers commented that the 
cost of fees were not considered at the time of their application submittals and CARB 
approvals. At that time, there were no fees for the application, updates, and in-use 
obligations. These costs were not included into the original business plans for their 
products when they received their original approvals. In addition, this program exists 
for the purpose of achieving real-world emission reductions through the use of verified 
devices and in support of CARB fleet rules. Owners and operators of vehicles and 
equipment subject to CARB’s various fleet rules invested in retrofit technologies to 
comply with these rules and rely on retrofitted equipment and vehicles for their 
livelihood. If verified device manufacturers of products verified prior to the effective 
date of this regulation choose not to support existing in-field devices due to new fees 
that were unanticipated by the device manufacturers at the time they were originally 
verified, it might result in owners of retrofitted equipment and vehicles having no way 
fix or maintain the devices. This in turn might result in the removal of the devices, 
which could result in non-compliance with fleet rule requirements and loss of 
emissions reduction benefits. In response, staff is proposing no new fees for an entity 
holding and identified in a valid EO or conditional verification for verification activities 
related to the product directly covered by the EO or conditional verification, provided 
that the entity’s EO or valid conditional verification for the product was issued prior to 
the effective date of the proposed regulation. 
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Subsections 2912(b)(1) and (2) 

Purpose 
These subsections provide tables of the certification fees for calendar year 2022 for 
application and program activities for Diesel Emission Control Strategies for all 
applications. 

Rationale 
The Base Fee and small business fee is phased-in for calendar year 2022 and 2023 
applications to reduce the initial cost burden and to be responsive to business impacts 
on manufacturers. The phase-in allows for a stepped increase in fees requested by 
manufacturers. For calendar year 2022, the fees are 50 percent of the calendar year 
2024 fees discussed in subsection 2912(d). 

Subsections 2912(c)(1) and (2) 

Purpose 
These subsections provide tables of the certification fees for calendar year 2023 
application and program activities for Diesel Emission Control Strategies for all 
applications. 

Rationale 
The Base Fee and small business fee is phased-in for calendar year 2022 and 2023 
applications to reduce the initial cost burden and to be responsive to business impacts 
on manufacturers. The phase-in allows for a stepped increase in fees requested by 
manufacturers. For calendar year 2023, the fees are 75 percent of the calendar year 
2024 fees discussed in subsection 2912(d). 

Subsections 2912(d)(1) and (2) 

Purpose 
These subsections provide tables of the certification fees for calendar year 2024 and 
subsequent calendar years for applications and program activities for Diesel Emission 
Control Strategies for all applications. 

Rationale 
Manufacturers submit applications for approval of a DECS (as defined in 13 CCR 
subsection 2701(a)(14)) which cover multiple model year engines or vehicles. Under 
this process, manufacturers submit an application in a particular calendar year and the 
approval will be valid until it is revised, de-verified, or in the case of a conditional 
verification letter, expires. They are reviewed and approved for use according to the 
requirements for the DECS certification regulatory requirements and the application 
fee is based on the date of submittal of the application (calendar year). In addition to 
initial approval, the DECS regulation includes in-use compliance field and emission 
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testing requirements that are conducted after total sales meet designated regulatory 
criteria. 

For DECS applications, excluding Locomotives, the fees were calculated based on the 
number of applications received, actions taken, and staff devoted to the program. Due 
to the low volume and periodic nature of requests, an average of three calendar years 
was included, and activities were considered across all retrofit categories – on-road, 
off-road, stationary, transport refrigeration unit, and marine engines. In addition, 
manufacturers and MECA requested that the cost be spread out through the program 
activities. The fees are not based on average application or EO cost, but staff resource 
costs were broken down by staff time spent in each activity. For new verifications and 
major modifications, a fee applies to each of the following: Preliminary applications, 
Final applications, Issuance of the EO/conditional verification letter, In-use compliance 
field testing, and In-Use compliance emissions testing. A fee also applies to minor 
modifications. CARB cost methodology for calculating certification and compliance 
program costs can be found in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix A, pages 91 
through 129) and the total cost for this category can be found in Appendix B (Revised 
SRIA, Appendix A, Table Appn A-15, page 128). The Base fee and reduced fee types 
are listed in the tables in subsections 2912(b)(1), 2912(c)(1) and subsection 2912(d)(1) 
for each calendar year and fee type. 

Retrofits for Locomotives are conducted through grant programs to clean up 
locomotive engines. Because of this process, staff analyzed Locomotives separately. 
The fees for Locomotives were calculated based on the number of locomotive 
applications received, actions taken, and staff devoted to the program. Due to the low 
volume and periodic nature of requests, an average of three calendar years was 
included. Locomotive sales in California are driven by incentive programs, which 
require CARB verification in order to be eligible. Estimated sales numbers were based 
on past incentive program funding. Fees for the locomotive category are broken down 
into the Locomotive application fee and the Locomotive final verification letter. 
Locomotives are not expected to have any activity in components beyond the 
aforementioned two, so the additional activity components have not been included in 
the locomotive fee structure. The total cost for Locomotives can be found in Appendix 
B (Revised SRIA, Appendix A, Table Appn A-15, page 128). The fee development 
methodology can be found in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix B, page 130-134). 
The Base fee and reduced fee types are listed in the tables in subsections 2912(b)(2), 
2912(c)(2) and subsection 2912(d)(2) for each calendar year and fee type. 

One reduced fee type, Small business, is available for qualifying applications. The 
reduced fee type rational is as follows: 

“Small business” – This is a low cost fee available to all small businesses that meet the 
criteria set forth in the definition in section 2901. As a result of comments received at 
workshops on the business impact of the proposed regulation, CARB is providing a 25 
percent discount to reduce cost impacts for small businesses. This fee type is 75 
percent of each base fee listed in section 2912(b) through section 2912(d). 
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9. Adopt Article 7. Certification Fees for the At-Berth Regulation 

Article 7 houses the certification fees for the At-Berth Regulation. The following 
outlines the new regulatory language purpose and rationale for Article 7. These fees 
are authorized by HSC 43019.1 which was approved by the Legislature through AB 
854 in 2018. CARB’s At-Berth Regulation requires selected ocean-going vessels to 
reduce emissions while at berth at certain California ports. Historically, most vessels 
have complied by using shore power technology; however, some have complied using 
CARB Approved Emission Control Systems (CAECS), such as capture and control 
systems. These capture and control systems are a stand alone emission control system 
that attaches to the stack of a vessel while auxiliary engines operate at berth, and may 
be operated as a barge or land-based system. 

The following outlines the new regulatory language, purpose, and rationale for 
Article 7. 

There are no certification and compliance fees that currently apply to these sources. 
The new fee regulations will be housed in Section 2913 and Section 2914. 

Section 2913. Definitions. 

Purpose 
This section contains definitions that apply to Article 7, including: “At-Berth 
Application fee,” “CARB approved emission control strategy (CAECS),” “Continuous 
Emission Monitors (CEMS) data review fee,” “Design change fee,” “Minor amendment 
fee,” and “Test plan review fee.” 

Rationale 
This section is needed to define the definitions that shall govern the provisions of this 
Article 7. The following definitions are required to define the fee categories: 

“At-Berth Application fee” - It is necessary to add this definition, because the term is 
used in Article 7. The definition references and is consistent with the existing 
regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile 
source certification fee category. 

“CARB approved emission control strategy (CAECS)” - It is necessary to add this 
definition, because the term is used in Article 7. The definition references and is 
consistent with the existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to 
clearly define the mobile source certification fee category. 

“Continuous Emission Monitors (CEMS) data review fee” - It is necessary to add this 
definition, because the term is used in Article 7. The definition references and is 
consistent with the existing regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to 
clearly define the mobile source certification fee category. 
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“Design change fee” - It is necessary to add this definition, because the term is used in 
Article 7. The definition references and is consistent with the existing regulatory 
certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile source 
certification fee category. 

“Minor amendment fee” - It is necessary to add this definition, because the term is 
used in Article 7. The definition references and is consistent with the existing 
regulatory certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile 
source certification fee category. 

“Test plan review fee” - It is necessary to add this definition, because the term is used 
in Article 7. The definition references and is consistent with the existing regulatory 
certification requirements, and it is necessary to clearly define the mobile source 
certification fee category. 

Section 2914. Certification Fees for the At-Berth Regulation. 

Purpose  
This section provides the proposed Base Fees and discounted fee types that an 
applicant would be required to pay for each regulatory activity (category) identified 
under Article 7 for the submission of an application to obtain approval to sell or install 
a CARB Approved Emission Control System (CAECS) or conduct other listed 
regulatory activities for the At-Berth Regulation as described in Table IV-B-7. 

Table IV-B-7:  At-Berth Regulation Fee Categories 

Test Plan Review Fee 

At-Berth Application Fee 

CEMS Data Review 

Design Change Fee 

Minor Amendment Fee 

Rationale 
This section provides the specific fees by category for applications received in 
calendar years 2022, 2023, and 2024 and subsequent years, as applicable. Specific fee 
rationale is discussed in the following subsections. 
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Subsection 2914(a) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides the specific certification fees for the At-Berth Regulation for 
calendar year 2022. 

Rationale 
The Base Fee is phased-in for calendar year 2022 and 2023 applications to reduce the 
initial cost burden on applicants and to be responsive to business impacts on 
manufacturers. The phase-in allows for a stepped increase in fees requested by 
manufacturers. For calendar year 2022, the fees are 50 percent of the calendar year 
2024 fees discussed in subsection 2914(c). 

Subsection 2914(b) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides the specific certification fees for the At-Berth Regulation for 
calendar year 2023. 

Rationale 
The Base Fee is phased-in for calendar year 2022 and 2023 applications to reduce the 
initial cost burden on applicants and to be responsive to business impacts on 
manufacturers. The phase-in allows for a stepped increase in fees requested by 
manufacturers. For calendar year 2023, the fees are 75 percent of the calendar year 
2024 fees discussed in subsection 2914(c). 

Subsection 2914(c) 

Purpose 
This subsection provides the specific certification fees for the At-Berth Regulation for 
calendar year 2024 and subsequent calendar years. 

Rationale 
As with Diesel Emission Control Strategies, industry requested the fee to be broken 
into activities of the program. Therefore, the At-Berth fees are not based on average 
application or EO cost, but total costs broken down by staff time spent in each 
activity. The fee activities for Article 7 include test plan review, application, CEMS data 
review, design change, and minor amendments. 

Staff calculated a cost per unit by evaluating the time required for CARB staff to 
approve existing CAECS for ships at berth. The fee structure proposed accounts for 
the expected lifetime, and frequency of activities required over the lifetime of the 
approved system. For example, CARB staff will only need to review test data and issue 
an EO once per product, but estimate they will need to review continuous emissions 
measurement system (CEMS) data on the frequency of around 60 times per year. A 
similar logic was provided for other fee line items. A fee is assessed at different 
activities through the life time of the product, which enables prospective applicants of 
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CAECS to cover costs over the lifetime of their products. The split fee structure is 
critical for encouraging the application of future CAECS, as CARB staff anticipate the 
majority of additional vessel visits required by the new At-Berth Regulation as defined 
in title 17, CCR, Section 93130 et seq. to comply with control requirements using 
CAECS. The total program cost can be found in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix 
A, Table Appn A-17, page 128). The fee development methodology can be found in 
Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix B, page 130-134). The Base fee and reduced fee 
types are listed in the tables in subsections 2914(a) through subsection 2914(c) for 
each calendar year and fee type. 

One reduced fee type, Small business, is available for qualifying applications. The 
reduced fee type rationale is as follows: 

“Small business” – This is a low cost fee available to all small businesses that meet the 
criteria set forth in the definition in section 2901. As a result of comments received at 
workshops on the business impact of the proposed regulation, CARB is providing a 25 
percent discount to reduce cost impacts for small businesses. This fee type is 75 
percent of each base fee listed in section 2914. 

Benefits Anticipated from the Regulatory Action, Including the 
Benefits or Goals Provided in the Authorizing Statute 

This rulemaking is the result of legislative directives to create a more fiscally 
sustainable funding solution for CARB’s Mobile Source Certification and Compliance 
programs that is based on greater recovery of costs from the businesses that benefit 
from receiving CARB certification for their products. The proposed regulation provides 
for new fees and increases existing fees, thereby reducing reliance on existing funds. 
The following provides a summary of the fiscal revenue to CARB and ultimately to the 
State of California. The revenue to the State of California with the Proposed 
Regulation is shown in Table V-1. Table V-2 provides the fiscal savings per year by type 
of product purchased for 2022-2031. 
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Table V-1. Fiscal Revenue-Yearly Totals 

Year Total Certification and 
Compliance Fiscal Costs 

Revenue1 to CARB with 
Proposed Regulation 

2022 $49,636,366 $9,811,698 
2023 $50,680,751 $18,693,514 
2024 $51,754,380 $27,566,855 
2025 $52,689,411 $28,018,633 
2026 $53,739,675 $28,562,384 
2027 $54,821,450 $29,122,296 
2028 $55,955,770 $29,700,964 
2029 $57,188,234 $30,333,672 
2030 $58,455,339 $30,984,172 
2031 $59,757,924 $31,652,886 

TOTAL $544,679,301 $264,447,075 
1 Revenue = Fee from proposed regulation minus fee from Business as Usual (BAU) scenario. 

Table V-2. Fiscal Savings1 per Year by Type of Product Purchased for 2022-2031 

On-Road1 Off-Road2 Aftermarket 
Parts Retrofits At-Berth 

Technology Totals 

2022 $5,379,628 $2,989,754 $749,487 $498,334 $194,494 $9,811,698 
2023 $12,812,027 $4,238,205 $749,487 $690,413 $203,382 $18,693,514 
2024 $20,235,952 $5,486,656 $749,487 $882,491 $212,270 $27,566,855 
2025 $20,802,558 $5,486,656 $749,487 $767,662 $212,270 $28,018,633 
2026 $21,385,030 $5,486,656 $749,487 $728,941 $212,270 $28,562,384 
2027 $21,983,811 $5,486,656 $749,487 $690,072 $212,270 $29,122,296 
2028 $22,599,358 $5,486,656 $749,487 $653,193 $212,270 $29,700,964 
2029 $23,232,140 $5,486,656 $749,487 $653,120 $212,270 $30,333,672 
2030 $23,882,640 $5,486,656 $749,487 $653,120 $212,270 $30,984,172 
2031 $24,551,353 $5,486,656 $749,487 $653,120 $212,270 $31,652,886 

TOTAL $196,864,497 $51,121,203 $7,494,875 $6,870,465 $2,096,035 $264,447,075 
1 Fiscal cost savings = fees collected under proposed regulation – fees collected under BAU 
scenario 
2 Includes both the total certification fees collected to certify off-road vehicles, engines and 
equipment and the total certification fees collected to certify the evaporative emission 
components that are used in those vehicles and equipment 

This proposed rulemaking addresses fees paid by manufacturers to obtain approvals 
necessary for CARB’s existing mobile source certification and compliance programs. 
This proposed regulation does not change the stringency of current emission 
standards nor does it create new emission standards. Rather, the proposed regulation 
establishes upfront fees to fund certification and compliance actions that are already 
conducted by CARB. Manufacturers of products that are covered by this proposed 
regulation will be required to pay this fee upon request for services conducted by 
CARB. For this proposed rulemaking, staff assumes that new costs to affected 
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manufacturers are passed through to purchasers of the products for all product 
categories except for aftermarket parts and marine watercraft Executive Order (EO) 
series categories. Manufacturers of aftermarket parts and marine watercraft have 
indicated to CARB that they do not plan to increase the price of their products to 
recoup any new certification fees. The typical fees per unit are less than one percent of 
average purchase price and were determined to have a negligible impact on 
purchasing behavior and emission activity. 

Air Quality 

The proposed amendments are not anticipated to have air quality impacts due to the 
nature of the proposed changes. The proposal updates and introduces a fee upon 
submission of an application for certification by manufacturers intending to produce 
and sell product in California. There are no changes to emissions standards, 
regulations, and test procedures that would affect air quality. Consequently, 
manufacturers will continue to show compliance with emission control regulations and 
requirements. 

Environmental Analysis 

This chapter provides the basis for CARB’s determination that the proposed 
amendments are exempt from the requirements of the California Environmental 
Quality Act (CEQA). A brief explanation of this determination is provided below. 
CARB’s regulatory program, which involves the adoption, approval, amendment, or 
repeal of standards, rules, regulations, or plans for the protection and enhancement of 
the State’s ambient air quality, has been certified by the California Secretary for 
Natural Resources under Public Resources Code section 21080.5 of CEQA (14 CCR 
15251(d)). Public agencies with certified regulatory programs are exempt from certain 
CEQA requirements, including but not limited to, preparing environmental impact 
reports, negative declarations, and initial studies. CARB, as a lead agency, prepares a 
substitute environmental document (referred to as an “Environmental Analysis” or 
“EA”) as part of the Staff Report prepared for a proposed action to comply with 
CEQA (17 CCR 60000-60008). If the regulation is finalized, a Notice of Exemption will 
be filed with the Office of the Secretary for the Natural Resources Agency for public 
inspection. 

CARB has determined that the proposed amendments are exempt from CEQA under 
the “general rule” or “common sense” exemption (14 CCR 15061(b)(3)). The common 
sense exemption states a project is exempt from CEQA if “the activity is covered by the 
general rule that CEQA applies only to projects which have the potential for causing a 
significant effect on the environment. Where it can be seen with certainty that there is 
no possibility that the activity in question may have a significant effect on the 
environment, the activity is not subject to CEQA.” The proposed amendments will 
increase fees for the processing of Executive Orders, which are required for 
manufacturers to sell affected products in the State of California. The setting, collection, 
and administration of these fees under the proposed amendments have no potential to 
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adversely affect air quality or any other environmental resource area. Based on CARB’s 
review it can be seen with certainty that there is no possibility that the proposed 
amendments may result in a significant adverse impact on the environment; therefore, 
this activity is exempt from CEQA. 

Environmental Justice 

State law defines environmental justice as the fair treatment and meaningful 
involvement of people of all races, cultures, incomes, and national origins, with 
respect to the development, adoption, implementation, and enforcement of 
environmental laws, regulations, and policies (Gov. Code, § 65040.12, subd. (e)(1)). 
Environmental justice includes, but is not limited to, all of the following: (A) The 
availability of a healthy environment for all people. (B) The deterrence, reduction, and 
elimination of pollution burdens for populations and communities experiencing the 
adverse effects of that pollution, so that the effects of the pollution are not 
disproportionately borne by those populations and communities. (C) Governmental 
entities engaging and providing technical assistance to populations and communities 
most impacted by pollution to promote their meaningful participation in all phases of 
the environmental and land use decision making process. (D) At a minimum, the 
meaningful consideration of recommendations from populations and communities 
most impacted by pollution into environmental and land use decisions (Gov. Code, 
§ 65040.12, subd. (e)(2)). The Board approved its Environmental Justice Policies and 
Actions (Policies) on December 13, 2001, to establish a framework for incorporating 
environmental justice into CARB's programs consistent with the directives of State 
law (CARB 2001). These policies apply to all communities in California, but are 
intended to address the disproportionate environmental exposure burden borne by 
low-income communities and communities of color. Environmental justice is one of 
CARB’s core values and fundamental to achieving its mission. 

The proposed amendments are not anticipated to have an impact on emissions, and 
therefore are not anticipated to have environmental justice impacts. The proposed 
amendments would preserve the emission reductions targeted by CARB’s existing 
regulations for all communities, including environmental justice areas. 

Standardized Regulatory Impact Analysis 

A. Legal Requirements 

Sections 11346.3 and 11346.5 of the Government Code require state agencies to 
assess the potential adverse economic impacts on California business enterprises and 
individuals when proposing to adopt or amend any administrative regulation. The 
assessment shall evaluate whether and to what extent the regulatory proposal will 
affect the creation or elimination of jobs within the state, the creation of new 
businesses or the elimination of existing businesses within the state, the expansion of 
businesses currently doing business within the state, and the benefits of the regulation 
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to the health and welfare of California residents, worker safety, and the state’s 
environment. 

State agencies are also required to estimate the cost or savings of any state or local 
agency and school districts in accordance with instructions adopted by the 
Department of Finance. This estimate is to include any nondiscretionary costs or 
savings to local agencies and the costs or savings in federal funding to the state. 

B. California Health and Safety Code Section 57005 - Major Regulation 
Requirements 

Per Department of Finance regulations (California Code of Regulations, title 1, 
sections 2000-2004), any agency that anticipates promulgating a regulation that will 
have an economic impact on California business enterprises and individuals in an 
amount exceeding $50 million in any 12-month period between the date the 
regulation is filed with the California Secretary of State through 12 months after it is 
fully implemented (defined as major regulation) is required to submit a Standardized 
Regulatory Impact Assessment (SRIA). The Proposed Regulation and associated 
amendments would be fully implemented in 2024 and would result in an economic 
impact exceeding $50 million starting in 2022, which triggers the threshold for a major 
regulation and the requirement for a SRIA. The projected economic impact of this 
rulemaking is in the approximate $50-$82 million range as shown in the SRIA for this 
rulemaking.4 

Comments from the California Department of Finance on the SRIA: 

Finance generally concurs with the methodology used to estimate impacts of the 
proposed regulations, with the following exceptions. 

1) First, the SRIA must estimate and discuss the impacts of securing additional 
funding of around $30 million per year through the proposed fee on existing 
CARB operations and funding. Freeing up these resources from the funds that 
currently support the mobile source certification activities should result in 
avoided negative consequences or added economic and emissions benefits to 
the state, and impacts will vary depending on fund allocation and use. 

CARB Response to Comment from the California Department of Finance: 

The benefits of freed up resources resulting from the collection of a certification 
and compliance fee would include an increase towards sustainability of current 
and ongoing regulatory and emissions based projects as well as known 
deficiencies within APCF. Not all regulatory and legislatively mandated activities 
within CARB are fully funded or funded at all, which results in strain on current 

4 Attachment B to this Staff Report: Initial Statement of Reasons. 
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funding sources. The addition of resources that will be offset by the certification 
and compliance fund will begin to relieve the pressure on strained resources 
edging closer to sustainability within the fund. 

2) Second, the baseline should include a description of the number and types of 
affected manufacturers, as well as the distribution of costs among these 
manufacturers. This would help support CARB’s assessment that the burden is 
not being borne in a manner to create disparate impacts to California 
businesses. 

CARB Response to Comment from the California Department of Finance: 

Tables IX-B-1 through IX-B-3 show costs to manufacturers that have indicated 
they will pass all costs to purchasers of mobile sources. Tables IX-B-4 and IX-B-5 
shows costs to manufacturers that have indicated they will not pass any costs to 
purchasers. Average Cost Per Year is the average cost per year from 2022 
through 2031. Estimated costs that are less than $1,000 per year are rounded 
to the nearest $100. Estimated costs that are greater than $1,000 are rounded 
to the nearest $1,000. 

Table IX-B-1. Average Yearly Costs Per On-Road Manufacturer that are Expected 
to be Passed Along to Purchasers. 

Average Yearly 
Cost Range Per 
Manufacturer 

Type of Manufacturer 
Number of 
Manufacturers 

Estimated 
Average Yearly 
Cost Per 
Manufacturer 

Fuel Fired Heater 5 $100 

$0-$1,000 On-Road Heavy-Duty Exempt Engines 3 $300 

Zero-Emission Powertrains 9 $300 

$1,001-$10,000 Heavy-Duty ZEVs that use the 
conventional HD GHG Phase II Path 30 $2000 

Heavy-Duty GHG 
Trailer/Aerodynamic Devices 18 $19,000 

Gasoline Heavy-Duty Vehicles – 
evaporative emission certification 9 $21,000 

$10,001-$100,000 Medium- and Heavy-Duty Otto-Cycle 
Engines 16 $25,000 

Street-Use Motorcycles 42 $35,000 

Heavy-Duty Vehicles – GHG 
certification 30 $36,000 
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Average Yearly 
Cost Range Per 
Manufacturer 

Type of Manufacturer 
Number of 
Manufacturers 

Estimated 
Average Yearly 
Cost Per 
Manufacturer 

> $100,000 

Medium- and Heavy-Duty 
Compression Ignition Engines 16 $164,000 

Cars, Light-Duty Trucks, Medium-
Duty Vehicles 43 $310,000 

Table IX-B-2. Average Yearly Costs Per Off-Road and Evaporative Component 
Manufacturer that are Expected to be Passed Along to Purchasers. 

Average Yearly 
Cost Range Per 
Manufacturer 

Type of Manufacturer Number of 
Manufacturers 

Estimated 
Average Yearly 
Cost Per 
Manufacturer 

$0-$1,000 Electric Golf Carts 4 $800 

Equipment that uses Large Off-Road 
Spark-Ignition Engines - evaporative 
emission certification 

15 $1,000 

Off-Highway Recreational Vehicles 242 $3,000 

$1,001-$10,000 

SORE Equipment - Evaporative 
Certification 209 $3,000 

Evaporative Components for SORE 
Equipment 105 $3,000 

Portable Fuel Containers 8 $6,000 

Small Off-Road Spark-Ignition 
Engines 179 $9,000 

$10,001-$50,000 

Large Off-Road Spark-Ignition 
Engines 19 $11,000 

Off-Road Compression Ignition 
Engines 51 $25,000 

> $50,000 none 
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Table IX-B-3. Average Yearly Costs Per Manufacturer of Diesel Emission Control 
Strategy Retrofits and At-Berth Technology that are Expected to be Passed Along 
to Purchasers. 

Average Yearly 
Cost Range Per 
Manufacturer 

Type of Manufacturer Number of 
Manufacturers 

Estimated 
Average Yearly 
Cost Per 
Manufacturer 

$0-$50,000 

Diesel Emission Control Strategy 
Retrofits – other than locomotive 33 $21,000 

Diesel Emission Control Strategy 
Retrofits – locomotive 9 $38,000 

> $50,000 At-Bert Alternative Emission Control 
Technology 4 $52,000 

Table IX-B-4. Average Yearly Costs Per Marine Watercraft Manufacturer that are 
Not Expected to be Passed Along to Purchasers. 

Average Yearly 
Cost Range Per 
Manufacturer 

Type of Manufacturer 
Number of 
Manufacturers 

Estimated 
Average Yearly 
Cost Per 
Manufacturer 

$0-$1,000 Evaporative Components for Spark-
Ignition Marine Watercraft 22 $500 

$1,001-$10,000 

Spark-Ignition Marine Watercraft -
evaporative emission certification 68 $2,000 

Spark-Ignition Marine Engines 31 $6,000 

> $10,000 none 

Table IX-B-5. Average Yearly Costs Per Aftermarket Parts Manufacturer that are 
Not Expected to be Passed Along to Purchasers. 

Average Yearly 
Cost Range Per 
Manufacturer 

Type of Manufacturer Number of 
Manufacturers 

Estimated 
Average Yearly 
Cost Per 
Manufacturer 

$0-$1,000 

Experimental Permit 74 $100 

Motorcycle Critical Emission Control 
Parts 12 $700 
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Average Yearly 
Cost Range Per 
Manufacturer 

Type of Manufacturer 
Number of 
Manufacturers 

Estimated 
Average Yearly 
Cost Per 
Manufacturer 

Aftermarket Parts - (other than listed 
separately) 231 $2,000 

$1,001-$10,000 
Auxiliary Fuel Tanks 17 $2,000 

Aftermarket Catalytic Converters and 
Diesel Particulate Filters 23 $5,000 

Alternative Fuel Retrofits 27 $7,000 

> $10,000 none 

As seen in Table IX-B-6, the costs to each industry are comparably far higher than the 
project impacts to individual manufacturers. The highest projected impact, shown in 
Table IX-B-1 is projected to be $310,000 to vehicle manufacturers on a per 
manufacturer basis (NAICS 3361). This amount is 0.02% of the average yearly costs to 
that industry. All figures in Table IX-B-6 are shown in Millions of U.S. Dollars. 

Table IX-B-6. Average Yearly Costs to Industry in $US Million. 

Industry 
Code 

2022 2023 2024 2025 2026 2027 2028 2029 2030 2031 
Lifetime 
total 

3363 0.337500 0.620780 0.904839 1.188898 1.472957 1.419516 1.420295 2.814310 3.511318 4.208325 0.337500 

3361 0.397407 0.807935 1.231891 1.667435 2.114889 2.177182 2.238941 2.300212 2.363198 2.427948 0.397407 

3369 0.020282 0.049023 0.086700 0.122680 0.158087 0.173881 0.179427 0.176036 0.174343 0.171979 0.020282 

3336 0.099047 0.216514 0.352493 0.488471 0.624450 0.661381 0.679892 0.679892 0.679892 0.679892 0.099047 

C. Changes Since the Release of the SRIA 

Since the release of the SRIA on November 18, 2020, CARB staff’s proposal and 
economic impact analysis has changed. The following fee categories have been 
modified, reducing the fee amount collected in each category. 

1) In the original SRIA, costs of the entire mobile source certification program 
were used to identify costs to business and individuals, as opposed to the 
incremental costs of these proposed amendments. The analysis presented in 
the Revised SRIA correctly accounts for fees collected in the business as usual 
(BAU). Accounting for the BAU fees for the on-road category results in costs 
that are approximately 40 percent lower than those presented in the original 
SRIA. The Revised SRIA can be found in Appendix B. 
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2) Modification of Heavy-duty Engine certification category: This category 
assesses a fee for medium and heavy-duty engine certifications. These 
regulations cover two types of engines: those that run on gasoline (otto-cycle 
engines) and those that run on diesel (compression-ignition or CI engines). Due 
to manufacturer input, it was identified that Otto-cycle engines take about 
35 percent of the work to certify and evaluate compliance as compared to CI 
engines. The HD engine category was split into 2 new categories, HD CI engine 
and HD otto-cycle engine. CARB reduced the Otto-cycle engine certification 
fee by sixty-five percent, from $121,265 to $42,443 affecting about a quarter of 
the estimated applications in the category. The new category fee total for 2024 
is reduced by $1,182,332 from the original SRIA estimate. 

3) A new category was added to the On-Road Street Motorcycle certification 
group for a reduced fee for three engine families per model year certification 
per manufacturer. This was the result of manufacturer input on business impacts 
on low volume or entry level motorcycle certifications. This new category affects 
thirty-one percent of the estimated applications and the new category fee total 
for 2024 is reduced by $997,070 from the original SRIA estimate. 

4) The Zero-Emission Powertrain fee estimate used in the original SRIA was based 
on the average EO cost, without the discount for zero-emission products. The 
corrected base fee is $977. The correction reduced the category fee total for 
2024 by $13,189. 

5) For SORE Evaporative components, the incorrect fee value was used in the 
original SRIA analysis. The fee used in the original SRIA was $4753. The correct 
fee based on average application/EO costs is $3771. The correction reduced 
the category fee total for 2024 by $73,884. 

6) Alternative fuel retrofit systems are aftermarket part conversion kits that can be 
retrofitted to existing vehicles or engines. Manufacturers may submit 
applications for alternative fuel retrofits at the same time as applications for 
new vehicle and engine applications, and if they include the same hardware and 
software, they will be reviewed and approved together. Under this scenario, the 
manufacturer will receive new and aftermarket EOs. Manufacturers may also 
submit applications for alternative fuel retrofits independently of new vehicle or 
engine applications. These applications will be subject to separate review and 
approval. The original fee captured resources used to conduct both activities. It 
was determined that if a manufacturer’s alternative fuel retrofit system 
application was submitted at the same time as its new vehicle or engine 
application or within 30 days of the issuance of the EO, only minimal resources 
were needed to review and approve it. For applications that meet this criteria, 
CARB is proposing no additional fee. The resources used for alternative fuel 
retrofit system applications from a different manufacturer or submitted after 30 
days was reduced, which reduced the original fee from $23,978 to $5161. The 
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new category fee total for 2024 is reduced by $268,145 from the original SRIA 
estimate. 

7) Aftermarket part-general and fuel-tank categories originally were analyzed by 
EOs issued. The number of applications received were about 30 percent more 
than EOs issued which affected the cost per application. In addition, new 
regulations adopted by CARB in 2020 are expected to increase the total 
number of applications to be submitted in 2022 as compared to 2018. The total 
number of 2022 applications is estimated to be four times the 2018 number, 
bringing the estimated total of applications from 237 to 738. CARB reduced the 
fee used in the SRIA analysis in half to adjust for application volumes. In 
addition, with input from the manufacturers, it was identified that two 
application categories (Category 1 and Category 8) within the new procedure 
required less work than other categories. The new reduced cost categories 
account for an additional thirty percent of the applications. About ninety 
percent of the applications in 2022 will pay the minimum fee of $500. The new 
category fee total for 2024 will increase by $207,107 from the original SRIA 
estimate. 

8) CARB received significant input from the Motorcycle critical emission control 
part manufacturers. After evaluating the business models and business effects, 
CARB determined that this application category fits the fee schedule used for 
general aftermarket parts. The fee was reduce from $10,000 to $1,000. The new 
category fee total for 2024 is reduced by $72,400 from the original SRIA 
estimate. 

9) The Diesel Emission Control Strategy (retrofit) approvals went into effect in 
2000 and these products have been used to reduce emissions through many in-
use vehicle and equipment regulations. Many of these in-use regulations are or 
will be fully implemented by 2022. As a result, sales are very low for existing 
retrofit manufacturers. As a result of manufacturer comments that fees were not 
part of the regulatory requirements when they submitted applications and 
received CARB approval, CARB staff grandfathered this category’s approvals 
for minor modification and other fee categories provided the approval is 
received prior to the implementation date of this regulation. The new category 
fee total for 2024 is reduced by $318,498 from the original SRIA estimate. 

D. Cost Methodology and Analysis 

The economic impacts of the Proposed Amendments are evaluated against the 
baseline scenario for the analysis period from 2022 through 2031. The baseline vehicle 
inventory includes the vehicle sales and population growth assumptions currently 
reflected in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix D, pages 139-144). 

The total cost of this regulatory item was determined by the amount of certification 
fees collected to cover CARB costs along with standard financing costs applicable to 
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all of the product categories. Staff estimates that additional fees collected from the 
proposed regulation will amount to as much as approximately $32 million in 2031. 
Purchasing behavior is assumed to remain the same for all categories. The fees that 
are already required to be paid by the existing regulations have been included in the 
baseline and are therefore excluded from the cost analysis and the alternatives 
analysis to avoid double-counting. 

For the SRIA, the costs that are paid by manufacturers were assumed to be passed 
through to purchasers as part of the sales price of the vehicle or piece of equipment, 
with a few exceptions indicated by stakeholder feedback (marine and aftermarket 
parts). These passed on costs were distributed among individuals, business, and State 
and local government in the same proportions as product sales to these types of 
purchasers. Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix C, pages 135-138) shows the sales 
percentages for each type of purchaser, by category, that were used in the analysis. 
Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix D, pages 139-144) shows the current and future 
sales projections for each category that were used in this analysis. 

As previously mentioned, recent legislation changed CARB’s authority to collect fees, 
removing the cap on existing fees and allowing fees to be collected on new categories 
with specific considerations. Through the workshop process with industry, CARB 
developed a proposed fee structure to cover the Direct Costs for this program, based 
on anticipated fiscal needs. The new fee structure is based on an upfront fee due upon 
submittal of a manufacturer’s application for certification and approval of the product. 
Most fee categories are based on the average cost per application in each category. 
Lower cost subcategories use a percent reduction from the category average cost. The 
Direct Costs were calculated using a case by case fee structure for each fee category 
based on 2018 applications (updated with FY 2018/2019 and 2019/2020 approved 
budget change proposal estimates), multiplied by the proposed fee, then totaled for 
each category listed below. All costs and expected revenue from this proposed 
regulation included the use of a three-year phase-in for many of the new fees. 
Amortization costs are included at a rate of five percent over an average loan period 
of five years. In general, the phase-in schedules allow full-cost fees for “new” 
applications (shown in Tables IX-D-2 through IX-D-7) to be phased-in at 50 percent of 
the fee in 2022, 75 percent of the fee in 2023, and 100 percent of the fee starting in 
2024. There is no phase-in of fees for the “reduced fee applications.” 

Maximum base fees start in 2024 after the phase-in schedule. On-Road Fees include a 
Consumer Price Index (CPI) adjustment, which was included in the calculations starting 
in 2025 (for model year 2026 applications). The CPI figure utilized is an average of CPI 
over the past three years as projected by California’s Department of Finance. Three 
categories, Experimental permits, Exempt heavy-duty engines, and Fuel-fired heaters, 
were based on average engineer time to review and approve the certification. In 
addition, Locomotive, Retrofit, and At-Berth regulatory programs are more complex; 
therefore, the fee structure is based on staff time spent for specific activities. All costs 
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here have been assigned North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes 
and are analyzed in Section IX.J. 

The total expected revenue from the proposed regulation for 2022 through 2031 is 
shown in Table IX-D-1. The proposed fee structure, number of actions per category, 
and fee totals that are used to estimate the total expected revenue from the proposed 
regulation are shown in Tables IX-D-2 through IX-D-7. 

Table IX-D-1. Incremental Fee Revenue from Proposed Regulation 

On-Road1 Off-Road2 Aftermarket 
Parts Retrofits At-Berth Totals 

2022 $5,379,628 $2,989,754 $749,487 $498,334 $194,494 $9,811,698 
2023 $12,812,027 $4,238,205 $749,487 $690,413 $203,382 $18,693,514 
2024 $20,235,952 $5,486,656 $749,487 $882,491 $212,270 $27,566,855 
2025 $20,802,558 $5,486,656 $749,487 $767,662 $212,270 $28,018,633 
2026 $21,385,030 $5,486,656 $749,487 $728,941 $212,270 $28,562,384 
2027 $21,983,811 $5,486,656 $749,487 $690,072 $212,270 $29,122,296 
2028 $22,599,358 $5,486,656 $749,487 $653,193 $212,270 $29,700,964 
2029 $23,232,140 $5,486,656 $749,487 $653,120 $212,270 $30,333,672 
2030 $23,882,640 $5,486,656 $749,487 $653,120 $212,270 $30,984,172 
2031 $24,551,353 $5,486,656 $749,487 $653,120 $212,270 $31,652,886 
TOTAL $196,864,497 $51,121,203 $7,494,875 $6,870,465 $2,096,035 $264,447,075 

1 The proposed certification fees are phased-in from 2022 through 2024. The proposed 2024 
certification fees are increased by a 2.8% CPI per year between 2024 and 2031. Does not 
include baseline fees. 
2 Includes both the costs to certify off-road vehicles, equipment and equipment and the costs 
to certify the evaporative emission components that are used in those vehicles and equipment 

Below Table IX-D-2 through IX-D-7 provide the fee structure and total fees collected in 
2024 for each category: 
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Table IX-D-2. Proposed On-Road Fees and Total Estimated 2024 Annual Fee 
Collected 

Category 

Fee Type 

2024 
Estimate Fee 

Collected 
Base 
Fee 

Partial 
Carry 
Over 

Carry 
Over 

Small Volume CA 
Production 

Manufacturer/Low 
California 

Production for 
Sale Engine 

Family 

Zero-
Emission 

Light-duty 
vehicle and 

medium-
duty vehicle 

$46,509 $23,254 $11,627 _ $11,627 $21,428,988 

HD CI 
engine and 

MD CI 
engine 

$121,265 $60,633 $30,316 _ _ $4,608,075 

HDO engine 
and MDO 

engine 
$42,443 $21,222 $10,611 _ _ $636,645 

Incomplete 
MD/HD 

Evaporative 
vehicle 

$14,935 $7,468 $3,734 _ _ $298,701 

HD GHG 
Vehicle 

$17,720 $8,860 $4,430 $8,860/- $4,430 $1,727,726 

HD GHG 
Trailer/Aero 

$3,936 _ _ _ _ $562,800 

Zero-Emission 
Powertrain 

- _ _ _ $977 $4,397 

HD Exempt 
engine 

$98 _ _ _ _ $1,464 

Fuel-fire 
Heaters 

$293 _ _ _ _ $586 

Motorcycle $17,447 $8,723 $4,362 $13,085/$872 _ $2,452,984 

All On-Road 
Applications 

$31,722,366 
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Table IX-D-3. Proposed Off-Road Fees and Total Estimated 2024 Annual Fee 
Collected 

Category 

Fee Type 
2024 

Estimate Fee 
Collected 

Base 
Fee 

Partial Carry 
Over 

Carry 
over 

Low CA 
Production 

Manufacturer 

Zero-
Emission 

Zero-
emission 

Golf Carts 

_ _ _ _ $842 $3,367 

LSI Engine $4,511 $2,255 $1,128 $3,383 - $233,428 

LSI 
Evaporative 

$1,099 $550 $275 $824 - $20,064 

OHRV $2,988 $1,494 $747 $2,241 $747 $686,444 
ORCI $4,153 $2,076 $1,038 - - $1,341,289 

SORE 
Engine 

$2,603 $1,302 $651 - $651 $1,709,514 

SORE 
Evaporative 

$1,212 $606 $303 - - $746,592 

SIME $1,478 $739 $369 $1,108 - $202,841 
SIMW $1,043 $522 $261 $782 - $122,569 

All Off-Road 
Applications 

$5,066,108 

Table IX-D-4. Proposed Evaporative Component Fees and Total Estimated 2024 
Annual Fee Collected 

Category 
Fee Type 

2024 Estimate 
Fee Collected New 

No Change 
Renewal Adding Models 

Portable 
Container 

Product Family 

$6,827 $1,707 $1,707 $51,200 

SORE Evap 
Component 

$3,771 $943 $943 $283,768 

SI Marine and 
OHRV Evap 

Components 
$917 - $229 $11,696 

All Evaporative 
Component 
Applications 

$346,664 
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Table IX-D-5. Proposed Aftermarket Parts Fees and Total Estimated 2024 Annual 
Fee Collected 

Category 

Fee 

2024 Estimate 
Fee Collected Base Carry-

Category 
I and Small Zero-

Fee over Category Business Emission 
VIII 

Alternative 
Fuel Retrofits 

$5,161 - - $3,871 $1,290 $193,435 

Experimental 
Permit 

$195 - - - - $10,346 

Aftermarket 
Part-general 

and $1,000 - $500 $500 - $425,707 
Motorcycle 

Critical 
Emission 

Catalytic 
Converters 

and dpf 

$10,000 $2,500 - $5,000 - $120,000 

All 
Aftermarket $749,488 
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Table IX-D-6. Proposed Retrofit Fees and Total Estimated 2024 Annual Fee 
Collected 

Category 

Fee Type 

2024 
Estimated 

Fee 
Collected 

Preliminary 
Application 
Fee for New 
Verification 

or Major 
Modification 

Final 
Application 

for New 
Verification 

or Major 
Modification 

Executive 
Order 
Fee 

In-Use 
Compliance 

Field 
Testing Fee 

In-Use 
Compliance 
Emissions 

Testing Fee 

Minor 
Modifica-
tion Fee 

Diesel 
Emission 
Control 

Strategies 
(Retrofit or 

DECS) 

$48,075 $24,038 $24,038 $12,019 $24,037 $24,038 $513,803 

Small 
Business 

$36,056 $18,028 $18,028 $9,014 $18,028 $18,028 

Initial 
Application 

Final 
Verification 

Letter 

Locomotive $18,434 $73,738 - - - - $368,688 

Small 
Business 

$13,826 $55,304 - - - -

All Retrofit 
Activities 

$882,491 

Table IX-D-7. Proposed At-Berth Technology Fees and Total Estimated 2024 
Annual Fee Collected 

Fee Type 2024 

Category 
Estimated 

Fee 
Collected Test Plan 

review 
Application 

Fee 
CEMS 
review 

Design 
Change 

fee 
Minor 

Amendment 

At-Berth 
CAECS 

$10,158 $25,394 $254 $10,158 $2,032 $212,270 

Small Business $7,618 $19,046 $190 $7,618 $1,524 

All At-Berth 
Applications 

$212,270 
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E. Total Direct Costs 

The proposed certification fee increases would result in direct incremental costs to 
manufacturers that certify a mobile source product (i.e., vehicle, engine, or add-on 
component) for sale in California. Manufacturers have disclosed through discussions 
with CARB staff that, with the exception of marine watercraft and aftermarket parts, all 
new certification fees will be passed along to vehicle and equipment purchasers. 
(Manufacturers of aftermarket parts and marine watercraft have indicated to CARB 
that they do not plan to increase the price of their products to recoup any new 
certification fees.) Therefore, this analysis looks at the direct costs to California 
purchasers rather than the cost to manufacturers paying the certification fee, unless 
otherwise noted. Cost to purchasers are amortized over five years. 

To assess the potential impact on the California economy, staff also evaluated the 
costs assuming that all of the increased costs in certifying a mobile source product will 
be passed on to the businesses and individuals purchasing the product, except for 
those categories for which manufacturers of the products have informed staff that they 
do not plan to pass these additional costs to consumers. This analysis is performed by 
comparing the baseline scenario with the proposed regulation, in which certification 
fees are increased for calendar years 2022 through 2031. All costs are presented in 
nominal dollars. 

In some cases, the increased cost to California consumers is not a one-to-one 
correlation between the increased certification fee for a particular fee category and 
the product that is ultimately purchased. This is because certain types of vehicles and 
equipment are built using emission control equipment from several different 
manufacturers. When this occurs, the added cost to a vehicle or piece of equipment 
under this proposed regulation will be their respective portion of multiple new 
certification fees, established by this proposed regulation. This cost analysis will 
identify those types of vehicles or equipment that incorporate multiple certification 
fees. 

For each mobile source category, the incremental costs per unit are calculated by 
dividing the total fee for that category equally over all new vehicles or equipment sold 
for that category. The total cost of the proposed regulation is then determined by 
applying a five percent additional financing cost over an average period of five years 
for those units that are expected to be purchased and financed by California 
businesses and individuals. Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix C, pages 135-138) 
shows the percentage of units for each category of vehicles that are expected to be 
purchased by California businesses and by individuals, respectively. These percentages 
are then used to calculate the total cost of the proposed regulation. 

1. Incremental Costs for Compliance with Certification Requirements for 
On-Road 

"On-Road” consists of nine types of products based on their unique certification 
requirements, each of which is tied to one or more distinct fee category and its 
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associated fee. In order to determine the total cost of compliance for each type of 
vehicle, staff identified the number of fee categories tied to each type of vehicle and 
the portion of the fees for each fee category type that will apply to each type of 
vehicle. The Total Fee cost that will apply to each vehicle category is calculated using 
these assumptions. The fee per unit is then calculated by dividing the proposed Total 
Fee for this category by the vehicle population for the category. Tables IX-E-1-1 
through IX-E-1-3 provide the total fees for the on-road category, the fees per unit for 
on-road vehicles and equipment, and the total incremental cost for the Proposed 
Regulation. 

Passenger Cars, Light-Duty Trucks, and Medium-Duty Vehicles (PC, LDT, MDV) 

This category of vehicle is certified using one fee category, which covers all emission 
certification requirements, including exhaust emission standards for both criteria 
pollutants and greenhouse gases and evaporative emission standards. 

Heavy-Duty Vehicles that Use an Engine 

For the purpose of this analysis, heavy-duty vehicles that use an engine are divided 
into two subcategories based on the number of fee categories that each receives: 
heavy-duty gasoline vehicles (HDV – gasoline), which receive three fee category 
approvals, and heavy-duty vehicles other than gasoline vehicles (HDV – not gasoline), 
which receive two fee category approvals. 

Heavy-duty gasoline vehicles and heavy-duty vehicles other than gasoline both receive 
an engine exhaust emission fee category approval, which includes both criteria 
pollutants and greenhouse gasses, and a tractor/vocational vehicle (greenhouse gas) 
fee category approval. Staff estimated the portion of the proposed regulation Total 
Fees for these shared fee categories that is attributed to these two categories using 
the sales split of 18 percent heavy-duty gasoline vehicles and 82 percent heavy-duty 
vehicles other than gasoline. 

The third fee category approval that heavy-duty gasoline vehicles receive is for 
certification to evaporative emission standards. Heavy-duty vehicles other than 
gasoline vehicles do not have evaporative emissions and, therefore, do not certify to 
these standards. 

Heavy-Duty Electric Vehicles 

Heavy-duty zero-emission vehicles can be certified using either the Zero-Emission 
Powertrain Test Procedure (HDV – ZEPCert) or the conventional route, in which the 
vehicle is certified in its entirety (HD ZEV – not ZEPCert). 

HDV – ZEPCert vehicles are certified using two fee category approvals, a ZEP 
approval, which replaces engine exhaust fee category approval, and an “Enhanced 
Fuel Cell or Electric Vehicle (tractor/vocational)” fee category approval that requires a 
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certified zero-emission powertrain. HD ZEV – not ZEPCert vehicles are certified using 
one fee category approval that covers the entire vehicle. 

Other On-Road Mobile Source Categories 
Heavy-Duty Trailers (HD Trailer) require two fee category approvals, one for the 
Heavy-Duty Greenhouse Gas Trailer and one for the Aerodynamic technology. 

Heavy-Duty Vehicles that Use Exempt Engines (HD – exempt), which requires one fee 
category approval. 

Fuel-fired Heaters Used in Heavy-Duty Vehicles, which require one approval letter. 
Street-Use Motorcycles, which require one fee category approval. 

Table IX-E-1-1. Incremental Fees for On-Road Category for Proposed 
Regulation over BAU Scenario 

Year 
PC, LDT, 

MDV 
HDV -

gasoline 
HDV – not 
gasoline 

HDV – 
ZEPCert 

HD ZEV 
– not 

ZEPCert 
HD Trailer 

HD -
exempt 

Fuel-
fired 

Heaters 
Motorcycles 

2022 $3,627,965 $202,040 $978,066 $29,430 $27,970 $93,507 $243 $97 $420,309 
2023 $8,661,213 $488,408 $2,364,360 $47,430 $45,075 $226,043 $588 $235 $978,675 
2024 $13,696,843 $777,257 $3,762,667 $56,610 $53,800 $359,727 $936 $374 $1,527,737 
2025 $14,080,354 $799,021 $3,868,022 $58,195 $55,306 $369,799 $962 $385 $1,570,514 
2026 $14,474,604 $821,393 $3,976,327 $59,825 $56,855 $380,154 $989 $396 $1,614,488 
2027 $14,879,893 $844,392 $4,087,664 $61,500 $58,447 $390,798 $1,017 $407 $1,659,694 
2028 $15,296,530 $868,035 $4,202,118 $63,222 $60,083 $401,740 $1,045 $418 $1,706,165 
2029 $15,724,833 $892,340 $4,319,778 $64,992 $61,766 $412,989 $1,074 $430 $1,753,938 
2030 $16,165,128 $917,326 $4,440,731 $66,812 $63,495 $424,553 $1,104 $442 $1,803,048 
2031 $16,617,752 $943,011 $4,565,072 $68,683 $65,273 $436,440 $1,135 $454 $1,853,534 

TOTAL $133,225,116 $7,553,223 $36,564,805 $576,698 $548,071 $3,495,750 $9,093 $3,637 $14,888,103 

Table IX-E-1-2. Incremental Fee per Unit over BAU Scenario for On-Road Vehicles 
and Equipment for Proposed Regulation 

Year 
PC, 
LDT, 
MDV 

HDV -
gasoline 

HDV – 
not 
gasoline 

HDV – 
ZEPCert 

HD ZEV 
– not 
ZEPCert 

HD 
Trailer 

HD -
exempt 

Fuel-
fired 
Heaters 

Motorcycles 

2022 $2.04 $24.85 $26.08 $272.50 $0.96 $13.29 $16.22 < $0.01 $12.21 
2023 $4.81 $58.67 $61.56 $395.25 $1.40 $31.50 $39.20 $0.01 $28.10 
2024 $7.51 $91.18 $95.67 $428.86 $1.86 $49.14 $62.38 $0.01 $43.35 
2025 $7.63 $91.53 $96.04 $404.13 $2.12 $49.53 $64.13 $0.01 $44.04 
2026 $7.75 $91.89 $96.42 $383.49 $2.42 $49.92 $65.93 $0.01 $44.73 
2027 $7.87 $92.25 $96.79 $366.07 $2.77 $50.31 $67.77 $0.01 $45.44 
2028 $8.00 $92.61 $97.17 $351.23 $3.16 $50.70 $69.67 $0.01 $46.16 
2029 $8.12 $92.97 $97.55 $338.50 $3.61 $51.10 $71.62 $0.01 $46.89 
2030 $8.25 $93.34 $97.93 $327.51 $4.12 $51.50 $73.63 $0.01 $47.63 
2031 $8.38 $93.70 $98.31 $317.97 $4.71 $51.90 $75.69 $0.01 $48.38 
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Table IX-E-1-3. Incremental Total Fees and Total Cost to Purchasers of Proposed 
Regulation for On-Road Category 

Year 
Incremental 
Total Fees 

Total Cost of Proposed 
Regulation1 

2022 $5,379,628 $1,242,558 
2023 $12,812,027 $4,201,813 
2024 $20,235,952 $8,875,808 
2025 $20,802,558 $13,680,675 
2026 $21,385,030 $18,620,078 
2027 $21,983,811 $22,455,226 
2028 $22,599,358 $24,715,853 
2029 $23,232,140 $25,407,896 
2030 $23,882,640 $26,119,318 
2031 $24,551,353 $26,850,659 
TOTAL $196,864,497 $172,169,888 

1 Total Cost = Total Fees plus 5% financing for businesses and individuals. Cost to 
purchasers are amortized over five years. 

2. Total New Costs for Compliance with Certification Requirements for 
Off-Road 

The “off-road mobile source” category can be split into eight types of vehicles and 
equipment, based on their unique certification requirements, each of which is tied to 
one or more distinct EO-series and its associated fee. As with the On-Road category, 
in order to determine the total cost of compliance for each type of vehicle, staff 
identified the number of EOs tied to each type of vehicle and the portion of the fees 
for each EO type that will apply to each type of vehicle. The Total Fee cost that will 
apply to each vehicle category is calculated using these assumptions. The fee per unit 
is then calculated by dividing the proposed Total Fee for this category by the vehicle 
population for the category. Tables IX-E-2-1 through IX-E-2-3 provide the total fees for 
the off-road category, the fees per unit for off-road vehicles and equipment, and the 
total cost for the Proposed Regulation. 

Off-Road Mobile Source Categories that Require Fee Category Approval 

Four of the seven off-road mobile source categories require only fee category 
approval. For these categories, 100 percent of the fee for the associated certification 
fee is allocated to that single category. These include: 

1. Off-Highway Recreational Vehicles (OHRV), which require one combined 
exhaust and evaporative emission approval. 

2. Electric Golf Carts, which require one “zero-emission vehicle” approval. 
3. Equipment and Vehicles that use Off-Road Compression Ignition Engines (CI 

Equipment), which require one approval. 

87 



 

 

   
 

 
  

 
  

 

 

   
 

   
  

   
 

 
  

  
    

   
 

 
  

     
 

   
   

    
  

    
 

  

   
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
        
        
        
        
        
        

4. Portable Fuel Containers and Portable Outboard Marine Tanks, which 
require one approval. 

Equipment that uses Multiple Fee Category Approvals 

Three of the off-road mobile source categories receive separate fee category 
approvals for certification to exhaust emission standards and certification to 
evaporative emission standards. These categories are also equipped with evaporative 
emission control system components that receive their own separate fee category 
approvals. 

The Total Fee for Spark ignition marine watercraft evaporative emission component 
approvals are included in the cost of spark-ignition marine watercraft. The Total Fees 
for evaporative emission control system component approvals are split between 
equipment that uses small off-road engines (SORE) and equipment that uses large 
spark-ignition (LSI) engines, using the sales split of 99 percent SORE and 1 percent LSI 
in 2018. 

The Total Fees attributed to each of these categories, based on number of 
applications, are calculated as follows: 

1. Equipment that uses LSI Engines (LSI Equipment) includes the Total Fees for 
two equipment fee category approvals (one Large spark ignition engine exhaust 
fee and one Large spark ignition evaporative emission fee) and includes one 
percent of the Total Fees for evaporative emission control system components 
approvals. 

2. Equipment that uses SORE (SORE Equipment) includes the Total Fees for two 
equipment fee category approvals (one SORE series engine exhaust fee and 
one SORE evaporative emission fee) and includes 99 percent of the Total Fees 
for SORE evaporative emission control system components. 

3. Spark-Ignition Marine Watercraft (SI Marine) includes the Total Fees for two 
equipment fee category approvals (one spark ignition marine engine exhaust 
fee and one spark ignition marine watercraft evaporative emission fee) and 100 
percent of the Total Fees for spark ignition marine watercraft evaporative 
emission components. 

Table IX-E-2-1. New Fees for Off-Road Category for Proposed Regulation 

Year OHRV 
Electric 
Golf 
Carts 

LSI 
Equipment 

SORE 
Equipment 

SI Marine 
CI 
Equipment 

Portable 
Container 
Products 

2022 $394,388 $3,367 $137,301 $1,457,548 $205,765 $764,078 $27,307 
2023 $540,416 $3,367 $197,185 $2,133,865 $271,435 $1,052,683 $39,254 
2024 $686,444 $3,367 $257,068 $2,810,182 $337,106 $1,341,289 $51,200 
2025 $686,444 $3,367 $257,068 $2,810,182 $337,106 $1,341,289 $51,200 
2026 $686,444 $3,367 $257,068 $2,810,182 $337,106 $1,341,289 $51,200 
2027 $686,444 $3,367 $257,068 $2,810,182 $337,106 $1,341,289 $51,200 
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Year OHRV 
Electric 
Golf 
Carts 

LSI 
Equipment 

SORE 
Equipment 

SI Marine 
CI 
Equipment 

Portable 
Container 
Products 

2028 $686,444 $3,367 $257,068 $2,810,182 $337,106 $1,341,289 $51,200 
2029 $686,444 $3,367 $257,068 $2,810,182 $337,106 $1,341,289 $51,200 
2030 $686,444 $3,367 $257,068 $2,810,182 $337,106 $1,341,289 $51,200 
2031 $686,444 $3,367 $257,068 $2,810,182 $337,106 $1,341,289 $51,200 
TOTAL $6,426,360 $33,666 $2,391,032 $26,072,867 $3,174,046 $12,547,069 $476,164 

Table IX-E-2-2. New Fee per Unit for Off-Road Vehicles and Equipment for 
Proposed Regulation 

Year OHRV Electric 
Golf 
Carts 

LSI 
Equipment 

SORE 
Equipment 

SI 
Marine 

CI 
Equipment 

Portable 
Container 
Products 

2022 $3.69 $0.17 $6.72 $0.37 $7.85 $6.41 $0.02 
2023 $4.96 $0.17 $9.57 $0.53 $10.24 $8.79 $0.03 
2024 $6.18 $0.17 $12.37 $0.70 $12.57 $11.14 $0.04 
2025 $6.07 $0.17 $12.27 $0.69 $12.42 $11.09 $0.04 
2026 $5.96 $0.17 $12.17 $0.69 $12.28 $11.03 $0.04 
2027 $5.85 $0.17 $12.07 $0.69 $12.14 $10.98 $0.04 
2028 $5.75 $0.17 $11.97 $0.68 $12.00 $10.92 $0.04 
2029 $5.64 $0.17 $11.88 $0.68 $11.86 $10.87 $0.04 
2030 $5.54 $0.17 $11.78 $0.67 $11.73 $10.82 $0.04 
2031 $5.44 $0.17 $11.68 $0.67 $11.59 $10.76 $0.04 

Table IX-E-2-3. New Total Fees and Total Cost to Purchasers of Proposed 
Regulation for Off-Road Category 

Year 
Total New 
Fees 

Total Cost 
of Proposed 
Regulation1 

2022 $2,989,754 $690,557 
2023 $4,238,205 $1,669,476 
2024 $5,486,656 $2,936,755 
2025 $5,486,656 $4,204,034 
2026 $5,486,656 $5,471,314 
2027 $5,486,656 $6,048,035 
2028 $5,486,656 $6,336,396 
2029 $5,486,656 $6,336,396 
2030 $5,486,656 $6,336,396 
2031 $5,486,656 $6,336,396 
TOTAL $51,121,203 $46,365,759 

1 Total Cost = Total Fees plus 5% financing for businesses and individuals. Costs to 
purchasers amortized over five years. 
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3. Total New Costs for Compliance with Certification Requirements for 
Aftermarket Parts 

For Aftermarket Parts, there is only one EO used to certify each category of part. The 
Total Costs for aftermarket parts is shown in Table IX-E-3-1. The Cost Per Unit values 
shown in Table IX-E-3-2. Table IX-E-3-3 provides the total cost for the Proposed 
Regulation. 

Table IX-E-3-1. Total New Fees for Aftermarket Parts by Category for Proposed 
Regulation 

Year Experimental 
Permits 

Fuel 
Tanks 

Alt. Fuel 
Retrofits Perf. Parts Cat. Conv. 

& DPF 
Motorcycle 
AMP 

2022 $10,346 $33,611 $193,435 $383,496 $120,000 $8,600 
2023 $10,346 $33,611 $193,435 $383,496 $120,000 $8,600 
2024 $10,346 $33,611 $193,435 $383,496 $120,000 $8,600 
2025 $10,346 $33,611 $193,435 $383,496 $120,000 $8,600 
2026 $10,346 $33,611 $193,435 $383,496 $120,000 $8,600 
2027 $10,346 $33,611 $193,435 $383,496 $120,000 $8,600 
2028 $10,346 $33,611 $193,435 $383,496 $120,000 $8,600 
2029 $10,346 $33,611 $193,435 $383,496 $120,000 $8,600 
2030 $10,346 $33,611 $193,435 $383,496 $120,000 $8,600 
2031 $10,346 $33,611 $193,435 $383,496 $120,000 $8,600 
TOTAL $103,456 $336,111 $1,934,352 $3,834,955 $1,200,000 $86,000 

Table IX-E-3-2. New Cost per Unit for Aftermarket Parts for Proposed Regulation 

Year 
Experimental 

Permits 
Fuel 

Tanks 
Alt. Fuel 
Retrofits 

Performance 
Parts 

Catalytic 
Conv. & 

DPF 

Motorcycle 
AMP 

2022 $164.22 $10.85 $268.66 $0.32 $0.38 $13.25 
2023 $164.22 $9.44 $268.66 $0.32 $0.38 $13.25 
2024 $164.22 $8.20 $268.66 $0.32 $0.38 $13.25 
2025 $164.22 $7.13 $268.66 $0.32 $0.38 $13.25 
2026 $164.22 $6.20 $268.66 $0.32 $0.38 $13.25 
2027 $164.22 $5.39 $268.66 $0.32 $0.38 $13.25 
2028 $164.22 $4.69 $268.66 $0.32 $0.38 $13.25 
2029 $164.22 $4.08 $268.66 $0.32 $0.38 $13.25 
2030 $164.22 $3.55 $268.66 $0.32 $0.38 $13.25 
2031 $164.22 $3.08 $268.66 $0.32 $0.38 $13.25 
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Table IX-E-3-3. New Total Fees and Cost to Purchasers of Aftermarket Parts for 
Proposed Regulation 

Year 
Total New 
Fees 

Total Cost 
of Proposed 
Regulation1 

2022 $749,487 $173,112 
2023 $749,487 $346,225 
2024 $749,487 $519,337 
2025 $749,487 $692,450 
2026 $749,487 $865,563 
2027 $749,487 $865,563 
2028 $749,487 $865,563 
2029 $749,487 $865,563 
2030 $749,487 $865,563 
2031 $749,487 $865,563 

TOTAL $7,494,875 $6,924,504 
1 Total Cost = Total Fees plus 5% financing for businesses and individuals, except that no 
financing costs were added to experimental permit. Total costs assumes that these costs 
will be passed on to purchasers. Purchaser costs amortized for five years. Aftermarket 
part manufacturers stated they will not be passing on these costs to purchasers. 

4. Total New Costs for Compliance with Certification Requirements for 
Diesel Emission Control Strategies 

For Diesel Emission Control Strategies or “Retrofits,” there is only one approval used 
to certify each category of part. Tables IX-E-4-1 through IX-E-4-3 provide the total fees 
for the retrofit category, the fees per unit for retrofit categories, and the total cost for 
the Proposed Regulation. 

Table IX-E-4-1. Total New Fees for Retrofits by Category for Proposed Regulation 

Year CHC Stationary 
CI 

APU TRU RTG On-
Road 

Off-Road Locomotive 

2022 $0 $47,132 $92,272 $144,493 $221 $2,213 $27,659 $184,344 
2023 $76,138 $54,079 $98,908 $154,885 $237 $0 $29,649 $276,516 
2024 $94,516 $67,133 $122,783 $192,271 $294 $0 $36,805 $368,688 
2025 $94,516 $67,133 $122,783 $77,443 $294 $0 $36,805 $368,688 
2026 $94,516 $67,133 $122,783 $38,721 $294 $0 $36,805 $368,688 
2027 $94,516 $67,133 $122,783 $0 $147 $0 $36,805 $368,688 
2028 $94,516 $67,133 $122,783 $0 $74 $0 $0 $368,688 
2029 $94,516 $67,133 $122,783 $0 $0 $0 $0 $368,688 
2030 $94,516 $67,133 $122,783 $0 $0 $0 $0 $368,688 
2031 $94,516 $67,133 $122,783 $0 $0 $0 $0 $368,688 
TOTAL $832,267 $638,275 $1,173,441 $607,813 $1,563 $2,213 $204,530 $3,410,364 
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Table IX-E-4-2. New Cost per Unit for Retrofits for Proposed Regulation 

Year CHC Stationary 
CI 

APU TRU RTG On-
Road 

Off-
Road 

Locomotive 

2022 $0.00 $221.28 $221.28 $221.28 $221.28 $221.28 $221.28 $12,289.60 
2023 $237.19 $237.19 $237.19 $237.19 $237.19 $0.00 $237.19 $18,434.40 
2024 $294.44 $277.41 $294.44 $294.44 $294.44 $0.00 $294.44 $24,579.20 
2025 $294.44 $262.24 $294.44 $0.00 $294.44 $0.00 $294.44 $24,579.20 
2026 $294.44 $247.72 $294.44 $0.00 $294.44 $0.00 $294.44 $24,579.20 
2027 $294.44 $235.55 $294.44 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $294.44 $24,579.20 
2028 $294.44 $224.52 $294.44 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $24,579.20 
2029 $294.44 $213.80 $294.44 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $24,579.20 
2030 $294.44 $204.67 $294.44 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $24,579.20 
2031 $294.44 $196.30 $294.44 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $24,579.20 

Table IX-E-4-3. Total New Fees and Cost to Purchasers for Retrofits for the 
Proposed Regulation 

Year 
Total New 

Fees 
Total Cost of 

Proposed Regulation1 

2022 $498,334 $115,102 
2023 $690,413 $274,570 
2024 $882,491 $478,403 
2025 $767,662 $655,714 
2026 $728,941 $824,081 
2027 $690,072 $868,368 
2028 $653,193 $859,771 
2029 $653,120 $806,792 
2030 $653,120 $780,335 
2031 $653,120 $762,823 

TOTAL $6,870,465 $6,425,963 
1 Total Cost = Total Fees plus 5% financing for businesses and individuals. Purchaser costs 
amortized over five years 

5. Total New Costs for Compliance with Certification Requirements for 
At-Berth Technologies 

California regulations require ocean-going vessels to reduce emissions from diesel 
auxiliary engines on container vessels, reefer vessels, and passenger cruise vessels, 
while berthing at a California port. At-berth, auxiliary engines are used by vessels to 
run power for lighting, ventilation, pumps, communication, heating, and other on-
board equipment while a vessel is docked. Container, reefer, and cruise vessel fleets 
that visit specified California ports, as described below, are the regulated parties. The 
California ports included in the existing regulation are Ports of Los Angeles, Long 
Beach, Oakland, Richmond, San Diego, San Francisco, and Hueneme. 
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The existing regulation provides fleet operators two different pathway options to 
comply: the Reduced On-board Power Generation option or the Equivalent Emissions 
Reduction option. 

The Equivalent Emissions Reduction pathway requires a percentage reduction of 
emissions below a fleet’s baseline levels. Fleets following this pathway can comply 
using shore power or a CARB approved alternative control technology, such as a 
barge-based capture and control system or a land-based emissions capture and 
control system. 

For At-Berth Alternative Emission Control Technology, there is only one approval used 
to certify each system. Table IX-E-5-1 shows the total fees, the fee per visit, and the 
total cost for the Proposed Regulation for At-Berth Technologies. 

Table IX-E-5-1. New Fee per Visit, Total Fees, and Total Cost of Proposed 
Regulation for At-Berth Technologies 

Year 
Fee per 

Visit 
Total Fees Total Cost of Proposed 

Regulation1 

2022 $146.03 $194,494 $44,923 
2023 $146.03 $203,382 $91,899 
2024 $146.03 $212,270 $140,928 
2025 $146.03 $212,270 $189,957 
2026 $146.03 $212,270 $238,986 
2027 $146.03 $212,270 $243,092 
2028 $146.03 $212,270 $245,145 
2029 $146.03 $212,270 $245,145 
2030 $146.03 $212,270 $245,145 
2031 $146.03 $212,270 $245,145 

TOTAL $2,096,035 $1,930,367 
1 Total Cost = Total Fees plus 5% financing for businesses. Total costs amortized over 
five years. 

6. Total Incremental and New Costs of Compliance with the Proposed 
Regulation for All Mobile Source Categories 

The total cost of compliance with the proposed regulation for all mobile source 
categories is presented in Table IX-E-6-1. The second column, Total Fees, is the total 
of all certification fees that are expected to be paid by manufacturers for 2022 
through 2031 under the proposed regulation. Total Fees are calculated based on the 
assumption that the fees for on-road mobile sources will increase by 2.8 percent per 
year (averaged CPI value) and all other fees remain unchanged from year to year. The 
second column, Total Cost of the Proposed Regulation, is the total actual cost that is 
expected to be paid by purchasers of mobile sources due to the increase in 
certification fees. These figures were generated from amortization tables assuming 5 
percent interest over an average loan period of five years. As all items subject to the 
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proposed regulation are financed in more than 95 percent of purchases (businesses 
and households), applying amortization costs provides a more realistic perspective on 
how the Proposed Regulation will impact the affected industries. Year 2022 shows 
only the payments due that year in the loan structure, about one-fifth of the total 
amount financed, and the yearly amounts increases per the amortization structure. The 
Grand Total of the column titled “Total Cost of Proposed Regulation” is less than the 
total of the column titled “Total Fees” because the government will receive the fees 
upfront, the passed on fees to industries are paid in spread out financing installments 
and thus are delayed. No financing costs are added for either Local or State 
government purchases. 

Table IX-E-6-1. Total Incremental and New Cost of Compliance with the Proposed 
Regulation for All Mobile Source Categories 

Year Total Fees 
Total Cost of 

Proposed Regulation1 

2022 $9,811,698 $2,266,254 
2023 $18,693,514 $6,583,985 
2024 $27,566,855 $12,951,234 
2025 $28,018,633 $19,422,832 
2026 $28,562,384 $26,020,023 
2027 $29,122,296 $30,480,285 
2028 $29,700,964 $33,022,728 
2029 $30,333,672 $33,661,793 
2030 $30,984,172 $34,346,758 
2031 $31,652,886 $35,060,586 

TOTAL $264,447,075 $233,816,482 
1 Total Cost = Total Fees plus 5% financing for businesses and individuals. Total costs 
amortized over five years. 

F. Direct Costs to Typical Businesses 

Since the proposed amendments only increase certification fees that are paid upfront 
by manufacturers, there will be no ongoing costs associated with the proposed 
regulation. It is assumed in this analysis that for all product categories, except for 
aftermarket parts and marine watercraft, manufacturers will pass along 100 percent of 
the certification fee increases to purchasers of the products. Manufacturers of 
aftermarket parts and marine watercraft have indicated to CARB that they do not plan 
to increase the price of their products to recoup any new certification fees. 

The cost impacts to a typical business under the proposed regulation would depend 
primarily on how many new vehicles or other products the business purchases per year 
and the purchase year. For each category, CARB estimated the total fees expected to 
be collected under the proposed regulation and then apportioned the total fees 
expected to be passed through each year between business, individuals, local 

94 



 

 

    
  

   
   

 
  

    
  

 

   

 

       

 

 
 

         

         

        

        

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

      
     

 
  

 
   

   

                                            

  
     

 

government entities, and state government entities that purchase each product. 
Appendix C of the Revised SRIA shows the percentage of sales for each category that 
are assumed to be purchased by California businesses.5 The total cost to all California 
businesses, presented in Table IX-F-1, assumes that purchases are financed at a 
5 percent financing rate. 

The estimated costs to businesses for aftermarket parts in Table IX-D-1 are a “worst 
case” scenario that assumes manufacturers of aftermarket parts will pass along fee 
costs to purchasers. If manufacturers of aftermarket parts do not pass along fee costs 
to purchasers of the products, the costs in column 4 will only include the portion of the 
aftermarket parts fees that will be paid by California manufacturers (i.e., 17 percent of 
the total aftermarket parts fees). (See footnote 3 to Table IX-F-1.) All amortization 
figures were calculated using the same amortization structure explained above. An 
average loan period of five years and a 5 percent interest rate were applied, as the 
vast majority of all items affected by the proposed regulation are financed. 

Table IX-F-1. Total Costs to California Businesses with the Proposed Regulation1 

Year On-Road 
Vehicles 

Off-Road 
Equipment2 

Aftermarke 
t Parts3 Retrofit At-Berth Totals 

Total Costs 
with 

Amortization 
Costs 

2022 $1,470,811 $1,404,081 $226,105 $495,398 $194,008 $3,790,403 $875,487 

2023 $3,510,974 $1,984,870 $226,105 $691,027 $202,873 $6,615,849 $2,403,581 

2024 $5,551,960 $2,565,658 $226,105 $884,525 $211,739 $9,439,988 $4,583,981 

2025 $5,707,415 $2,565,658 $226,105 $763,955 $211,739 $9,474,873 $6,772,438 

2026 $5,867,223 $2,565,658 $226,105 $723,298 $211,739 $9,594,023 $8,988,415 

2027 $6,031,505 $2,565,658 $226,105 $682,331 $211,739 $9,717,339 $10,357,388 

2028 $6,200,387 $2,565,658 $226,105 $665,734 $211,739 $9,869,624 $11,108,928 

2029 $6,373,998 $2,565,658 $226,105 $665,734 $211,739 $10,043,235 $11,248,263 

2030 $6,552,470 $2,565,658 $226,105 $665,734 $211,739 $10,221,707 $11,420,763 

2031 $6,735,939 $2,565,658 $226,105 $665,734 $211,739 $10,405,176 $11,608,119 

TOTAL $54,002,682 $23,914,217 $2,261,051 $6,903,473 $2,090,795 $89,172,219 $79,367,367 
1 Total Cost = Total Fees plus 5% financing. Financing is not applied to Experimental Permits 
(Aftermarket Parts EO), because the vehicles are retained by the manufacturers and are never sold to 
consumers. 
2 It is assumed that businesses do not purchase marine watercraft. So these costs are not changed if 
manufacturers of these products do not pass through fees to purchasers of the products. 
3 If manufacturers of aftermarket parts do not pass through fees to purchasers of the products, the 
total cost to California businesses will only include the portion of the aftermarket parts fees that will be 

5 The complete purchase splits are between business, individuals, local government 
entities, and state government entities are in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix C, 
Pages 135-138). 
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paid by California manufacturers. This will reduce the cost to California businesses to $128,246 each 
year, for a total of $1,282,456 for 2022-2031. 

G. Direct Costs to Small Businesses 

It is assumed in this analysis that for all product categories except for aftermarket parts 
and marine watercraft, manufacturers will pass along 100 percent of the certification 
fee increases to purchasers of the products. Since the proposed fees will cover 
certification of all new mobile sources, staff assumes that all California businesses will 
bear some of the costs of the proposed regulation and the direct costs on California 
small businesses will be proportional to the percentage of California businesses that 
are small businesses. Staff used data compiled by the California Employment 
Development Department, which indicates that in 2019, approximate 98 percent of 
California businesses had fewer than 100 employees, to estimate the direct cost of this 
proposed regulation on California small businesses. For the At-Berth Alternative 
Emission Control Technology category, the cost to California small businesses is 
expected to be zero, because use of this technology is limited to major shipping 
companies and local governments. All amortization figures were calculated using the 
same amortization structure explained in Section D. An average loan period of five 
years and a 5 percent interest rate were applied, as the vast majority of all items 
affected by the proposed regulation are financed. 

For aftermarket parts and marine watercraft, the direct cost on California small 
businesses was estimated based on the percentage of manufacturers for each of these 
categories that are California small businesses. Using the Dunn and Bradstreet 
database, staff estimated that 12 percent of manufacturers that certify and sell 
aftermarket parts in California are California small businesses and 7 percent of 
manufacturers that receive EOs for spark ignition marine watercraft (including those 
that certify engines, evaporative emission control systems, and evaporative emission 
components) are California small businesses. 

As mentioned in Section D, there are only initial costs and no ongoing costs to the 
proposed regulation, because certification fees that are paid upfront by 
manufacturers. Tables IX-G-1 through IX-G-3 provide the total costs to California small 
business purchasers, the total costs to California small business manufacturers, and the 
total costs to all California small businesses under the Proposed Regulation. The costs 
to California small business manufacturers are not amortized, because they are equal 
to the fees paid by the manufacturers. 
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Table IX-G-1. Total Costs to California Small Business Purchasers under the 
Proposed Regulation1 

Year 
On-Road 
Vehicles 

Off-Road 
Mobile 

Sources2 

Aftermarket 
Parts3 Retrofits At-Berth4 Total 

Amortized Total 
Costs 

2022 $1,441,395 $1,375,999 $0 $485,490 $0 $3,302,885 $762,883 

2023 $3,440,754 $1,945,172 $0 $677,207 $0 $6,063,133 $2,163,314 

2024 $5,440,921 $2,514,345 $0 $866,835 $0 $8,822,101 $4,200,997 

2025 $5,593,267 $2,514,345 $0 $748,676 $0 $8,856,288 $6,246,576 

2026 $5,749,878 $2,514,345 $0 $708,832 $0 $8,973,056 $8,319,126 

2027 $5,910,875 $2,514,345 $0 $668,685 $0 $9,093,905 $9,656,706 

2028 $6,076,379 $2,514,345 $0 $652,420 $0 $9,243,144 $10,391,208 

2029 $6,246,518 $2,514,345 $0 $652,420 $0 $9,413,283 $10,527,756 

2030 $6,421,421 $2,514,345 $0 $652,420 $0 $9,588,185 $10,696,806 

2031 $6,601,220 $2,514,345 $0 $652,420 $0 $9,767,985 $10,880,415 

TOTAL $52,922,629 $23,435,933 $0 $6,765,404 $0 $83,123,966 $73,845,789 

1 Total Cost = Total Fees plus 5% financing. Financing is not applied to Experimental Permits 
(Aftermarket Parts EO), because the vehicles are retained by the manufacturers and are never 
sold to consumers. 
2 It is assumed that businesses do not purchase spark-ignition marine watercraft. So these 
costs are not changed if manufacturers of these products do not pass through fees to 
purchasers of the products. 
3 It is assumed that manufacturers of aftermarket parts do not pass through fees to purchasers 
of the products. If manufacturers of aftermarket parts decide to pass through fees to 
purchasers, the costs per year in this column will be approximately 98 percent of the costs to 
business purchasers in Table IX-F-1 and the yearly costs to aftermarket parts manufacturers in 
Table IX-E-3-2 will be $0. 
4 Use of this technology is limited to major shipping companies and local governments, so it 
does not affect California small businesses. 
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Table IX-G-2. Total Costs to California Small Business Manufacturers with the 
Proposed regulation1 

Year 
Spark-Ignition 

Marine Watercraft2,3 
Aftermarket 

Parts4 Total 

2022 $15,305 $89,938 $105,243 
2023 $20,189 $89,938 $110,128 
2024 $25,074 $89,938 $115,012 
2025 $25,074 $89,938 $115,012 
2026 $25,074 $89,938 $115,012 
2027 $25,074 $89,938 $115,012 
2028 $25,074 $89,938 $115,012 
2029 $25,074 $89,938 $115,012 
2030 $25,074 $89,938 $115,012 
2031 $25,074 $89,938 $115,012 

TOTAL $236,086 $899,385 $1,135,471 
1 For all categories except aftermarket parts and marine watercraft, it is assumed that 
manufacturers pass through fees to purchasers of the products. Therefore, costs to California 
small businesses for the other categories are ascribed to the purchaser rather than the 
manufacturer. 
2 Spark-ignition marine watercraft are a subset of the Off-Road Mobile Source category. 
3 It is assumed that 7 percent of manufacturers that receive EOs for spark-ignition marine 
watercraft are California small businesses. 
4 It is assumed that 12 percent of aftermarket part manufacturers that apply for approvals are 
California small businesses. 
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Table IX-G-3. Total Costs to All California Small Businesses with the Proposed 
Regulation1 

Year Total Cost Total Amortized Cost 
2022 $3,408,128 $787,192 
2023 $6,173,261 $2,213,059 
2024 $8,937,114 $4,277,307 
2025 $8,971,301 $6,349,452 
2026 $9,088,068 $8,448,567 
2027 $9,208,917 $9,788,403 
2028 $9,358,157 $10,524,033 
2029 $9,528,295 $10,660,581 
2030 $9,703,198 $10,829,631 
2031 $9,882,998 $11,013,240 

TOTAL $84,259,437 $73,317,082 
1 Includes small business purchaser costs, which are amortized, and small business 
manufacturer costs, which are equal to the fees paid by the businesses. 

H. Direct Costs to Individuals 

The direct costs to individuals are assumed to be only initial purchase costs that are 
due to increased costs of vehicles and equipment purchased by individuals. A five 
percent financing cost over an average loan period of five years is applied to 
purchasing costs by individuals, consistent with Section C. There are no ongoing costs 
to individuals. 

The most important factor for assessing the impact on individuals is the increased cost 
per vehicle or piece of equipment due to the proposed regulation. (See 
Tables IX-E-1-2, IX-E-2-2, IX-E-3-2, IX-E-4-2, and IX-E-5-2.) 

The direct cost to individuals is calculated by multiplying the Total Fee (Table IX-E-6-1) 
for a category by the percentage of the vehicle/equipment/ or use of the product 
affected by the fee that is purchased or used by individuals. Appendix B (Revised 
SRIA, Appendix C, Pages 135-138) shows the percentage of sales for each category 
that are assumed to be purchased by individuals. An additional five percent financing 
cost is then applied to all purchases by individuals. The Cost per Household is 
calculated by dividing the Total Cost by 12,965,400 California households. As the total 
amortized impact throughout the lifetime of the Proposed Regulation is $12.29, with a 
yearly average of $1.23, and there is an even impact of costs and policies throughout 
the Californian economy, (to businesses and households alike), the Proposed 
Regulation appears to not produce any disparate impacts. Table IX-H-1 provides total 
costs to individuals with the Proposed Regulation. 
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Table IX-H-1. Total Costs to Individuals with the Proposed Regulation1 

Year On-Road 
Vehicles 

Off-Road 
Equipment2 

Aftermarket 
Parts3 Retrofits At-

Berth 

Non-
Amortized 
Total4 

Cost 
per 
House-
hold 

Amortized 
Total 

Amortized 
Cost per 
Household 

2022 $4,069,742 $1,720,832 $557,516 $5,879 $0 $6,353,969 $0.49 $1,467,606 $0.11 
2023 $9,694,550 $2,444,998 $557,516 $6,301 $0 $12,703,365 $0.98 $4,401,763 $0.34 
2024 $15,313,769 $3,169,164 $557,516 $7,822 $0 $19,048,271 $1.47 $8,801,434 $0.68 
2025 $15,742,554 $3,169,164 $557,516 $7,822 $0 $19,477,056 $1.50 $13,300,143 $1.03 
2026 $16,183,346 $3,169,164 $557,516 $7,822 $0 $19,917,848 $1.54 $17,900,664 $1.38 
2027 $16,636,480 $3,169,164 $557,516 $7,822 $0 $20,370,982 $1.57 $21,138,241 $1.63 
2028 $17,102,301 $3,169,164 $557,516 $0 $0 $20,828,981 $1.61 $23,015,053 $1.78 
2029 $17,581,165 $3,169,164 $557,516 $0 $0 $21,307,845 $1.64 $23,536,958 $1.82 
2030 $18,073,438 $3,169,164 $557,516 $0 $0 $21,800,118 $1.68 $24,073,527 $1.86 
2031 $18,579,494 $3,169,164 $557,516 $0 $0 $22,306,174 $1.72 $24,625,170 $1.90 
TOTAL $148,976,840 $29,519,138 $5,575,161 $43,470 $0 $184,114,609 $14.20 $162,260,563 $12.29 

1 Total Cost = Total Fees plus 5% financing. 
2 If manufacturers of marine watercraft do not pass through fees to purchasers of the products, 
these costs will be $215,983 lower in 2022, $284,915 lower in 2023, and $353,846 lower each 
year from 2024 through 2031 than the numbers presented in this table. 
3 If manufacturers of aftermarket parts do not pass through fees to purchasers of the products, 
these costs will not be borne by individual purchasers. 
4 If manufacturers of both marine watercraft and aftermarket parts do not pass through fees to 
purchasers of the products, these costs will be $773,499 lower in 2022, $842,431 lower in 
2023, and $911,362 lower each year from 2024 through 2031 than the numbers presented in 
this table. 

I. Fiscal Impacts to Local and State Governments 

The fiscal costs for local and state government are calculated based on the percentage 
of the vehicle/equipment/ or use of the product affected by the fee that is purchased 
or used by each government entity. Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Appendix C, Pages 
135-138) shows the percentage of sales for each category that are assumed to be 
purchased by each of these government entities. For costs that local and state 
agencies will pay, it is assumed that neither local nor state governments finance their 
purchases, which is consistent with the assumptions made in the SRIA for the Heavy-
Duty Omnibus Rulemaking.6 No state implementation costs were identified from the 
analysis. 

1. Local government 

The fiscal impact (costs) to Local government is calculated by multiplying the Total Fee 
(Table IX-E-6-1) for a category by the percentage of the vehicle/equipment/ or use of 

6 See Appendix C-1 of the California Air Resources Board, 2020b. Original SRIA Submitted to DOF: 
Heavy-Duty Omnibus Rulemaking Initial Statement of Reasons. 
https://ww3.arb.ca.gov/regact/2020/hdomnibuslownox/appc1.pdf. Accessed August 27, 2020. 
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the product affected by the fee that is purchased or used by Local governments, as 
shown in the tables above. Tables IX-I-1-1 and IX-I-1-2 provide the costs to local 
government due to increased cost of purchases and the change in sale tax revenue. 

Table IX-I-1-1. Costs to Local Government with the Proposed Regulation 

Year 
On-Road 
Vehicles 

Off-Road 
Equipment 

Aftermarket 
Parts1 Retrofits At-Berth Total 

2022 $91,293 $12,273 $672 $13,725 $9,725 $127,688 
2023 $207,461 $17,403 $672 $18,238 $10,169 $253,944 
2024 $319,630 $22,534 $672 $22,641 $10,613 $376,090 
2025 $328,580 $22,534 $672 $22,641 $10,613 $385,040 
2026 $337,780 $22,534 $672 $22,641 $10,613 $394,240 
2027 $347,238 $22,534 $672 $22,641 $10,613 $403,698 
2028 $356,961 $22,534 $672 $12,844 $10,613 $403,623 
2029 $366,955 $22,534 $672 $12,844 $10,613 $413,618 
2030 $377,230 $22,534 $672 $12,844 $10,613 $423,893 
2031 $387,793 $22,534 $672 $12,844 $10,613 $434,455 

TOTAL $3,120,921 $209,944 $6,722 $173,900 $104,802 $3,616,289 
1 If manufacturers of aftermarket parts do not pass through fees to purchasers of the products, 
these costs will not be borne by local government purchasers. 

Sales taxes are levied in California to fund a variety of programs at the state and local 
level. For this analysis, the CARB staff assumed an average of 4.56 percent local sales 
tax revenues based on how the state sales tax is apportioned plus an average of local 
additional sales taxes. This leads to a year over year net increase in local sales tax 
revenue totaling $10.9 million over the modeled lifetime. 

Table IX-I-1-2. Change in Local Government Sales Tax Revenue with the Proposed 
Regulation Compared to Business as Usual (BAU) Scenario 

Year 
Change in Local Government 

Sales Tax Revenue ($) 
2022 $105,870 
2023 $307,608 
2024 $605,175 
2025 $907,728 
2026 $1,216,198 
2027 $1,424,894 
2028 $1,543,996 
2029 $1,574,134 
2030 $1,606,447 
2031 $1,640,152 
Total $10,932,202 
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2. State Government 

The overall fiscal impact of the proposed regulation is projected to be added revenues 
to the State in the range of $10 million to $20 million each year during the phase-in of 
the proposed fees (2022 and 2023) and approximately $30 million each year from 
2024 through 2031, with a total revenue of almost $300 million during the lifetime of 
the proposed regulation. In order to estimate these revenue, staff estimated the 
additional fees that are expected to be collected by CARB each year under the 
proposed regulation compared to the Business as Usual scenario (Table IX-I-2-2) and 
the additional State sales tax that is expected to be collected each year (Table IX-I-2-
3). Then staff estimated the passed on cost of the proposed regulation’s requirements 
each year to all State agencies including CARB (Table IX-I-2-4). The additional fees 
collected plus the additional sales tax minus the additional purchase price of vehicles 
and equipment by State agencies gives the revenue to the State. 

a) Revenue to CARB 

Under the BAU scenario, the certification fees collected from manufacturers will be 
increasingly insufficient to cover costs to CARB. Table IX-I-2-1 shows the estimated 
total certification and compliance costs for 2022 through 2031, the expected fees that 
will be collected under the BAU scenario, and the additional costs to CARB that will 
not be covered by the collected fees. As previously discussed, certification and 
compliance costs that are not covered by fees must be covered by other sources of 
funding, such as the Air Pollution Control Fund, the Motor Vehicle Account, and the 
Vehicle Inspection and Repair Fund. 
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Table IX-I-2-1. Revenues to CARB for 2022 through 2031 for BAU Scenario 

Year 
Total Certification 
and Compliance 

Fiscal Costs 

Expected Fees 
Collected for BAU 

Scenario7 

Program funding from 
Existing Budgeted Sources 

(APCF, MVA, VIRF and others) 
2022 $49,636,366 $10,809,783 $38,826,583 
2023 $50,680,751 $11,112,456 $39,568,295 
2024 $51,754,380 $11,423,605 $40,330,775 
2025 $52,689,411 $11,743,466 $40,945,945 
2026 $53,739,675 $12,072,283 $41,667,392 
2027 $54,821,450 $12,410,307 $42,411,143 
2028 $55,955,770 $12,757,795 $43,197,975 
2029 $57,188,234 $13,115,014 $44,073,220 
2030 $58,455,339 $13,482,234 $44,973,105 
2031 $59,757,924 $13,859,737 $45,898,187 

TOTAL $544,679,301 $122,786,682 $421,892,620 

Table IX-I-2-2 shows the estimated certification and compliance costs for 2022 through 
2031, the expected fees that will be collected with the proposed regulation and under 
the BAU scenario, and the revenue to CARB due to the proposed regulation. The last 
column shows the revenue to CARB with the proposed regulation, as compared to the 
business as usual scenario. 

7 The total fees expected to be collected in 2022 through 2031 assumes that the 2018 certification fees 
are increased by a 2.8% CPI per year between 2018 and 2031. Fees for all other categories do not 
change. 
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Table IX-I-2-2. Revenue to CARB for 2022 through 2031 with the Proposed 
Regulation8 

Year 

Total 
Certification 

and Compliance 
Costs 

Expected 
Fees 

Collected with 
Proposed 
Regulation 

Expected Fees 
Collected under 
BAU Scenario 

Additional Fees 
Collected (Revenue 

to CARB) with 
Proposed Regulation 

2022 $49,636,366 $20,621,481 $10,809,783 $9,811,698 
2023 $50,680,751 $29,805,970 $11,112,456 $18,693,514 
2024 $51,754,380 $38,990,460 $11,423,605 $27,566,855 
2025 $52,689,411 $39,762,099 $11,743,466 $28,018,633 
2026 $53,739,675 $40,634,667 $12,072,283 $28,562,384 
2027 $54,821,450 $41,532,603 $12,410,307 $29,122,296 
2028 $55,955,770 $42,458,760 $12,757,796 $29,700,964 
2029 $57,188,234 $43,448,686 $13,115,014 $30,333,672 
2030 $58,455,339 $44,466,406 $13,482,234 $30,984,172 
2031 $59,757,924 $45,512,623 $13,859,737 $31,652,886 

TOTAL $544,679,301 $387,233,757 $122,786,682 $264,447,075 

b) Revenue to State Government 

Sales taxes are levied in California to fund a variety of programs at the state and local 
level. For this analysis, state sales tax was assumed to remain constant until 2040 with 
3.53 percent being for state programs and the general fund. This leads to an increase 
in state sales tax revenue starting in 2022 of approximately $89,227. Over the 
modeled life of the regulation, the state will gain $9.2 million in sales tax revenue 
compared to the baseline scenario. 

8 The total fees expected to be collected in 2022 through 2031 assumes that the proposed 2022 
certification fees for on-road vehicles and equipment only are increased by a 2.8% CPI per year between 
2022 and 2031. Fees for all other categories do not change. 
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Table IX-I-2-3. Change in State Sales Tax Revenues for Proposed Regulation 

Calendar 
Year 

Revenue ($) 

2022 $89,227 
2023 $259,225 
2024 $509,916 
2025 $764,716 
2026 $1,024,460 
2027 $1,200,070 
2028 $1,300,171 
2029 $1,325,332 
2030 $1,352,301 
2031 $1,380,405 

Total $9,205,823 

c) Costs Incurred by All State Agencies, Including CARB 

The only costs incurred by State government are due to increased costs of vehicles 
and equipment purchased by State agencies as shown in Table IX-I-2-4. 

Table IX-I-2-4. Costs Incurred by All State Agencies with the Proposed Regulation 

Year On-Road 
Vehicles 

Off-Road 
Equipment 

Aftermarket 
Parts1 Retrofits At-Berth Total 

2022 $21,523 $5,876 $1,681 $2,705 $0 $31,785 
2023 $51,823 $8,494 $1,681 $2,956 $0 $64,954 
2024 $82,306 $11,113 $1,681 $3,670 $0 $98,770 
2025 $84,610 $11,113 $1,681 $3,670 $0 $101,074 
2026 $86,979 $11,113 $1,681 $3,670 $0 $103,443 
2027 $89,415 $11,113 $1,681 $3,670 $0 $105,879 
2028 $91,918 $11,113 $1,681 $1,074 $0 $105,786 
2029 $94,492 $11,113 $1,681 $1,074 $0 $108,360 
2030 $97,138 $11,113 $1,681 $1,074 $0 $111,006 
2031 $99,858 $11,113 $1,681 $1,074 $0 $113,726 

TOTAL $800,063 $103,275 $16,806 $24,638 $0 $944,782 
1 If manufacturers of aftermarket parts do not pass through fees to purchasers of the 
products, these costs will not be borne by State government purchasers. 
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d) Total Fiscal Impacts on State Government Due to the 
Proposed Regulation 

Table IX-I-2-5 shows the complete fiscal impact of this Proposed Regulation upon the 
State of California. 

Table IX-I-2-5. Total Fiscal Impact on State Government Due to the Proposed 
Regulation 

Year Increase in 
Revenue to CARB 

($ gain) 

Increase in 
Sales Tax 
Revenue 
($ gain) 

Costs from 
State 

Purchases 
($ loss) 

Total Fiscal 
Impact of 
Proposed 
Regulation 

2022 $9,811,698 $89,227 -$31,785 $9,869,140 
2023 $18,693,514 $259,225 -$64,954 $18,887,785 
2024 $27,566,855 $509,916 -$98,770 $27,978,001 
2025 $28,018,633 $764,716 -$101,074 $28,682,275 
2026 $28,562,384 $1,024,460 -$103,443 $29,483,401 
2027 $29,122,296 $1,200,070 -$105,879 $30,216,487 
2028 $29,700,964 $1,300,171 -$105,786 $30,895,349 
2029 $30,333,672 $1,325,332 -$108,360 $31,550,644 
2030 $30,984,172 $1,352,301 -$111,006 $32,225,467 
2031 $31,652,886 $1,380,405 -$113,726 $32,919,565 
TOTAL $264,447,074 $9,205,823 -$944,783 $272,708,114 

J. Macroeconomic Impacts 

The modeling methodology and REMI specifications can be found in the SRIA, 
published on the California Department of Finance’s website on the Major Regulations 
page. 

1. The creation or elimination of jobs within the State of California. 

The following table presents the impact of the Proposed Regulation on total 
employment in California across all industries. Employment comprises estimates of the 
number of jobs, full-time plus part-time, by place of work for all industries. Full-time 
and part-time jobs are counted at equal weight. Employees, sole proprietors, and 
active partners are included, but unpaid family workers and volunteers are not 
included. The employment impacts represent the net change in employment, which 
consist of positive impacts for some industries and negative impacts for others. The 
Proposed Regulation is estimated to result in a positive job growth from 2022 to 2028 
then negative job growth from 2029 to 2031. These changes in employment represent 
less than 0.01 percent of baseline California employment. There is an increase in 
employment of 491 jobs in the year with the greatest positive impact, and the smallest 
increase being 84 jobs in the year as the smallest impact with no job losses projected 
during the period of analysis. 
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Table IX-J-1. California Employment Impacts of the Proposed Regulation 

California Employment Impacts 

Calendar 
Year 

Change in 
Total Jobs 

Change California 
Employment 

2022 366 0.00% 21,758,117 

2023 448 0.00% 22,604,362 

2024 491 0.00% 23,202,217 

2025 357 0.00% 23,781,813 

2026 223 0.00% 24,350,687 

2027 139 0.00% 24,725,833 

2028 97 0.00% 24,712,297 

2029 85 0.00% 24,753,756 

2030 84 0.00% 24,751,334 

2031 90 0.00% 24,765,475 

All of the Industries showing impacts to employment in individual years at levels over 
25 jobs per individual year in the period of analysis are as follows: Construction 
(NAICS 23) Manufacturing (NAICS 31-33), Motor Vehicle Manufacturing (NAICS 3361), 
Retail and Wholesale Trade (NAICS 42, 44-45), Transportation (NAICS 48). 

2. The creation of new business or the elimination of existing businesses 
within the State of California. 

The Proposed Regulation is not anticipated to directly cause the creation or 
elimination of any businesses. No businesses are expected to be created, because the 
Proposed Regulation does not incentivize new business creation. Rather, it only 
changes the fee structure for CARB’s mobile source certification and compliance 
programs. No businesses are expected to be eliminated, since costs will be passed on 
to purchasers of the products. In addition, as costs are passed on the end user 
experiences a relatively small impact. The typical fees per unit are less than one 
percent of average purchase price and were determined to have a negligible impact 
on purchasing behavior and emission activity. 
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While the REMI model cannot directly estimate the creation or elimination of 
businesses, changes in output for the California economy can be used to understand 
some potential inputs. Gross output is used as a measure for business impacts 
because it represents an industry’s sales or receipts and tracks the total quantity of 
goods or services produced in a given time period. Output growth is the sum of 
output in each private industry and state and local government as it contributes to 
California’s GSP, and is affected by production cost and demand changes. As 
production cost increases or demand decreases, output is expected to contract, but as 
production costs decline or demand increases, industry would likely experience output 
growth. Output growth indicates more favorable circumstances for the formation of 
new businesses. 

As shown in the table below, the Proposed Regulation is anticipated to have a very 
negligible impact on California Output, relative to the California economy. For each 
year in the lifetime, changes in the output of the Californian economy are measured in 
incremental changes in dollars, percentages and the aggregate total output in the 
Californian Economy. As the percentage change for each year is less than 0.01 percent 
and is therefore unlikely to affect business formation or elimination. 

Table IX-J-2. California Output Impacts of the Proposed Regulation 

California Output Impacts 

Calendar 
Year 

Change in 
Total Value 
(2018M$) 

% Change Agg. Total Value 
(2018M$) 

2022 62.2 0.00% 4,273,546 

2023 74.91 0.00% 4,425,730 

2024 81.95 0.00% 4,599,802 

2025 58.04 0.00% 4,767,863 

2026 33.63 0.00% 4,931,115 

2027 17.41 0.00% 5,041,181 

2028 8.46 0.00% 5,095,697 

2029 4.91 0.00% 5,165,307 

2030 4.91 0.00% 5,231,806 

2031 3.91 0.00% 5,305,182 
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3. The expansion of businesses currently doing business within the State 
of California. 

Please refer to Section J.2. 

4. Significant Statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting 
business, including ability to compete 

As directed by SB 854, staff considered information received from manufacturers on 
the effects on their business models and product sales when developing this proposal. 
CARB worked with manufacturers to evaluate effects on business and developed 
lower cost fees to lessen the burden on manufacturers where needed. Based on the 
data within the tables in this subchapter, CARB staff has determined that these 
increased costs will not create significant adverse impacts to business or their ability to 
compete. 

Tables IX-B-1 through IX-B-3 show costs to manufacturers that have indicated they will 
pass all costs to purchasers of mobile sources. Tables IX-B-4 and IX-B-5 shows costs to 
manufacturers that have indicated they will not pass any costs to purchasers. Average 
Cost Per Year is the average cost per year from 2022 through 2031. Estimated costs 
that are less than $1,000 per year are rounded to the nearest $100. Estimated costs 
that are greater than $1,000 are rounded to the nearest $1,000. 

Table IX-J-3. Average Yearly Costs Per On-Road Manufacturer that are Expected 
to be Passed Along to Purchasers. 

Average Yearly 
Cost Range Per 
Manufacturer 

Type of Manufacturer 
Number of 
Manufacturers 

Estimated 
Average Yearly 
Cost Per 
Manufacturer 

$0-$1,000 
Fuel Fired Heater 5 $100 

On-Road Heavy-Duty Exempt Engines 3 $350 

$1,001-$10,000 

Zero-Emission Powertrains 9 $1250 

Heavy-Duty ZEVs that use the 
conventional HD GHG Phase II Path 30 $1,850 

Heavy-Duty GHG 
Trailer/Aerodynamic Devices 18 $19,500 

$10,001-$50,000 Gasoline Heavy-Duty Vehicles – 
evaporative emission certification 9 $21,000 

Medium- and Heavy-Duty Otto-Cycle 
Engines 16 $25,000 

$50,001-$100,000 

Street-Use Motorcycles 42 $36,000 

Heavy-Duty Vehicles – GHG 
certification 30 $36,000 
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Average Yearly 
Cost Range Per 
Manufacturer 

Type of Manufacturer 
Number of 
Manufacturers 

Estimated 
Average Yearly 
Cost Per 
Manufacturer 

> $100,000 

Medium- and Heavy-Duty 
Compression Ignition Engines 16 $164,000 

Cars, Light-Duty Trucks, Medium-
Duty Vehicles 43 $310,000 

Table IX-J-3. Average Yearly Costs Per Off-Road and Evaporative Component 
Manufacturer that are Expected to be Passed Along to Purchasers. 

Average Yearly 
Cost Range Per 
Manufacturer 

Type of Manufacturer 
Number of 
Manufacturers 

Estimated 
Average Yearly 
Cost Per 
Manufacturer 

$0-$1,000 Electric Golf Carts 4 $800 

Equipment that uses Large Off-Road 
Spark-Ignition Engines - evaporative 
emission certification 

15 $1,000 

Off-Highway Recreational Vehicles 242 $3,000 

$1,001-$10,000 

SORE Equipment - Evaporative 
Certification 209 $3,000 

Evaporative Components for SORE 
Equipment 105 $3,000 

Portable Fuel Containers 8 $6,000 

Small Off-Road Spark-Ignition 
Engines 179 $9,000 

$10,001-$50,000 

Large Off-Road Spark-Ignition 
Engines 19 $11,000 

Off-Road Compression Ignition 
Engines 51 $25,000 

> $50,000 None 
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Table IX-J-4. Average Yearly Costs Per Manufacturer of Diesel Emission Control 
Strategy Retrofits and At-Berth Technology that are Expected to be Passed Along 
to Purchasers. 

Average Yearly 
Cost Range Per 
Manufacturer 

Type of Manufacturer Number of 
Manufacturers 

Estimated 
Average Yearly 
Cost Per 
Manufacturer 

$0-$50,000 

Diesel Emission Control Strategy 
Retrofits – other than locomotive 33 $21,000 

Diesel Emission Control Strategy 
Retrofits – locomotive 9 $38,000 

> $50,000 At-Bert Alternative Emission Control 
Technology 4 $52,000 

Table IX-J-5. Average Yearly Costs Per Marine Watercraft Manufacturer that are 
Not Expected to be Passed Along to Purchasers. 

Average Yearly 
Cost Range Per 
Manufacturer 

Type of Manufacturer 
Number of 
Manufacturers 

Estimated 
Average Yearly 
Cost Per 
Manufacturer 

$0-$1,000 Evaporative Components for Spark-
Ignition Marine Watercraft 22 $500 

$1,001-$10,000 

Spark-Ignition Marine Watercraft -
evaporative emission certification 68 $2,000 

Spark-Ignition Marine Engines 31 $6,000 

> $10,000 None 

Table IX-J-6. Average Yearly Costs Per Aftermarket Parts Manufacturer that are 
Not Expected to be Passed Along to Purchasers. 

Average Yearly 
Cost Range Per 
Manufacturer 

Type of Manufacturer Number of 
Manufacturers 

Estimated 
Average Yearly 
Cost Per 
Manufacturer 

$0-$1,000 

Experimental Permit 74 $100 

Motorcycle Critical Emission Control 
Parts 12 $700 
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Average Yearly 
Cost Range Per 
Manufacturer 

Type of Manufacturer 
Number of 
Manufacturers 

Estimated 
Average Yearly 
Cost Per 
Manufacturer 

Aftermarket Parts - (other than listed 
separately) 231 $2,000 

$1,001-$10,000 
Auxiliary Fuel Tanks 17 $2,000 

Aftermarket Catalytic Converters and 
Diesel Particulate Filters 23 $5,000 

Alternative Fuel Retrofits 27 $7,000 

> $10,000 none 

5. The competitive advantages or disadvantages for businesses currently 
doing business within the state. 

No advantages or disadvantages were identified. 

6. The increase or decrease of investment in the state. 

Private domestic investment consists of purchases of residential and nonresidential 
structures and of equipment and software by private businesses and nonprofit 
institutions. It is used as a proxy for impacts on investments in California because it 
provides an indicator of the future productive capacity of the economy. 

In 2031, the Proposed Regulation is anticipated to result in a decrease in total Private 
Domestic Investment of $11 million, less than 0.01 percent of baseline private 
domestic investment. The increase in investment activity is due to the reallocated state 
spending. In no years, is the decrease in investment growth estimated to exceed 0.01 
percent of baseline private domestic investment. 
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Table IX-J-6. Impact of the Proposed Regulation on California Investment 

California Investment Impacts 

Calendar 
Year 

Change in 
Total 

Investment 

(2018$M) 

% Change 
California 

Investment 

(2018$M) 

2022 5.08 0.00% 320,693 

2023 5.53 0.00% 339,120 

2024 4.06 0.00% 365,143 

2025 -1.02 0.00% 392,976 

2026 -6.98 0.00% 421,119 

2027 -10.76 0.00% 434,419 

2028 -12.61 0.00% 440,248 

2029 -12.81 0.00% 447,337 

2030 -12.11 0.00% 452,650 

2031 -10.96 0.00% 458,897 

7. The incentives for innovation in products, materials, or processes. 

Senate Bill 854, which provided CARB with authority to expand the scope of mobile 
source certification and compliance fees, directed CARB to work with impacted 
industries and to consider a number of factors when adopting a schedule of fees. 
These factors included consideration of a product’s potential impact on emissions. 

In addition, Executive Order N-79-20 issued by Governor Newsom directing CARB to 
develop and propose regulations and strategies to reach, if economically and 
technically feasible, the goal of 100 percent zero-emission in-state sales of new 
passenger cars and light trucks by 2035. 

Consistent with these directives, the Proposed Regulation includes seven low-cost 
certification fees for zero-emission technologies, which are 25 percent of the Base 
Fees. 

8. The benefits of the regulation to the health and welfare of California 
residents, worker safety, and the state’s environment. 

The proposed regulation helps establish a stable source of funding for CARB’s mobile 
source certification and compliance program. 
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Evaluation of Regulatory Alternatives 

Government Code section 11346.2, subdivision (b)(4) requires CARB to consider and 
evaluate reasonable alternatives to the proposed regulatory action and provide 
reasons for rejecting those alternatives. This section discusses alternatives evaluated 
and provides reasons why these alternatives were not included in the proposal. As 
explained below, no alternative proposed was found to be less burdensome and 
equally effective in achieving the purposes of the regulation in a manner than ensures 
full compliance with the authorizing law. The Board has not identified any reasonable 
alternatives that would lessen any adverse impact on small business. 

A. Alternative 1 – Set Fee Equal To Total Cost: Do Not Provide Discounts 

Alternative 1 would establish fees that are equal to 100 percent of certification and 
compliance costs to CARB. This alternative was selected to maximize the fiscal savings 
to the State, which would eliminate the need for additional funding to be diverted 
from other sources to cover the cost of CARB’s certification and compliance activities. 

Currently for FY 2019-20 and FY 2020-21, CARB collected a little more than $10 
Million per year for ongoing compliance efforts in the newly established Certification 
and Compliance Fund (CCF). Total compliance efforts, department-wide, have been 
estimated by CARB at approximately $50 Million. Staff evaluated assessing fees to 
cover the total cost of the program implementation of each category with no fee 
discounts. 

1. Costs 

Under Alternative 1, the total fees collected for all mobile source categories would be 
$157,445,547 higher over the 2022 through 2031 timeframe than will be collected 
under the proposed regulation. When a 5 percent financing cost is added for 
purchases by businesses and individuals, the total added cost of Alternative 1 
compared to the proposed regulation is $395,269,295. These costs are broken down 
per year in Appendix B Tables F-1-1 and F-1-21. 

2. Benefits 

The benefit of Alternative 1 is that the total mobile source certification fees collected 
from manufacturers would equal the total cost to CARB for certification and 
compliance activities. This Alternative would create a fiscal savings to the State of 
$157,445,547 over the 2022-2031 timeframe. As there are no emissions benefits 
accrued under this alternative, there are no benefits besides fiscal cost savings. 

3. Economic Impacts 

Alternative 1 would impose the same standards as the Proposed Regulation but with 
greater scope in collecting fees compared to the Proposed Regulation. The larger 
scope of collecting fees would increase the total revenue or fiscal cost savings of the 
government of California during the 2022 through 2031 time period. Appendix B 
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(Revised SRIA, Table F-1-22, page 72) shows the impact on select macroeconomic 
indicators in the economy. The analysis of Alternative 1 shows that the major 
macroeconomic indicators would decrease from 2022 to 2031. The major 
macroeconomic indicators show a greater increase in economic impacts by Alternative 
1 compared with the Proposed Rulemaking and Alternative 2 during the period of 
analysis. Overall, Alternative 1 would have greater impacts to the Californian economy 
than the impacts of Alternative 2 and the Proposed Regulation. 

4. Cost-Effectiveness 

Neither this proposed regulation nor either of the Alternatives (Alternative 1 and 
Alternative 2) change the stringency of current emission standards, have emissions 
impacts nor do any of these create new emission standards. Therefore, this 
assessment is not applicable to this proposed regulation or to either of the 
Alternatives. 

5. Reason for Rejecting 

On June 27, 2018, new legislation (SB 854) was passed by the legislature and signed 
by the Governor, which allows CARB to adopt a schedule of fees to cover all or part of 
CARB’s reasonable costs associated with certification, audit, and compliance of off-
road or non-vehicular engines and equipment, aftermarket parts, and emissions 
control components sold in the State (limited to activities covered by HSC sections 
38560, 43013 and 43018, on-road aftermarket parts under Vehicle Code section 
27156(h)). This legislation provides CARB the authority to assess fees to cover their 
reasonable costs on all off-road and other mobile sources programs not currently 
covered under the existing fee regulation authority (HSC 43019). SB 854 provided 
criteria to consider when determining the fee. When assessing a fee, SB 854 states 
that CARB shall work with impacted industries and consider all of the following: 

• Potential impacts on manufacturers that may result from the fee. 

• Size of the manufacturer compared to the industry average served by the 
product on which the fee will be assessed. 

• Number of certifications requested and consistency with prior year 
certifications by the manufacturer. 

• Complexity of the regulated category for which a certification is requested. 

• A product’s potential impact on emissions, and the complexity of the 
evaluation required, including, for an aftermarket part, determining there is 
no risk to the environment when the aftermarket part is in actual use. 

• Anticipated change in the number of certifications issued annually. 
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• Potential impacts for enacting a partial fee that does not fully cover the state 
board’s costs for activities associated with certification, including the 
impacts on the processing time for certification. 

CARB’s fee proposed regulation has been discussed with the industry through the 
workshop process to fund up to about $50 Million of these programs with the new 
Certification and Compliance Fund. This is an achievement for the department 
because this regulatory effort has been historically funded through existing funding 
(which currently includes only about $10 Million in fees). Although we may not have a 
100% (full-cost) recovery at the time, this is what CARB reasonably expects that the 
market can bear based on their feedback from industry and staff’s analysis. CARB will 
strive for getting this program to as close to net-zero when possible in the future 
through planning and development of our existing and future programs. 

CARB rejects Alternative 1 because it does not adequately consider the potential 
impacts on manufacturers, especially California’s small business, as required by statute 
(listed above). Alternative 1 does not take into consideration the impact of fees for 
products that have cleaner emissions and zero-emissions, less complex certification 
and compliance requirements and reviews, and the impact on affected businesses. 
Alternative 1 does not mitigate manufacturer impacts due to price competition in the 
market or low product sales volume or cost. Manufacturers stated they would be 
forced to absorb the cost of the fee (not pass the cost to the consumer) and may limit 
product offerings in California. This could lead to the increased use of older products 
and deterioration of CARB’s emission goals. 

B. Alternative 2 – Adopt Same Fees As U.S. EPA 

Alternative 2 would align CARB’s certification fees and fee structure with that currently 
used by U.S. EPA.9 This Alternative was selected based on suggestion from the 
regulated industry. Currently, U.S. EPA has fees for certification of on-road light-duty 
vehicles, heavy-duty vehicles, motorcycles, off-road motorcycles, forklifts, off-road 
engines, marine watercraft, and evaporative components. Although aftermarket parts 
are sold nationally, U.S. EPA does not certify them and thus does not charge 
certification fees for this mobile source category. There are also no federal certification 
fees for either Diesel Emission Control Strategies Retrofits or At-Berth Alternative 
Emission Control Technology, since these categories only apply to emission control 
technologies that are sold to meet the requirements of California-specific regulations. 
Table X-2-1 through X-2-6 (see following pages) lists the fees for the proposed 
regulation and 2020 model year U.S EPA fees. 

9Environmental Protection Agency, 2019. Adjustment of the Motor Vehicle and Engine Compliance 
Program Fees for Calendar Year 2020. 
https://iaspub.epa.gov/otaqpub/display_file.jsp?docid=46428&flag=1 
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Table X-2-1. U.S. EPA and Proposed CARB On-Road Fees 

Category 

U.S. 
EPA 

CARB Proposed On-Road Certification Fee Type 

On-Road Base Fee 
Partial 
Carry-
over 

Carry-
over 

Low CA production 
Manufacturer/ Low 

California Production 
for Sale Engine 

Family 

Zero-
Emission 

Light-duty 
and Medium-
duty Vehicle 

$27,347 $46,509 $23,254 $11,627 - $11,627 

HD CI and 
MD CI engine $56,299 $121,265 $60,632 $30,316 - -

HDO and 
MDO engine $56,299 $42,443 $21,222 $10,611 - -

Incomplete 
MD/HD 

Evaporative 
vehicle 

$563 $14,935 $7,468 $3,734 - -

HD GHG 
Vehicle NA $17,720 $8,860 $4,430 $8,860/- $4,430 

HD GHG 
Trailer/Aero NA $3,936 - - - -

Zero-Emission 
Powertrain NA - - - - $977 

HD exempt 
engine NA $98 - - - -

Fuel-fire 
Heaters NA $293 - - - -

Motorcycle $1,852 $17,447 $8,723 $4,362 $13,085/$872 -
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Table X-2-2. U.S. EPA and Proposed CARB Off-Road Fees 

Category 
U.S. 
EPA 

CARB Proposed Certification Fee Type 

Off-Road Base Fee 
Partial 
Carry-
Over 

Carry-
Over 

Low CA 
Production 

Manufacturer 

Zero-
Emission 

Zero-
emission 
Golf Cart 

NA - - - - $842 

LSI Engine $563 $4,511 $2,255 $1,128 $3,383 -

LSI 
Evaporative 

$397 $1,099 $550 $275 $824 -

OHRV $563 $2,988 $1,494 $747 $2,241 $747 

OHCI $2940 $4,153 $2,076 $1,038 - -

SORE 
Engine 

$563 $2,603 $1,302 $651 - $651 

SORE 
Evaporative 

$397 $1,212 $606 $303 - -

SIME $563 $1,478 $739 $340 $1108 -

SIMW $397 $1,043 $522 $261 $782 -
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Table X-2-3. U.S. EPA and Proposed CARB Evaporative Component Fees 

Category 
U.S. EPA 

CARB Proposed Certification Fee Type 

Evaporative 
Components 

Base Fee No Change 
Renewal 

Adding 
Models 

Portable 
Containers 

NA $6,827 $1,707 $1,707 

SORE Evap 
Components 

$397 $3,771 $943 $943 

OHRV and 
SIMW Evap 

Components 
$397 $917 - $229 

Table X-2-4. U.S. EPA and Proposed CARB Aftermarket Part Program Fees 

Category CARB Proposed Certification Fee Type 

Aftermarket 
Parts 

U.S. 
EPA Base Fee Carry 

Over 

Category I, 
Category 

XIII 

Small 
Business 

Zero-
Emission 

Alternative Fuel 
Retrofits 

NA $5,161 - - $3,871 $1,290 

Experimental 
Permits 

NA $195 - - - -

Aftermarket 
parts-general 

and Motorcycle 
Critical 

NA $1,000 $500 $500 $500 -

Catalytic 
Converters and 

DPFs 
NA $10,000 $2,500 - $5,000 -
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Table X-2-5. U.S. EPA and Proposed CARB Retrofit Program Fees 

Category CARB Proposed Certification Fee Type 

Retrofits 

U.S. 
EPA 

Preliminary 
Application 
Fee for New 
Verification 

or Major 
Modification 

Final 
Application 
Fee for New 
Verification 

or Major 
Modification 

Executive Order 
Fee for New 

Verification or 
Major Modifi-

cation 

In-Use Com-
pliance Field 
Testing Fee 

In-Use Com-
pliance 

Emissions 
Testing Fee 

Minor 
Modifi-

cation Fee 

Diesel 
Emission 
Control 

Strategy 
(DECS) 

NA $48,075 $24,038 $24,038 $12,019 $24,038 $24,038 

Small 
Business 

NA $36,056 $18,028 $18,028 $9,014 $18,028 $18,028 

Locomotive NA $18,434 $73,738 - - - -

Small 
Business 

NA $18,434 $73,738 - - - -

Table X-2-6. U.S. EPA and Proposed CARB At-Berth Program Fees 

Category 
U.S. 

CARB Proposed Certification Fee 

At-Berth 
EPA Test Plan 

review 
Application 

Fee 
CEMS 
review 

Design 
Change 

fee 

Minor 
Amendment 

Base Fee NA $10,158 $25,394 $254 $10,158 $2,032 

Small 
Business 

NA $7,618 $19,046 $190 $7,618 $1,524 
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1. Costs 

Under Alternative 2, the total fees collected for all mobile source categories would be 
$174,664,772 lower over the 2022 through 2031 timeframe than will be collected 
under the proposed regulation. This deficit would need to be funded by diverting 
funds from other existing funds. When a 5 percent financing cost is added for 
purchases by businesses and individuals, the total cost of Alternative 2 is $81,418,019 
lower than the cost of the proposed regulation. These costs are broken down per year 
in Appendix B (Revised SRIA, Tables F-2-2 and F-2-3, page 78). As previously 
mentioned, U.S. EPA does not charge certification fees for aftermarket parts, diesel 
emission control strategies, and At-Berth emission control technologies. 
Consequently, under Alternative 2, the cost per unit for all would be $0, and the total 
fee by category for all aftermarket parts would also be $0. 

2. Benefits 

The benefit of Alternative 2 would be lower overall costs for purchasers of mobile 
sources, both on a per unit cost and on a total cost basis. This Alternative would 
create a fiscal loss to the State of $174,664,772 over the 2022-2031 timeframe 
compared to the Proposed Regulation. As there are no emissions benefits under this 
alternative, the cost savings would constitute the benefits of this Alternative. 

3. Economic Impacts 

Alternative 2 would implement a smaller scope of fee collection in 2022 and 2031 
compared to the Proposed Regulation and Alternative 1. The total amortized cost of 
Alternative 2 ($81 million) would be 66 percent lower than the total amortized cost of 
the Proposed Regulation ($233 million) over the years between 2022 and 2031. 

4. Cost-Effectiveness 

Neither this proposed regulation nor either of the Alternatives (Alternative 1 and 
Alternative 2) change the stringency of current emission standards, have emissions 
impacts nor do any of these create new emission standards. Therefore, this 
assessment is not applicable to this proposed regulation or to either of the 
Alternatives. 
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5. Reason for Rejecting 

Alternative 2 will fund up to $21 million per year on average. Total mobile sources 
certification and compliance efforts, department-wide, have been estimated by CARB 
at close to $50 million annually. CARB’s fee proposed regulation will fund up to about 
$39 million of these programs with the new Certification and Compliance Fund. U.S. 
EPA’s fee program is based on a 2004 rulemaking. Since 2004 a significant number of 
new regulatory efforts and higher emission standards have been added to California’s 
program to meet our clean air goals. California’s efforts to meet the ambient air 
quality standards has led to a more stringent program from the federal level. U.S. 
EPA’s program utilizes CARB’s on-board diagnostics and aftermarket parts programs 
for their certification and compliance efforts. In addition, CARB’s proposed regulation 
collects fees from additional categories (aftermarket parts, some off-road categories, 
and retrofits) not included in U.S. EPA fee structure. These issues result in a significant 
difference in workload effort and costs between CARB’s and U.S. EPA’s programs. 
Using U.S. EPA’s fee structure would lead to the collection of $21 Million in fees, a 
deficit of about $18 million per year in from the proposed regulation. 

CARB rejects Alternative 2 because the U.S EPA fee structure and program does not 
adequately reflect CARB’s workload effort and does not sufficiently cover CARB’s 
reasonable costs. This alternative does not collect reasonable costs as required by 
statute. As with Alternative 1, it does not take into consideration the impact of fees for 
products that have cleaner emissions and zero-emissions and the impact on the 
affected businesses. 

C. Small Business Alternative 

The regulatory proposal incorporates small business options. The Board has not 
identified any reasonable alternatives that would lessen any adverse impact on small 
business. 

D. Performance Standards in Place of Prescriptive Standards 

The regulatory proposal does not mandate the use of specific technologies or 
equipment, or prescribe specific actions or procedures for equipment where 
performance standards are applicable. 

E. Health and Safety Code Section 57005 Major Regulation Alternatives 

CARB estimates the proposed regulation will have an economic impact on the state’s 
business enterprises of more than $10 million in one or more years of implementation. 
CARB will evaluate alternatives submitted to CARB and consider whether there is a 
less costly alternative or combination of alternatives that would be equally as effective 
in achieving increments of environmental protection in full compliance with statutory 
mandates within the same amount of time as the proposed regulatory requirements, 
as required by Health and Safety Code section 57005. 
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Justification for Adoption of Regulations Different from Federal 
Regulations Contained in the Code of Federal Regulations 

Both U.S. EPA and CARB fee programs are based on the actual costs to conduct the 
activities to ensure mobile source certification and compliance. U.S. EPA surveyed 
their certification and compliance program staff to determine the amount of work that 
was conducted in various parts of their mobile source certification and compliance 
programs. Their fee determination is based on costs per certification approval. The 
program costs were based on 2002 workload and testing costs. The regulation was 
adopted in 2003 and the fees are annually adjusted by the number of approvals and a 
cost of living index. CARB’s program, however, is based on 2018/2019 activities and 
2019/2020 labor and testing costs. 

Since 2002, CARB has adopted or enhanced many emission control programs for a 
wider variety of emission sources to meet health protective ambient air standards. As 
shown on Table X-2-1 above, there are about 14 additional fee categories which U.S. 
EPA does not collect fees. For example, in that time frame, U.S. EPA did not have 
programs for the approval of on-board diagnostics, certification of aftermarket parts, 
or certification of At-Berth CARB approved emission control strategy (CAECS). In 
addition, some of the CARB certification and compliance programs require more 
testing or have additional compliance elements compared to the U.S. EPA programs, 
resulting in more costs to implement. Examples of these include in-use emission 
testing and warranty programs for cars, trucks, aftermarket parts, diesel emission 
control strategies and other off-road equipment. Therefore, using U.S, EPA’s fee 
structure would result insufficient reimbursement for the added certification and 
compliance work that CARB is now conducting. 

U.S EPA certification fee program does not in any way reimburse CARB for its costs to 
conduct its own mobile source certification and compliance program. In addition, the 
CARB Mobile Source Certification and Compliance program is broader and covers 
additional emission sources which are not covered in the U.S. EPA program, therefore 
there are no federal regulations that address the same issues as CARB’s proposed 
regulations. 

Public Process for Development of the Proposed Action 
(Pre-Regulatory Information) 

Consistent with Government Code sections 11346, subdivision (b), and 11346.45, 
subdivision (a), and with the Board’s long-standing practice, CARB staff held public 
workshops and had other meetings with interested persons during the development 
of the proposed regulation. These informal pre-rulemaking discussions provided staff 
with useful information that was considered during development of the regulation that 
is now being proposed for formal public comment. 

To support development of this proposed regulation, CARB staff held a number of 
meetings with representatives from industry, as well as four public workshops to 

123 

https://11346.45


 

 

 
     

 
  

 
 

 

  
  
  
   

   
  

  
  

  

  
   

  
  
  

 
 
  

engage stakeholders and obtain input on the proposed changes to the regulations. 
The workshop hosted on November 21-22, 2019, and February 20-21, 2020, included 
a solicitation of alternatives to all stakeholders in the presentations delivered. To reach 
a wider audience, the workshops were also webcasted. These meetings/workshops are 
listed in Table XII-1. In addition, CARB staff also participated in numerous individual 
meetings with vehicle, equipment, component, aftermarket parts, and retrofit 
manufacturers to obtain business information and discuss the proposed changes. 

Table XII-1. Regulatory Development Timeline 

Date Meeting 
April 30, 2019 Public Workshop on Rulemaking 
May 20, 2019 Meeting with MECA1 

May 28, 2019 Small Off-Road Engine Industry Working Group2 

June 5, 2019 Meeting with SEMA3 

November 21-22, 2019 Public Workshop on Rulemaking 
February 20-21, 2020 Public Workshop on Rulemaking 
July 30-31, 2020 Public Workshop on Rulemaking and SRIA inputs 
September 9, 2020 Meeting with MIC4 

November 19-20, 2020 Public Workshop on Rulemaking 
December 2, 2020 Meeting with MECA1 

1 Manufacturers of Emission Controls Association 
2 This group includes government, industry, environmental groups and individuals. 
3 Specialty Equipment Market Association 
4 Motorcycle Industry Council 
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Acronyms and Abbreviations 
AB: Assembly Bill 
AB 965: California Assembly Bill 965 (Stats. 1981, Ch. 1185) 
AETS: Automotive Emission Test Specialist (California State Civil Service Job 

Classification) 
AETS Sup: Automotive Emission Test Supervisor (California State Civil Service Job 

Classification) 
AGPA: Associate Governmental Program Analyst (California State Civil Service 

Job Classification) 
AMP: Aftermarket Parts 
APCF: Air Pollution Control Fund 
APS: Air Pollution Specialist (California State Civil Service Job Classification) 
APU: Auxiliary power unit 
ARE: Air Resources Engineer (California State Civil Service Job Classification) 
ARFR: Air Resources Field Representative (California State Civil Service Job 

Classification) 
ARS: Air Resources Supervisor (California State Civil Service Job Classification) 
ART: Air Resources Technician (California State Civil Service Job Classification) 
ATV: All-terrain Vehicle 
BAU: Business As Usual 
CAECS: CARB Approved Emission Control Systems 
CARB: California Air Resources Board 
CCF: Certification and Compliance Fund 
CCR: California Code of Regulations 
CEQA: California Environmental Quality Act 
CHC: Commercial Harbor Craft 
CHE: Cargo Handling Equipment 
CI: Compression Ignition (e.g., diesel engine) 
CPI: Consumer Price Index 
DECS: Diesel Emission Control Strategy 
DOF: Department of Finance 
DPF: Diesel Particulate Filter 
ECG: Emission Control Group 
EO: Executive Order 
FEL: Family Emission Limit 
FFH: Fuel-fired Heater 
GHG: Greenhouse Gas 
Gov. Code: Government Code 
HD: Heavy-duty 
HDO: Heavy-duty Otto-cycle 
HDV: Heavy-duty Vehicle 
HSC: California Health and Safety Code 
LD: Light-duty 
LDT: Light-duty Truck 
LSI: Large Spark-Ignition Engine 
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MC: Motorcycle 
MD: Medium-duty 
MDV: Medium-duty Vehicle 
MECA: Manufacturers of Emission Controls Association; Member companies 

include leading manufacturers of emission control and efficiency 
technologies for all mobile sources. 

MIC: Motorcycle Industry Council 
MVA: Motor Vehicle Account 
MY: Model Year 
NAICS: North American Industry Classification System 
NOx: Oxides of Nitrogen 
OBD: On-board Diagnostics 
OEM: Original Equipment Manufacturer 
OFMC: Off-road Motorcycle 
OFRSV: Off-road Sport Vehicle 
OFRUV: Off-road Utility Vehicle 
OHRV: Off-highway Recreational Vehicles 
ORCI Off-road Compression Ignition 
PC: Passenger Car 
PEMS: Portable Emission Measurement Systems 
PFC: Portable Fuel Container 
PM: Particulate Matter 
REMI: Regional Economic Models, Inc. 
RSQE: University of Michigan’s Research Seminar in Quantitative Economics 
RTG: Rubber Tired Gantry 
SAPS: Staff Air Pollution Specialist (California State Civil Service Job 

Classification) 
SB: Senate Bill 
SCAR: Sand Car 
SEMA: Specialty Equipment Market Association; Member companies include 

manufacturers, distributors, resellers, and promoters of automotive 
specialty-equipment parts and accessories. 

SI: Spark Ignition (e.g., gasoline engine) 
SIME: Spark-ignition Marie Engine 
SIMW: Spark-ignition Marine Watercraft 
SORE: Small Off-road Engine 
SRIA: Standardized Regulatory Impact Assessment 
SS: Stationary Compression Ignition Engines 
subd. Subdivision 
VIRF: Vehicle Inspection and Repair Fund 
TRU: Transport Refrigeration Unit 
U.S. EPA: United States Environmental Protection Agency 
VC: Vehicle Code 
ZEPCert: Zero-Emission Powertrain (ZEP) test procedure certification 
ZEV: Zero-emission Vehicle 
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