
 
  

    

 

  

Attachment A 

Final Regulation Order 

A-1 
As Amended: November 4, 2021 
Date of Hearing: April 22, 2021 



 
  

    

  

  
     

  
 

   
     

     
 

        
      

  
  

   

    

   

   

    

   

    

   

    

    

   

   

   

    

   

    

    

   

    

   

   

   

   

Final Regulation Order 

Amendments to Division 3, Chapter 1, Sections 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, and 
1994, and Adoption of new Division 3, Chapter 16, Articles 1 through 7, 

Sections 2900 through 2914, 
Title 13, California Code of Regulations 

Set forth below are the proposed amendments to title 13 of the California Code of 
Regulations. Amendments to existing section proposed and subject to comment 
in this rulemaking are shown in underline to indicate additions and strikeout to 
indicate deletions.  Subsections for which no changes are proposed in this 
rulemaking are indicated with [No change] or “* * *   *”. Division 3, Chapter 
16, is a new chapter, which contains new Articles 1-7, and new Sections 2900 
through 2914.  Proposed new regulatory language in Division 3, Chapter 16 is 
shown without underline for easier reading. 
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Chapter 1. Motor Vehicle Pollution Control Devices 

Article 2.5. California Clean Air Act Annual Certification Fees 

§ 1990.  Applicability. 

The Executive Officer shall collect annual fees from each manufacturer or 
modifier of motor vehicles and engines certified pursuant to Articles 2 and 7 
of this subchapter, including manufacturers of federally certified vehicles 
which are sold in California pursuant to Health and Safety Code Section 
43102. The Executive Officer shall calculate the amount of these fees as 
specified in Sections 1991-1993. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601 and 43019, Health and Safety 
Code. Reference: Section 43000.5, 43013, 43018 and 43019, Health and Safety 
Code. 

§ 1991.  Calculation of Total Revenues to be Assessed for Each Fiscal Year. 

(a)  Total revenues of four million five hundred thousand dollars 
($4,500,000) shall be assessed in Fiscal Year 1989-90. 

(b)  In subsequent fiscal years, total revenues to be assessed shall 
be calculated using the following equation: 

REVn = REVn-1 [1 + ANN] 

where: 

REVn means the total revenues to be assessed for the current fiscal year 

REVn-1 means the total revenues assessed in the previous fiscal year. 

ANN = (CPIn - CPIn-1 ) / CPIn-1 , where CPIn is the California Consumer Price 
Index in April prior to the current fiscal year, as determined pursuant to 
Section 2212 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, and CPIn-1 is the 
California Consumer Price Index in April of the previous year, as 
determined pursuant to Section 2212 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601 and 43019, Health and Safety 
Code. Reference: Sections 43000.5, 43013, 43018 and 43019, Health and 
Safety Code. 

§ 1992.  Calculation of Per-Vehicle or Per-Engine Certification Fees. 

(a)  For fiscal year 1989-90, the Executive Officer shall calculate a per-
vehicle or per-engine certification fee, using the equation in subsection (b), 
within 60 days of the effective date of this article. 
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(b) Prior to July 31 of each subsequent year, the Executive Officer 
shall calculate a per- vehicle or per-engine certification fee using the following 
equation: 

REVnFee per vehicle or engine = 
Total vehicles or engines 

where: 

REVn means the total revenues to be collected for the current fiscal year as 
specified under Section 1991. 

"Total vehicles or engines" means the total number of all vehicles and 
engines produced for California sale in the previous calendar year, as 
determined by totaling the vehicle and engines as reported in the 
manufacturers' assembly-line reports or production reports specified in 
Section 1993 (a)-(f) of this article. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601 and 43019, Health and Safety 
Code. Reference: Sections 43000.5, 43013, 43018 and 43019, Health and 
Safety Code. 

§ 1993.  Calculation of Fees to be Collected from Each Manufacturer. 

The annual fees to be collected from each manufacturer subject to this article 
shall be calculated by multiplying the per-vehicle fee or per-engine fee, as 
determined by the Executive Officer pursuant to Section 1992, by the total 
number of vehicles or engines produced for California sale in the previous 
calendar year by that manufacturer. The total number of vehicles or engines 
produced for California sale shall be the number that each manufacturer is 
required to report under the following: 

(a) For passenger cars, light-duty trucks and medium1-duty vehicles, 
Section D.6.(a), “California Assembly-Line Test Procedures for 1983 and 
Subsequent Model-Year Passenger Cars, Light-Duty Trucks and Medium-Duty 
Vehicles,” incorporated by reference in Section 2061, Title 13, California Code of 
Regulations. 

(b) For heavy-duty engines and vehicles, Section 86.085-37, “Production 
Vehicles and Engines,” last amended January 12, 1983, 40 Code of Federal 
Regulations as incorporated by reference in “California Exhaust Emission 
Standards and Test Procedures for 1985 and Subsequent Model Heavy-Duty 
Diesel Engines and Vehicles” and “California Exhaust Emission Standard and 
Test Procedures for 1987 and Subsequent Model Heavy-Duty Otto-Cycle 
Engines and Vehicles.” 

(c) For motorcycles, Section 1958(b)(1)(b), Title 13, California Code of 
Regulations. 

(d) For new modifier-certified vehicles, Section V.C.4., “California 
Certification and Compliance Test Procedures for New Modifier-Certified Motor 
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Vehicles” as incorporated by reference in Section 1964, Title 13, California Code 
of Regulations. 

(e) For used modifier-certified vehicles, Section IV.C.2.a, “Licensing 
Requirements for Vehicle Emission Test Laboratories” as incorporated by 
reference in Section 2048, Title 13, California Code of Regulations. 

(f) For vehicle or engines whose production numbers for California 
distribution are not reported in assembly-line reports or whose production 
numbers in assembly-line reports do not segregate production specifically for 
California: 

(1) For the 1989-90 fiscal year, the manufacturer shall report California 
production numbers for the 1988 calendar year within 30 days of the Executive 
Officer's request. A manufacturer may adjust production numbers to account for 
those vehicles or engines which are actually sold outside of California. 

(2) For subsequent fiscal years, the manufacturer shall report 
California production numbers for the previous calendar year not later than May 1 
of the current year. A manufacturer may adjust production numbers to account 
for those vehicles or engines which are actually sold outside of California. 

(3) For any manufacturer who fails to submit any report required under 
paragraphs (1) and (2) by the specified date, the processing of certification 
applications for that manufacturer's vehicles and engines shall be suspended 
until such time as the manufacturer submits the report. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601 and 43019, Health and Safety Code. 
Reference: Sections 43000.5, 43013, 43018 and 43019, Health and Safety Code. 

§ 1994.  Fee Payment and Collection. 

(a) Between July 1 and July 31 of each year, the Executive Officer 
shall assess and notify in writing each manufacturer subject to this article of 
the amount to be collected for the fiscal year, except for Fiscal Year 1989-90 
when each manufacturer shall be notified within 60 days of the effective date 
of this article. 

(b) For Fiscal Year 1989-90, each manufacturer shall remit the fee to 
the state board within 30 days after receipt of the fee assessment notice. For 
subsequent fiscal years, each manufacturer shall have the option to either 
pay the entire fee to the state board within 30 days after receipt of the fee 
assessment notice, or to pay the fee in four equal quarterly installments with 
the first installment due within 30 days after receipt of the fee assessment 
notice, and subsequent installments due on or before November 1, February 
1, and May 1 of each fiscal year. Payment shall be made payable to the State 
Air Resources Board. The Executive Officer shall forward the revenues to the 
State Controller for deposit in the Air Pollution Control Fund. 

(c) Certification of vehicles or engines for the following model year 
shall not be granted to any manufacturer who has failed to pay the fees 
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Note: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601 and 43019, Health and Safety 
Code. Reference: Sections 43000.5, 43013, 43018 and 43109, Health and 
Safety Code. 
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Chapter 16. Certification Fees for Mobile Sources 

Article 1. General Provisions 

§ 2900. Applicability. 

The Executive Officer shall collect a certification fee from each applicant 
submitting an application to the California Air Resources Board seeking 
certification or evaluation of any mobile source described in Articles 2 
through 7 for the 2023 and subsequent model year or the 2022 and 
subsequent calendar year, as applicable. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601, 43019, 43019.1, and 
43202.6, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 43000, 43000.5, 
43013, 43018, 43019, and 43019.1, Health and Safety Code. 

§ 2901. Definitions. 

The definitions of this chapter supplement and are governed by the definitions 
set forth in chapter 2 (commencing with section 39010), part 1, division 26 of the 
California Health and Safety Code, unless a specific definition set forth therein 
has been revised by this chapter. 

“Base fee” means the certification fee applicable to all applicants seeking 
certification or evaluation that do not qualify for a reduced cost certification fee, 
including carry-over, partial carry-over, small business, zero-emission, low 
California production manufacturer, low California production for sale engine 
family, no change renewal, administrative change, model change, aftermarket 
catalytic converter reduced cost application, Category I or Category VIII. 

“Carry-over” means an application that is identical to the previous model 
year’s application that resulted in the issuance of a certification except for one or 
more of the following: (1) model year; (2) Test Group name, Engine family name, 
Vehicle family name, or Evaporative family name; (3) applicant contact 
information; (4) projected sales data; or (5) portions of an application that pertain 
to compliance with on-board diagnostics requirements set forth in sections 
1968.2 and 1971.1. 

“Certification” means a finding by the state board that a mobile source as 
described in Article 2 through Article 7 has satisfied the criteria adopted by the 
state board for the control of specified air contaminants from that mobile source. 

“Certification fee” means the fee paid at the time of application for 
certification or evaluation of any mobile source described in Articles 2 
through 7 for compliance with applicable emission requirements. 

“Engine family” has the same meaning as in the applicable certification 
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regulations for each of the mobile source categories, as defined in Article 2 or 
Article 3, as applicable, that are found in Title 13. 

“Evaporative family” has the same meaning as in the applicable 
certification regulations for each of the mobile source categories, as defined in 
Article 2 or Article 3, as applicable, that are found in Title 13.  For the purpose of 
this section 2901, references to “evaporative family” shall include “evaporative 
emissions family,” as defined in section 2903. 

"Executive Officer" means the Executive Officer of the California Air 
Resources Board (CARB) or his or her authorized representative. 

“Model year” has the same meaning as in the applicable regulations for 
each of the mobile source categories covered in Articles 2 through 7 that are 
found in Title 13 and Title 17. 

“Partial carry-over” means an application that is identical to the previous 
model year’s application that resulted in the issuance of a certification except for 
one or more of the following: (1) model year; (2) Test Group name, Engine family 
name, Vehicle family name, or Evaporative family name; (3) applicant contact 
information; (4) projected sales data or (5) portions of an application that pertain 
to compliance with on-board diagnostics requirements set forth in sections 
1968.2 and 1971.1; and in addition one or more of the following: (6) model 
names (including additional models if the certification emission levels are not 
changed); (7) part numbers (including new parts if they are durable to full useful 
life and do not impact the certification emission levels); and (8) equipment types. 

“Receipt of payment” means the date the fee that meets the criteria for the 
selected category and fee type is received by the California Air Resources Board, 
for the purpose of calculating fee refunds. 

“Small business” is defined as a business that meets the definition for 
“small business” in California Government Code section 11346.3, subdivision 
(b)(4)(B) with the following additional conditions: 

A business entity whose ownership interests, management and operation are not 
subject to control, restriction, modification or limitation by an outside source, 
individual, or another business entity is considered independently owned and 
operated. An applicant business is not considered to be independently owned 
and operated if evidence exists of either of the following: 

1) An outside person or business concern owns or controls, or has the power 
to control, fifty percent (50%) or more of the voting stock of the applicant 
business, or 

2) One or more business owners, general partners, directors, officers or 
members of an outside business concern controls or has the power to 
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control or influence the day-to-day operations of the applicant business, 
board of directors, and/or owner(s) of the applicant business. 

“Test Group” is defined in section 2903. 

“Vehicle family” has the same meaning as “heavy-duty greenhouse gas 
vehicle family,” as defined in section 2903. 

“Zero-emission” means an application to certify a mobile source 
technology that inherently produces zero exhaust emissions of any criteria 
pollutant (or precursor pollutant) or greenhouse gas, excluding emissions from air 
conditioning systems, under any possible operational modes or conditions. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601, 43019, 43019.1, and 
43202.6, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 43000, 43000.5, 
43013, 43018, 43019, and 43019.1, Health and Safety Code. 

§ 2902. Fee Payment and Refunds. 

(a) Fee Payment. 

(1) Each applicant submitting an application to the California Air 
Resources Board seeking certification or evaluation of any mobile source 
described in Articles 2 through 7 for compliance with applicable emission 
requirements shall submit a fee as set forth in this Chapter 16. 

(2) Each applicant shall remit the fee that meets the criteria for the 
selected category and fee type to the California Air Resources Board in 
conjunction with the application. Payment shall be made payable to the 
California Air Resources Board. The Executive Officer shall forward all 
payments to the State Controller’s Office for deposit in the Certification and 
Compliance Fund. 

(3) Any submitted application will not be processed, and cannot be 
deemed complete, before the fee that meets the criteria for the selected 
category and fee type is received. 

(4)  The Executive Officer shall determine if the fee submitted with an 
application meets the criteria for the selected category and fee type, based on a 
review of the application and the criteria for the selected category and fee type. 
If the Executive Officer determines the fee does not meet the criteria for the 
selected category and fee type, the Executive Officer will calculate the 
appropriate fee, and the applicant shall be notified and allowed to remit the 
appropriate fee. 

A-10 
As Amended: November 4, 2021 
Date of Hearing: April 22, 2021 



 
  

    

 
   

 
   

     
 

    
      

  

       
       

   
     

     
 

  

 

  
 

     

   
  

 

   
    

   
 

 

     
 

   
  

  

  
  

   
  

  
   

 

(5)  If an applicant uses a projected sales value to qualify for either the 
“Low California production manufacturer” or “Low California production for sale 
engine family” fee type, and the manufacturer’s final California reported 
production for sale exceeds the limit specified in the applicable definition, the 
Executive Officer will bill the applicant for the difference between the fee paid and 
the applicable fee. No new applications shall be processed until payment is 
received. 

(6) Each applicant submitting a fee shall include an attestation stating 
that any information provided is true, accurate, and complete. 

(b) Refunds. 

Upon written request to the California Air Resources Board, a “fee refund” shall 
be issued to an applicant for any certification fee paid by that applicant pursuant 
to Articles 2, 3, and 4, if the criteria in this subsection are met and no certification 
was granted. Refunds shall not be issued for application fees paid pursuant to 
Articles 5, 6, and 7. 

Criteria for Fee Refund 

Fee Refund 
(% of 
certification fee 
paid) 

Withdrawal of application 0-15 calendar days from receipt 
of payment, or the date the Executive Officer notifies the 
applicant the submitted payment is not appropriate under 
subdivision (a)(4) 

100% 

Certification fee paid, no application submitted 100% 
Withdrawal of application 16-45 calendar days from receipt 
of payment, or the date the Executive Officer notifies the 
applicant the submitted payment is not appropriate under 
subdivision (a)(4) 

50% 

Withdrawal of application 46 or more calendar days from 
receipt of payment, or the date the Executive Officer 
notifies the applicant the submitted payment is not 
appropriate under subdivision (a)(4) 

No refund 

Notwithstanding, if an applicant determines that the payment submitted pursuant 
to Articles 2, 3, and 4 exceeds the appropriate fee, based on the criteria for the 
selected category and fee type, the applicant may request a refund for the 
portion of the submitted fee that exceeds the appropriate fee. Any request for a 
refund of overpayment of fees must be requested in writing to the California Air 
Resources Board by no later than March 1 of the calendar year following the 
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close of the model year for applications submitted pursuant to Articles 2 and 3 
and by no later than March 1 of the calendar year following the close of the 
calendar year in which an application was submitted pursuant to Article 1. The 
Executive Officer shall issue a refund for the portion of the submitted fee that 
exceeds the appropriate fee, as determined in subdivision (a)(4). 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601, 43019, 43019.1, and 
43202.6, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 43000, 43000.5, 
43013, 43018, 43019, and 43019.1, Health and Safety Code. 

Article 2. Certification Fees for On-Road Mobile Sources 

§ 2903. Definitions. 

The following definitions shall govern the provisions of this Article 2. 

“Aerodynamic technologies” is defined in Title 17, section 95302 and is 
used to comply with the requirements of the “California Greenhouse Gas Exhaust 
Emission Standards and Test Procedures for 2014 and Subsequent Model 
Heavy-Duty Vehicles,” incorporated by reference in Title 17, section 95663, 
subsection (d). 

“Engine family” is a basic classification unit that is used to demonstrate 
compliance with Title 13, section 1956.8. 

“Evaporative emissions family” is a basic classification unit that is used to 
demonstrate compliance with Title 13, section 1976. 

“Family emission limit (FEL)” is defined in Title 13, section 1956.8. 

“Fuel-fired heater” means any idling emission reduction device subject to 
the certification requirements in Title 13, sections 1956.8 and 2485, subsection 
(c)(3)(B). 

“Heavy-duty compression ignition (HD CI) engine family” means any 
heavy-duty compression ignition engine family subject to the heavy-duty engine 
certification requirements in Title 13, section 1956.8 that apply to: heavy-duty 
diesel engines, heavy-duty natural gas-fueled and liquefied-petroleum-gas-fueled 
engines derived from diesel-cycle engines, and heavy-duty methanol-fueled 
diesel engines. 

“Heavy-duty Otto-cycle (HDO) engine family” means any heavy-duty Otto-
cycle engine family subject to the heavy-duty engine certification requirements in 
Title 13, section 1956.8. 
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“Heavy-duty greenhouse gas vehicle family” means any heavy-duty 
vehicle family subject to the requirements of the “California Greenhouse Gas 
Exhaust Emission Standards and Test Procedures for 2014 and Subsequent 
Model Heavy-Duty Vehicles,” incorporated by reference in Title 17, section 
95663, subsection (d). 

“Heavy-duty greenhouse gas (HD GHG) partial carry-over” means an 
application that is identical to the previous model year’s application that resulted 
in the issuance of an certification except for one or more of the following: 
(1) model year; (2) Engine or Vehicle family name; (3) applicant contact 
information; (4) projected sales data; and in addition one or more of the following: 
5) model names (only if the CO2 standard to which the vehicle is certified or the 
lowest and highest FELs are not changed); (6) part numbers (only if the CO2 

standard to which the vehicle is certified or the lowest and highest FELs are not 
changed); (7) Engine families, transmission families, powertrain families, and 
axle families (only if the CO2 standard to which the vehicle is certified or the 
lowest and highest FELs are not changed); and (8) Tires (for design-based 
standards only, tire changes must not impact the worst case coefficient of rolling 
resistance). 

“Heavy-duty vehicle evaporative emissions family” means any heavy-duty 
vehicle family subject to the certification requirements in Title 13, sections 1976 
and 1978. 

“Incomplete medium-duty vehicle” means any medium-duty vehicle that 
meets the definition of an “incomplete vehicle” in the “California 2015 and 
Subsequent Model Criteria Pollutant Exhaust Emission Standards and Test 
Procedures and 2017 and Subsequent Model Greenhouse Gas Exhaust 
Emission Standards and Test Procedures Passenger Cars, Light-Duty Trucks, 
and Medium-Duty Vehicles,” incorporated by reference in Title 13, section 
1961.2, and is subject to the emission standards in Title 13, section 1956.8. 

“Incomplete medium-duty vehicle (MDV) evaporative emissions family” 
means any medium-duty evaporative emissions family that is incorporated in an 
incomplete medium-duty vehicle. 

“Light-duty vehicle” means any passenger car or light-duty truck that 
meets the applicable definitions in Title 13, section 1900 and is subject to the 
certification requirements in Title 13, Division 3, Chapter 1, Article 2. A street-
use motorcycle is not a light-duty vehicle. 

“Low California production manufacturer” means a manufacturer that 
produces annually for sale in California a total of no more than 300 heavy-duty 
vehicles that certify to the heavy-duty greenhouse gas standards in Title 17, 
Division 3, Chapter 1, Subchapter 10, Article 4, Subarticle 12 or a total of no 
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more than 300 street-use motorcycles and motorcycle engines. The annual 
number of units produced for sale in California for purposes of this definition shall 
be based on the average number of applicable heavy-duty vehicles or street-use 
motorcycles or motorcycle engines produced for sale in California for the three 
previous consecutive model years by the manufacturer that seeks certification as 
a low California production manufacturer. For manufacturers seeking 
certification for the first time in California, model-year production volume shall be 
based on projected California sales. If actual reported sales numbers are 
available, projected production of California sales cannot be used to determine 
compliance with this definition. 

1) For heavy-duty vehicles that certify to the heavy-duty greenhouse gas 
standards, the production cap is 300 units based on final sales data 
reported in accordance with section 1037.250 of the “California 
Greenhouse Gas Exhaust Emission Standards and Test Procedures for 
2014 and Subsequent Model Heavy-Duty Vehicles,” incorporated by 
reference in Title 17, section 95663, subsection (d).  If final sales data is 
not available, projected sales data reported in accordance with section 
1037.205 of the procedures shall be used to determine eligibility under this 
definition. 

2) For street-use motorcycles and motorcycle engines, the production cap is 
300 units based on final annual production for sale volume reports 
submitted in accordance with Title 40, Code of Federal Regulations, Part 
86, section 86.415-78, incorporated in Title 13, section 1958, subsection 
(c) or projected production for sale data reported in accordance with Title 
40, Code of Federal Regulations, Part 86, section 86.416-80, incorporated 
in Title 13, section 1958, subsection (c), if final sales data is not available. 

“Low California production for sale engine family” means a street-use 
motorcycle family or street-use motorcycle engine family with a maximum of 100 
units. The maximum allowable number of units shall be calculated based on the 
final annual production for sale volume reports submitted in accordance with Title 
40, Code of Federal Regulations, Part 86, section 86.415-78, incorporated in 
Title 13, section 1958, subsection (c) or projected production for sale data 
reported in accordance with Title 40, Code of Federal Regulations, Part 86, 
section 86.416-80, incorporated in Title 13, section 1958, subsection (c), if final 
sales data is not available. 

The number of “low California production for sale engine family” applications that 
a manufacturer may submit for each model year is based on the average total 
number of units that manufacturer produced for sale in California for the three 
previous consecutive model years.  For manufacturers seeking certification for 
the first time in California, model-year production volume shall be based on 
projected California sales. 
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1) A manufacturer that produced for sale in California more than an average 
of 2,500 total units for the previous three model years may submit no more 
than three “low California production for sale engine family” applications 
for each model year and may not use the low California production 
manufacturer provision for any other applications of the same model year. 

2) A manufacturer that produces for sale in California an average of 2,500 or 
fewer total units for the previous three model years may submit up to six 
“low California production for sale engine family” applications for each 
model year and may not use the low California production manufacturer 
provision for any other applications of the same model year. 

“Medium-duty compression ignition (MD CI) engine family” means any 
engine family subject to the medium-duty compression ignition engine 
certification requirements in Title 13, section 1956.8. 

“Medium-duty Otto-cycle (MDO) engine family” means any engine family 
subject to the medium-duty Otto-cycle engine certification requirements in Title 
13, section 1956.8. 

“Medium-duty vehicle” means any vehicle that meets the definition of a 
medium-duty vehicle (including medium-duty passenger vehicles) in Title 13, 
section 1900 and is subject to the certification requirements in Title 13, Division 
3, Chapter 1, Article 2. 

“On-road heavy-duty exempt engine” means a federally-certified heavy-
duty engine that can legally be sold in California under the provisions of Title 13, 
section 1956.8, subdivision (f). 

“Specially constructed vehicle (SPCNS) certified engine package” is a 
“certified engine package,” as defined in Title 13, section 2211, that is subject to 
the certification requirements in Title 13, section 2212. 

“Specially constructed vehicle (SPCNS) certified engine package 
extension” is a “SPCNS certified engine package,” that complies with the 
requirements in Title 13, section 2209.2, subsection (b). 

“Specially produced motor vehicle (SPMV) certified engine package” is a 
“certified engine package,” as defined in Title 13, section 2209.1, that is subject 
to the certification requirements in Title 13, section 2209.2. 

“Specially produced motor vehicle (SPMV) manufacturer” is described in 
the “California Certification Procedures for Light-Duty Engine Packages for Use 
in New Light-Duty Specially-Produced Motor Vehicles for 2019 and Subsequent 
Mode Years,” incorporated by reference in Title 13, section 2209.1. 
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“Street-use motorcycle or motorcycle engine” means any motorcycle or 
motorcycle engine subject to the certification requirements in Title 13, section 
1958. 

“Test group” is a basic classification unit that has the meaning given in the 
“California 2015 and Subsequent Model Criteria Pollutant Exhaust Emission 
Standards and Test Procedures and 2017 and Subsequent Model Greenhouse 
Gas Exhaust Emission Standards and Test Procedures Passenger Cars, Light 
Duty Trucks, and Medium Duty Vehicles,” incorporated by reference in Title 13, 
section 1961.2, subsection (d). 

“Trailer Family” means any trailer family subject to the certification 
requirements in Title 17, Division 3, Chapter 1, Subchapter 10, Article 4, 
Subarticle 12. 

“Zero-emission powertrain family” means any zero-emission powertrain 
family subject to the certification requirements in the “California Standards and 
Test Procedures for New 2021 and subsequent Model Heavy-Duty Zero-
Emission Powertrain,” incorporated by reference in Title 13, section 1956.8. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601, 43019, 43019.1, and 
43202.6, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 43000, 43000.5, 
43013, 43018, 43019, and 43019.1, Health and Safety Code. 

§ 2904. Certification Fees for On-Road Mobile Sources. 

(a)  Certification Fees for Light-Duty Vehicle Test Groups, Medium-
Duty Vehicle Test Groups, Heavy-Duty Engine Families, Medium-Duty 
Engine Families, Heavy-Duty Vehicle Evaporative Emissions Families, 
Incomplete Medium-Duty Vehicle Evaporative Emissions Families, 
Specially Constructed Vehicle Certified Engine Packages, Specially 
Constructed Certified Engine Package Extensions, Specially Produced 
Motor Vehicle Certified Engine Packages, and Specially Produced Motor Vehicle 
Manufacturers. 
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(1)  For model year 2023, the certification fees for the following 
on-road categories shall be set as follows.  “N/a” means the fee type does 
not apply to that category. 

Fee Type 
Category Base Fee Partial Carry-Over Carry-Over Zero-Emission 
Light-duty vehicle test 
group and medium-duty 
vehicle test group 

$23,255 $11,627 $11,627 $11,627 

HD CI engine family and 
MD CI engine family $60,633 $30,316 $30,316 n/a 

HDO engine family and 
MDO engine family $21,222 $10,611 $10,611 n/a 

Heavy-duty vehicle 
evaporative emissions 
family and Incomplete 
MDV evaporative 
emissions family 

$7,468 $3,734 $3,734 n/a 

SPCNS certified engine 
package $0 $0 $0 $0 

SPCNS certified engine 
package extension $0 n/a n/a n/a 

SPMV certified engine 
package $0 $0 $0 $0 

SPMV manufacturer $0 n/a n/a n/a 
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(2)  For model year 2024, the certification fees for the following 
on-road categories shall be set as follows.  “N/a” means the fee type does 
not apply to that category. 

Fee Type 
Category Base Fee Partial Carry-Over Carry-Over Zero-Emission 
Light-duty vehicle test 
group and medium-duty 
vehicle test group 

$34,882 $17,441 $11,627 $11,627 

HD CI engine family and 
MD CI engine family $90,949 $45,474 $30,316 n/a 

HDO engine family and 
MDO engine family $31,832 $15,916 $10,611 n/a 

Heavy-duty vehicle 
evaporative emissions 
family and Incomplete 
MDV evaporative 
emissions family 

$11,201 $5,601 $3,734 n/a 

SPCNS certified engine 
package $11,627 $5,813 $5,813 $5,813 

SPCNS certified engine 
package extension $1,000 n/a n/a n/a 

SPMV certified engine 
package $11,627 $5,813 $5,813 $5,813 

SPMV manufacturer $1,000 n/a n/a n/a 
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(3)  For model year 2025, the certification fees for the following 
on-road categories shall be set as follows.  “N/a” means the fee type does 
not apply to that category. 

Fee Type 
Category Base Fee Partial Carry-Over Carry-Over Zero-Emission 
Light-duty vehicle test 
group and medium-duty 
vehicle test group 

$46,509 $23,255 $11,627 $11,627 

HD CI engine family and 
MD CI engine family $121,265 $60,633 $30,316 n/a 

HDO engine family and 
MDO engine family $42,443 $21,222 $10,611 n/a 

Heavy-duty vehicle 
evaporative emissions 
family and Incomplete 
MDV evaporative 
emissions family 

$14,935 $7,468 $3,734 n/a 

SPCNS certified engine 
package $17,441 $8,720 $5,813 $5,813 

SPCNS certified engine 
package extension $1,000 n/a n/a n/a 

SPMV certified engine 
package $17,441 $8,720 $5,813 $5,813 

SPMV manufacturer $1,000 n/a n/a n/a 

(4)  For the 2026 and subsequent model years, the certification 
fees for Light-Duty Vehicle Test Groups, Medium-Duty Vehicle Test 
Groups, Heavy-Duty Engine Families, Medium-Duty Engine Families, 
Heavy-Duty Vehicle Evaporative Emissions Families, and Incomplete 
Medium-Duty Vehicle Evaporative Emissions Families shall be calculated 
in accordance with subsection (f). 
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(5) For the 2026 model year, the certification fees for Specially 
Constructed Vehicle Certified Engine Packages, Specially Constructed 
Certified Engine Package Extensions, Specially Produced Motor Vehicle 
Certified Engine Packages, and Specially Produced Motor Vehicle 
Manufacturers shall be shall be set as follows. 

Fee Type 
Category Base Fee Partial Carry-Over Carry-Over Zero-Emission 
SPCNS certified engine 
package $23,254 $11,628 $5,813 $5,813 

SPCNS certified engine 
package extension $1,000 n/a n/a n/a 

SPMV certified engine 
package $23,254 $11,628 $5,813 $5,813 

SPMV manufacturer $1,000 n/a n/a n/a 

(6) For the 2027 and subsequent model years, the certification 
fees for Specially Constructed Vehicle Certified Engine Packages, 
Specially Constructed Certified Engine Package Extensions, Specially 
Produced Motor Vehicle Certified Engine Packages, and Specially 
Produced Motor Vehicle Manufacturers shall be calculated in accordance 
with subsection (f). 

(b)  Certification Fees for Heavy-Duty Greenhouse Gas Vehicle 
Families and Trailer Families. 

(1)  For model year 2023, the certification fees for the following 
on-road categories shall be set as follows. “N/a” means the fee type does 
not apply to that category. 

Fee Type 

Category Base Fee 
Low California 
Production 
Manufacturer 

HD GHG 
Partial 
Carry-Over 

Carry-
Over 

Zero-
Emission 

Heavy-duty greenhouse 
gas vehicle family $8,860 $6,645 $4,430 $4,430 $4,430 

Trailer family $1,968 n/a $984 $984 n/a 
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(2)  For model year 2024, the certification fees for the following 
on-road categories shall be set as follows.  “N/a” means the fee type does 
not apply to that category. 

Fee Type 

Category Base Fee 
Low California 
Production 
Manufacturer 

HD GHG 
Partial 
Carry-Over 

Carry-
Over 

Zero-
Emission 

Heavy-duty greenhouse 
gas vehicle family $13,290 $9,968 $6,645 $4,430 $4,430 

Trailer family $2,952 n/a $1,476 $984 n/a 

(3)  For model year 2025, the certification fees for the following 
on-road categories shall be set as follows.  “N/a” means the fee type does 
not apply to that category. 

Fee Type 

Category Base Fee 
Low California 
Production 
Manufacturer 

HD GHG 
Partial 
Carry-Over 

Carry-
Over 

Zero-
Emission 

Heavy-duty greenhouse 
gas vehicle family $17,720 $13,290 $8,860 $4,430 $4,430 

Trailer family $3,936 n/a $1,968 $984 n/a 

(4)  For the 2026 and subsequent model years, the certification 
fees shall be calculated in accordance with subsection (f). 

(c)  Certification Fees for Street-use Motorcycle Families and 
Motorcycle Engine Families. 

(1)  For model year 2023, the certification fees for street-use 
motorcycle families and motorcycle engine families shall be set as follows. 

Fee Type 

Category Base Fee 
Low California 
Production 
Manufacturer 

Partial 
Carry-Over 

Carry-
Over 

Low 
California 
Production 
for Sale 
Engine 
Family 

Street-use motorcycle 
family and motorcycle 
engine family 

$8,724 $6,543 $4,362 $4,362 $872 
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(2)  For model year 2024, the certification fees for street-use 
motorcycle families and motorcycle engine families shall be set as follows. 

Fee Type 

Category Base Fee 
Low California 
Production 
Manufacturer 

Partial 
Carry-Over 

Carry-
Over 

Low 
California 
Production 
for Sale 
Engine 
Family 

Street-use motorcycle 
family and motorcycle 
engine family 

$13,085 $9,814 $6,543 $4,362 $872 

(3)  For model year 2025, the certification fees for street-use 
motorcycle families and motorcycle engine families shall be set as follows. 

Fee Type 

Category Base Fee 
Low California 
Production 
Manufacturer 

Partial 
Carry-Over 

Carry-
Over 

Low 
California 
Production 
for Sale 
Engine 
Family 

Street-use motorcycle 
family and motorcycle 
engine family $17,447 $13,085 $8,724 $4,362 $872 

(4)  For the 2026 and subsequent model years, the certification 
fees shall be calculated in accordance with subsection (f). 

(d)  Certification Fees for On-Road Heavy-Duty Exempt Engines. 

(1)  For model years 2023 through 2025, the certification fee for each 
on-road heavy-duty exempt engine shall be $98. 

(2)  For the 2026 and subsequent model years, the certification 
fee shall be calculated in accordance with subsection (f). 
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(e)  Certification Fees for Zero-Emission Powertrain Families, 
Aerodynamic Technologies, and Fuel-Fired Heaters. 

(1)  For calendar years 2022, 2023, and 2024, the certification 
fees for the following on-road categories shall be set as follows: 

Category Base Fee 
2022 2023 2024 

Aerodynamic technologies $1,968 $2,952 $3,936 
Zero-emission powertrain family $977 $977 $977 
Fuel-fired heater $293 $293 $293 

(2)  For the 2025 and subsequent calendar years, the 
certification fees for aerodynamic technologies and fuel-fired heaters shall 
be equal to the fees applicable to the 2024 calendar year in subsection 
(e)(1).  For the 2025 and subsequent calendar years, the certification fee 
for zero-emission powertrain families shall be calculated in accordance 
with subsection (f). 

(f)  Calculation of Certification Fees. 

Certification fees shall be calculated using the following equation starting 
with the 2026 model year for the on-road categories included in 
subsections (a) through (d) and starting with the 2025 calendar year for 
the on-road categories included in subsection (e). The Executive Officer 
will publish the calculated fees annually prior to the start of the model year 
and calendar year. 

AFn = AFn-1 [1 + ANN] 

where: 

AFn means the certification fee for the current model year, or calendar 
year, as applicable 

AFn-1 means the certification fee in the previous model year, or calendar 
year, as applicable. 

ANN = (CPIn - CPIn-1 ) / CPIn-1 , where CPIn is the California Consumer Price 
Index for all items and all urban consumers in April that is two calendar years 
prior to the start of the current model year or calendar year (AFn), as 
determined pursuant to Section 2212 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, 
and CPIn-1 is the California Consumer Price Index for all items and all urban 
consumers in April of the previous year, as determined pursuant to Section 
2212 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

A-23 
As Amended: November 4, 2021 
Date of Hearing: April 22, 2021 



 
  

    

 
      

       
      

 
    

 

  

     
     

    
   

  

 
      

     
   

    
     

   
  

   
 

     
   

      
 

   
 

 

     
   

     
 

  
 

 
  

 
   

Note: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601, 43019, 43019.1, and 
43202.6, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 43000, 43000.5, 
43013, 43018, 43019, and 43019.1, Health and Safety Code. 

Article 3. Certification Fees for Off-Road Mobile Sources 

§ 2905. Definitions. 

The following definitions shall govern the provisions of this Article 3. 

“Large spark-ignition (LSI) engine family” means any engine family subject 
to the exhaust emission standards in Title 13, Division 3, Chapter 9, Article 4.5. 

“Large spark-ignition (LSI) evaporative family” means any evaporative 
family subject to the evaporative emission standards in Title 13, Division 3, 
Chapter 9, Article 4.5. 

“Low California production manufacturer” means a manufacturer that 
produces for sale a total of no more than a specified number of off-road engines 
or pieces of equipment annually for sale in California. The qualifying production 
volume shall be based on the average number of units produced for sale in 
California for the following off-road categories for the three previous consecutive 
model years for which a manufacturer seeks certification as a low California 
production manufacturer. Where applicable for manufacturers seeking 
certification for the first time in California, model-year production volume shall be 
based on projected California sales. If actual reported sales numbers are 
available, projected production of California sales cannot be used to determine 
compliance with this definition. The “low California production manufacturer” 
category does not apply to manufacturers of off-road compression-ignition 
engines, small off-road engines or equipment, or to manufacturers of zero-
emission golf carts. 

1) For large spark-ignition engines, the production cap is 100 units based on 
quarterly production reports submitted in accordance with Title 13, section 
2437, subsection (d). 

2) For pieces of equipment that use large spark-ignition engines, the 
production cap is 100 units based on annual production volume reports 
submitted in accordance with Title 13, section 2433, subsection (b)(4)(B), 
which incorporates by reference Title 13, section 2761, subsection (f). 

3) For spark-ignition marine engines, the production cap is 100 units based 
on quarterly production reports submitted in accordance with Title 13, 
section 2446, subsections (b)(4) and (c)(3)(E) or projection production 
estimates reported in accordance with section 14(b)(2)(E) of the 
“California Exhaust Emission Standards and Test Procedures for 2001 
Model Year and Later Spark-Ignition Marine Engines,” incorporated by 
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reference in Title 13, section 2441, subsection (a)(65), if final production 
reports are not available. 

4) For watercraft that use spark-ignition marine engines, the production cap 
is 75 units based on quarterly production reports submitted in accordance 
with Title 13, section 2856, subsection (d)(1)(B) or projected production 
reports in Title 13, section 2856, subsection (d)(1)(A), if quarterly 
production reports are not available. 

5) For off-highway recreational engines and vehicles, the production cap is 
300 units based on final annual production for sale volume reports 
submitted in accordance with Title 40, Code of Federal Regulations, Part 
86, section 86.415-78, incorporated in Title 13, section 2412, subsection 
(c)(1) or projected production for sale data reported in accordance with 
Title 40, Code of Federal Regulations, Part 86, section 86.416-80, 
incorporated in Title 13, section 2412, subsection (c)(1), if final annual 
production for sale volume reports are not available. 

“Off-highway recreational vehicle (OHRV) engine family” means any off-
highway recreational vehicle engine family subject to the emission standards in 
Title 13, Division 3, Chapter 9, Article 3. 

“Off-road compression-ignition (ORCI) engine family” means any engine 
family subject to the exhaust emission standards in Title 13, Division 3, Chapter 
9, Article 4. 

“Small off-road engine (SORE) family” means any engine family subject to 
the exhaust emission standards in Title 13, Division 3, Chapter 9, Article 1. 

“Small off-road engine (SORE) evaporative family” means any engine 
evaporative family subject to the evaporative emission requirements in Title 13, 
Division 3, Chapter 15, Article 1. 

“Spark-ignition marine engine (SIME) family” means any engine family 
subject to the exhaust emission standards in Title 13, Division 3, Chapter 9, 
Article 4.7. 

“Spark-ignition marine watercraft (SIMW) evaporative family” means any 
evaporative family subject to the evaporative emission requirements in Title 13, 
Division 3, Chapter 15, Article 4. 

“Zero-emission golf cart” means any golf cart that meets the definition of 
“golf cart” in Title 13, section 2411, and “zero-emission” in section 2902 and is 
subject to the certification requirements in Title 13, Division 3, Chapter 9, 
Article 3. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601, 43019, 43019.1, and 
43202.6, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 43000, 43000.5, 
43013, 43018, 43019, and 43019.1, Health and Safety Code. 
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§ 2906. Certification Fees for Off-Road Mobile Sources. 

(a)  Certification Fees for Model Year 2023. 

For model year 2023, the certification fees for the following off-road 
mobile source categories shall be set as follows.  “N/a” means the fee 
type does not apply to that category. 

Fee Type 

Category Base 
Fee 

Low California 
Production 

Manufacturer 

Partial 
Carry-Over 

Carry-
Over 

Zero-
Emission 

LSI engine family $2,256 $1,692 $1,128 $1,128 n/a 
LSI evaporative family $550 $412 $275 $275 n/a 
OHRV engine family $1,494 $1,121 $747 $747 $747 
ORCI engine family $2,077 n/a $1,038 $1,038 n/a 
SORE family $1,302 n/a $651 $651 $651 
SORE evaporative family $606 n/a $303 $303 n/a 
SIME family $739 $554 $370 $369 n/a 
SIMW evaporative family $522 $391 $261 $261 n/a 
Zero-emission golf cart n/a n/a n/a n/a $842 

(b)  Certification Fees for Model Year 2024. 

For model year 2024, the certification fees for the following off-road 
mobile source categories shall be set as follows. “N/a” means the fee 
type does not apply to that category. 

Fee Type 

Category Base 
Fee 

Low California 
Production 

Manufacturer 

Partial 
Carry-Over 

Carry-
Over 

Zero -
Emission 

LSI engine family $3,383 $2,537 $1,691 $1,128 n/a 
LSI evaporative family $824 $618 $413 $275 n/a 
OHRV engine family $2,241 $1,681 $1,121 $747 $747 
ORCI engine family $3,115 n/a $1,557 $1,038 n/a 
SORE family $1,952 n/a $976 $651 $651 
SORE evaporative family $909 n/a $455 $303 n/a 
SIME family $1,109 $831 $554 $369 n/a 
SIMW evaporative family $782 $587 $392 $261 n/a 
Zero-emission golf cart n/a n/a n/a n/a $842 
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(c)  Certification Fees for Model Years 2025 and Subsequent. 

For the 2025 and subsequent model years, the certification fees for the 
following off-road mobile source categories shall be set as follows. “N/a” 
means the fee type does not apply to that category. 

Fee Type 

Category Base Fee 
Low California 
Production 
Manufacturer 

Partial 
Carry-
Over 

Carry-
Over 

Zero -
Emission 

LSI engine family $4,511 $3,383 $2,255 $1,128 n/a 
LSI evaporative family $1,099 $824 $550 $275 n/a 
OHRV engine family $2,988 $2,241 $1,494 $747 $747 
ORCI engine family $4,153 n/a $2,076 $1,038 n/a 
SORE family $2,603 n/a $1,302 $651 $651 
SORE evaporative 
family $1,212 n/a $606 $303 n/a 

SIME family $1,478 $1,108 $739 $369 n/a 
SIMW evaporative family $1,043 $782 $522 $261 n/a 
Zero-emission golf cart n/a n/a n/a n/a $842 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601, 43019, 43019.1, and 
43202.6, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 43000, 43000.5, 
43013, 43018, 43019, and 43019.1, Health and Safety Code. 

Article 4. Certification Fees for Evaporative Components 

§ 2907. Definitions. 

The following definitions shall govern the provisions of this Article 4. 

“Administrative change” means a request to amend an existing Executive 
Order where the request is limited to one or more of the following: manufacturer 
name change, component name change, change to component labeling, or 
manufacturer contact information. The request shall not include changes to the 
previously certified component that could affect its ability to control evaporative 
emissions.  

“Model change” means an application submitted for the purpose of 
obtaining certification for additional components or component systems to be 
listed on a previously-issued and valid Executive Order. 

“No change renewal” means a certification application submitted for the 
purpose of renewing an Executive Order. A “no change renewal” application 
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shall not include changes to the component that could affect its ability to control 
evaporative emissions. 

“Off-highway recreational vehicle (OHRV) evaporative emission control 
system component” means any evaporative emission control system component 
that is designed to be used in an off-highway recreational vehicle and subject to 
the evaporative emission requirements in Title 13, Division 3, Chapter 9, Article 3. 

“Portable container product family” means any product family subject to 
the certification requirements in Title 13, Chapter 9, Article 6 or any portable 
outboard marine tank system or component subject to the certification 
requirements in Title 13, Division 3, Chapter 9, Article 6.5. 

“Small off-road engine (SORE) evaporative emission control system 
component” means any evaporative emission control system component that is 
designed to be used in a small off-road engine and subject to the evaporative 
emission requirements in Title 13, Division 3, Chapter 15, Article 1. 

“Spark ignition marine watercraft evaporative emission control system 
component” means any evaporative emission control system component that is 
designed to be used in a spark-ignition marine watercraft and subject to the 
evaporative emission requirements in Title 13, Division 3, Chapter 15, Article 4. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601, 43019, 43019.1, and 
43202.6, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 43000, 43000.5, 
43013, 43018, 43019, and 43019.1, Health and Safety Code. 

§ 2908. Certification Fees for Evaporative Components. 

(a)  Certification Fees for Calendar Year 2022. 

For the 2022 calendar year, the certification fees for the following 
evaporative component categories shall be set as follows. 

Fee Type 

Category Base Fee 
No change renewal, 
administrative change, or model 
change 

OHRV evaporative emission 
control system component $459 $229 

Portable container product family $3,414 $1,707 
SORE evaporative emission 
control system component $1,886 $943 

Spark ignition marine watercraft 
evaporative emission control 
system component 

$459 $229 
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(b)  Certification Fees for Calendar Year 2023. 

For the 2023 calendar year, the certification fees for the following 
evaporative component categories shall be set as follows. 

Fee Type 

Category Base Fee 
No change renewal, 
administrative change, or 
model change 

OHRV evaporative emission 
control system component $688 $229 

Portable container product family $5,120 $1,707 

SORE evaporative emission 
control system component $2,828 $943 

Spark ignition marine watercraft 
evaporative emission control 
system component 

$688 $229 

(c)  Certification Fees for Calendar Years 2024 and Subsequent. 

For the 2024 and subsequent calendar years, the certification fees for the 
following evaporative component categories shall be set as follows. 

Fee Type 

Category Base Fee 
No change renewal, 
administrative change, or 
model change 

OHRV evaporative emission 
control system component $917 $229 

Portable container product family $6,827 $1,707 
SORE evaporative emission 
control system component $3,771 $943 

Spark ignition marine watercraft 
evaporative emission control 
system component 

$917 $229 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601, 43019, 43019.1, and 
43202.6, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 43000, 43000.5, 
43013, 43018, 43019, and 43019.1, Health and Safety Code. 
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Article 5. Certification Fees for Aftermarket Parts 

§ 2909. Definitions. 

The following definitions shall govern the provisions of this Article 5. 

“Aftermarket catalytic converter” means any aftermarket catalytic 
converter that is subject to the requirements in Title 13, Division 3, Chapter 4, 
Article 2 or Title 13, Division 3, Chapter 9, Article 7. 

“Aftermarket catalytic converter reduced cost application” means an 
application that is identical to the previous model year range and emission 
category application that resulted in the issuance of a certification except for one 
or more of the following: (1) newer model year; (2) Test Group name; (3) model 
name; (4) part number; or (5) marketing designation. 

“Aftermarket diesel particulate filter” means any aftermarket diesel 
particulate filter that is subject to the requirements in Title 13, Division 3, Chapter 
4, Article 2. 

“Aftermarket fuel tank” means any aftermarket fuel tank that is subject to 
the requirements in Title 13, Division 3, Chapter 4, Article 2 or the requirements 
in Title 13, Division 3, Chapter 1, Article 3. 

“Aftermarket part” means any add-on part and modified part that is sold, 
offered for sale, or advertised for sale for use on motor vehicles that are subject 
to California or federal emission standards. 

“Aftermarket part – general” means any aftermarket part subject to the 
certification requirements in Title 13, Division 3, Chapter 4, Article 1; Title 13, 
Division 3, Chapter 4, Article 2; or Title 13, Division 3, Chapter 9, Article 7, other 
than an aftermarket catalytic converter, an aftermarket diesel particulate filter, or 
an aftermarket fuel tank. 

“Alternative fuel retrofit system” means a system designed to convert a 
motor vehicle to use a fuel other than the original certification fuel, or to convert a 
motor vehicle for emission reduction credit, or to convert a hybrid electric vehicle 
to an off-vehicle charge capable hybrid electric vehicle subject to the certification 
requirements in Title 13, Division 3, Chapter 1, Article 5 or Title 13, Division 3, 
Chapter 9, Article 7. 

“Alternative fuel retrofit system extension” means any alternative fuel 
retrofit system that complies with the requirements in Title 13, section 2030, 
subsection (c) or Title 13, section 2031, subsection (c) and that is submitted 
within 30 days of the issuance of the new vehicle or engine certification. 
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“Category I” is defined in section III, subsection (a)(1) of the “Procedures 
for Exemption of Add-On and Modified Part(s) for On-Road Vehicles/Engines,” 
incorporated by reference in Title 13, section 2222, subsection (e). 

“Category VIII,” is defined in section III, subsection (a)(8) of the 
“Procedures for Exemption of Add-On and Modified Part(s) for On-Road 
Vehicles/Engines,” incorporated by reference in Title 13, section 2222, 
subsection (e). 

“Experimental permit” means a permit for the testing of experimental 
motor vehicle pollution control devices installed in used motor vehicles, or for the 
testing of experimental or prototype motor vehicles which appear to have very 
low emission characteristics, in accordance with California Health and Safety 
Code section 43014. 

“Motorcycle critical emission control part” means any aftermarket critical 
emission control part for use on highway motorcycles in California, where 
“Aftermarket critical emission control part” is defined in the “California Evaluation 
Procedures for Aftermarket Critical Emission Control Parts on Highway 
Motorcycles,” incorporated by reference in Title 13, Division 3, Chapter 4, Article 
2, section 2222. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601, 43019, 43019.1, and 
43202.6, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 43000, 43000.5, 
43013, 43018, 43019, and 43019.1, Health and Safety Code. 
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§ 2910. Certification Fees for Aftermarket Parts. 

For the 2022 and subsequent calendar years, the certification fees for the 
following aftermarket part categories shall be set as follows.  “N/a” means 
the fee type does not apply to that category. 

Fee Type 

Category Base Fee Small 
Business 

Zero-
Emission 

Carry-
Over 

Aftermarket 
catalytic 
converter 
reduced 

cost 
application 

Category I
and 

Category 
VIII 

Aftermarket 
catalytic 
converter 

$10,000 $5,000 n/a n/a $2,500 n/a 

Aftermarket 
diesel 
particulate 
filter 

$10,000 $5,000 n/a n/a n/a n/a 

Aftermarket 
fuel tank $1,000 $500 n/a n/a n/a $500 

Aftermarket 
part – general $1,000 $500 n/a n/a n/a $500 

Alternative 
fuel retrofit 
system 

$5,161 $3,870 $1,290 n/a n/a n/a 

Alternative 
fuel retrofit 
system 
extension 

$0 $0 $0 n/a n/a n/a 

Experimental 
permit $195 n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a 

Motorcycle 
critical 
emission 
control part 

$1,000 $500 n/a $500 n/a n/a 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601, 43019, 43019.1, and 
43202.6, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 43000, 43000.5, 
43013, 43018, 43019, and 43019.1, Health and Safety Code. 
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Article 6. Certification Fees for Diesel Emission Control Strategy 
Verifications and Approvals 

§ 2911. Definitions. 

The following definitions shall govern the provisions of this Article 6. 

“Diesel emission control strategy verification – locomotive” means 
verification of a diesel emission control strategy under the procedures in Title 13, 
Division 3, Chapter 14, Sections 2700-2711, for use on a locomotive, as defined 
in section 2701. 

“Diesel emission control strategy verification – other than locomotive” 
means verification of a diesel emission control strategy under the procedures in 
Title 13, Division 3, Chapter 14, Sections 2700-2711, for use with an emission 
control group other than “Diesel emission control strategy verification -
locomotive”. 

“Emission control group (ECG)” is defined in Title 13, section 2701. 

“Executive Order fee for New Verifications or Major Modification” means 
any fee paid upon the California Air Resources Board’s approval of the Final 
Application prior to issuance of the Executive Order.  This fee only applies to new 
verifications and to major modifications. 

“Final application fee for new verifications or major modification” 
means any fee paid at the first submittal of data to be included in Final 
Application report to the California Air Resources Board, pursuant to Title 13, 
section 2702, as part of the “diesel emission control strategy verification – other 
than locomotive” procedure.  This fee only applies to new verifications and to 
major modifications. 

“In-use compliance emissions testing fee” – In-use compliance 
requirements, as described in Title 13, section 2709, require emission testing 
when certain conditions are met (Title 13, section 2709, subsection (a).)  The “in-
use compliance emissions testing fee” is paid upon submittal of the in-use 
compliance emissions testing proposal to CARB (Title 13, section 2709, 
subsection (d)). 

“In-use compliance field testing fee” – In-use compliance, as described in 
Title 13, section 2709, requires field testing when certain conditions are met (Title 
13, section 2709, subsection (a).)  The “in-use compliance field testing fee” is 
paid upon submittal of the in-use compliance field testing proposal to the 
California Air Resources Board (Title 13, section 2709, subsection (d)). 

“Locomotive initial application fee” means any fee paid at the submittal of 
a preliminary verification application pursuant to Title 13, section 2702, as 
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described in the “diesel emission control strategy verification – locomotive” 
procedure. 

“Locomotive final verification letter fee” means any fee paid prior to 
issuance of final approval letter, which signifies a complete California Air 
Resources Board verification. 

“Major modification” means an application for modification of an existing 
verification that includes an emission control group (ECG) change or requires 
additional testing, or an application for modification of an existing conditional 
verification (as described in Title 13, section 2704, subsection (l)) that includes 
an ECG change or requires additional testing.  This applies to applications (as 
described in Title 13, section 2702) to do any of the following: 

1) Applications that incorporates another ECG to an existing verification, 
pursuant to Title 13, section 2702, subsections (h) or (i); 

2) Applications to make a change to an existing verification (e.g., design 
change, ECG change, etc.) that is not supported by the previously 
submitted information or data, or to make a change to the product that is 
not represented by the totality of the submittal for the existing verification 
or that requires additional testing; or 

3) Applications to transfer ownership of an existing verification that include 
any change that is herein defined as major modification. 

“Minor modification” means an application for modification of an existing 
verification that does not include an ECG change and does not require additional 
testing, or an application for modification of an existing conditional verification 
that does not include an ECG change and does not require additional testing. 
This does not apply to the following types of applications (as described in Title 
13, section 2702): 

1) Application for a new verification; 
2) Application for a new conditional verification; 
3) Application that incorporates another ECG to an existing verification, 

pursuant to Title 13, section 2702, subsections (h) or (i); 
4) Application to make a change to an existing verification or other 

change (e.g., design change, ECG change, etc.) that is not supported 
by the previously submitted information or data, or to make a change 
to the product that is not represented by the totality of the submittal for 
the existing verification and/or that requires additional testing; and 

5) Application to transfer ownership of an existing verification that include 
any change that is herein defined as major modification. 

“Minor modification fee” means any fee paid at the submittal of a 
preliminary verification application pursuant to Title 13, section 2702, as 
described in the “diesel emission control strategy verification – other than 
locomotive” procedure for modification of existing verifications that are minor 
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modifications, or for modification of existing conditional verifications that are 
minor modifications. 

“New verification” means an application for a diesel emission control 
strategy that has not been previously verified for a given company and is not a 
verification transfer (as described in Title 13, section 2702(k)). 

“Preliminary application fee for new verifications or major modification” 
means any fee paid at the submittal of a preliminary verification application 
pursuant to Title 13, section 2702, which starts the “diesel emission control 
strategy verification – other than locomotive” procedure for new verifications and 
modifications of existing verifications that are major modifications or for 
modification of existing conditional verifications that are major modifications. 
Although all applicants submit a Preliminary Application, this fee only applies to 
new applications and to major modifications. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601, 43019, 43019.1, and 
43202.6, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 43000, 43000.5, 
43013, 43018, 43019, and 43019.1, Health and Safety Code. 

§ 2912. Certification Fees for Diesel Emission Control Strategy Verifications 
and Approvals. 

(a) For the “Diesel emission control strategy verification – other 
than locomotive” category, no fees in section 2912(b) through section 
2912(d) shall be assessed on an entity holding and identified in a valid 
Executive Order or conditional verification for a diesel emission control 
strategy for verification activities related to the product directly covered by 
an Executive Order or conditional verification that was issued prior to the 
effective date of this regulation. 

(b) Certification Fees for Calendar Year 2022. 

(1)  For the 2022 calendar year, the certification fees for all 
“Diesel emission control strategy verification” applications other than the “Diesel 
emission control strategy verification - locomotive” applications shall be set as 
follows: 
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Fee Type 
Category Base Fee Small 

Business 
Preliminary Application Fee for New 
Verifications or Major Modification $24,038 $18,028 

Final Application Fee for New 
Verifications or Major Modification $12,019 $9,014 

Executive Order Fee for New Verification or 
Major Modification $12,019 $9,014 

In-Use Compliance Field Testing Fee $6,010 $4,507 
In-Use Compliance Emissions Testing Fee $12,019 $9,014 
Minor Modification Fee $12,019 $9,014 

(2)  For the 2022 calendar year, the certification fees for “Diesel 
emission control strategy verification - locomotive” shall be set as follows: 

Fee Type 
Category Base Fee Small Business 
Locomotive Initial Application Fee $9,217 $6,913 
Locomotive Final Verification Letter Fee $36,869 $27,652 

(c) Certification Fees for Calendar Year 2023. 

(1)  For the 2023 calendar year, the certification fees for all 
“Diesel emission control strategy verification” applications other than the “Diesel 
emission control strategy verification - locomotive” applications shall be set as 
follows: 

Fee Type 
Category Base Fee Small 

Business 
Preliminary Application Fee for New 
Verification or Major Modification $36,056 $27,042 

Final Application Fee for New 
Verification or Major Modification $18,029 $13,521 

Executive Order Fee for New Verification or 
Major Modification $18,029 $13,521 

In-Use Compliance Field Testing Fee $9,014 $6,760 
In-Use Compliance Emissions Testing Fee $18,029 $13,521 
Minor Modification Fee $18,029 $13,521 
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(2)  For the 2023 calendar year, the certification fees for “Diesel 
emission control strategy verification - locomotive” shall be set as follows: 

Fee Type 
Category Base Fee Small Business 
Locomotive Initial Application Fee $13,826 $10,370 
Locomotive Final Verification Letter Fee $55,304 $41,478 

(d) Certification Fees for Calendar Years 2024 and Subsequent. 

(1) For the 2024 and subsequent calendar years, the 
certification fees for all “Diesel emission control strategy verification” 
applications other than the “Diesel emission control strategy verification -
locomotive” applications shall be set as follows: 

Fee Type 
Category Base Fee Small 

Business 
Preliminary Application Fee for New 
Verification or Major Modification $48,075 $36,056 

Final Application Fee for New 
Verification or Major Modification $24,038 $18,028 

Executive Order Fee for New Verification or 
Major Modification $24,038 $18,028 

In-Use Compliance Field Testing Fee $12,019 $9,014 
In-Use Compliance Emissions Testing Fee $24,038 $18,028 
Minor Modification Fee $24,038 $18,028 

(2)  For the 2024 and subsequent calendar years, the 
certification fees for “Diesel emission control strategy verification - locomotive” 
shall be set as follows: 

Fee Type 
Category Base Fee Small Business 
Locomotive Initial Application Fee $18,434 $13,826 
Locomotive Final Verification Letter Fee $73,738 $55,304 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601, 43019, 43019.1, and 
43202.6, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 43000, 
43000.5, 43013, 43018, 43019, and 43019.1, Health and Safety Code. 
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Article 7. Certification Fees for the At-Berth Regulation 

§ 2913. Definitions. 

The following definitions shall govern the provisions of this Article 7. 

“At-Berth Application fee” means the fee paid when submitting an 
application to the California Air Resources Board pursuant to Title 17, section 
93130.5, subsection (h). Applications shall not be accepted until the applicant 
receives an approved test plan and conducts all testing. An Executive Order for 
a CAECS shall not be issued until the application has been reviewed and 
approved by the California Air Resources Board, and the certification fee is 
received. 

“CARB approved emission control strategy (CAECS)” has the meaning 
given in Title 17, section 93130.2, subsection (b). 

“Continuous Emission Monitors (CEMS) data review fee” means the fee to 
be paid (for each vessel visit) by each vessel serviced for review of the visit’s 
emissions controls data including review of CEMS data used with a CAECS, 
pursuant to Title 17, section 93130.5, subsection (j) and any other review 
required in a CAECS Executive Order. 

“Design change fee” means any fee paid when modifications are made to 
the CAECS require a review of additional emissions testing pursuant to Title 17, 
section 93130.5, subsection (i)(2). 

“Minor amendment fee” means any fee paid for minor amendments to an 
application that do not require additional emissions testing, such as extending a 
CAECS or administratively transferring an Executive Order to a new party, 
pursuant to Title 17, section 93130.5, subsection (i)(1) or subsection (i)(2). 

“Test plan review fee” means any fee paid at submittal of the initial test 
plan to the California Air Resources Board in the application process pursuant to 
Title 17, section 93130.5, subsection (f). 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601, 43019, 43019.1, and 
43202.6, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 43000, 43000.5, 
43013, 43018, 43019, and 43019.1, Health and Safety Code. 
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§ 2914. Certification Fees for the At-Berth Regulation. 

(a)  Certification Fees for Calendar Year 2022. 

For the 2022 calendar year, the certification fees for the At-Berth 
categories shall be set as follows: 

Fee Type 
Category Base Fee Small Business 
Test Plan Review Fee $5,079 $3,809 
At-Berth Application Fee $12,697 $9,523 
CEMS Data Review $127 $95 
Design Change Fee $5,079 $3,809 
Minor Amendment Fee $1,016 $762 

(b)  Certification Fees for Calendar Year 2023. 

For the 2023 calendar year, the certification fees for the At-Berth 
categories shall be set as follows: 

Fee Type 
Category Base Fee Small Business 
Test Plan Review Fee $7,619 $5,713 
At-Berth Application Fee $19,046 $14,284 
CEMS Data Review Fee $190 $143 
Design Change Fee $5,713 $4,282 
Minor Amendment Fee $1,524 $1,143 

(c)  Certification Fees for Calendar Years 2024 and Subsequent. 

For the 2024 and subsequent calendar years, the certification fees for the 
At-Berth categories shall be set as follows: 

Fee Type 
Category Base Fee Small Business 
Test Plan Review Fee $10,158 $7,617 
At-Berth Application Fee $25,394 $19,046 
CEMS Data Review Fee $254 $190 
Design Change Fee $10,158 $7,618 
Minor Amendment Fee $2,032 $1,524 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601, 43019, 43019.1, and 
43202.6, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 43000, 43000.5, 
43013, 43018, 43019, and 43019.1, Health and Safety Code. 
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