## State of California AIR RESOURCES BOARD

## **Resolution 01-26**

July 26, 2001

**WHEREAS,** after thirteen years of distinguished service as a member of the California Air Resources Board Research Screening Committee, Mr. Melvin Zeldin is leaving state service;

**WHEREAS**, he was first appointed to the Research Screening Committee in 1988 by the California Air Resources Board;

**WHEREAS,** he has served the Committee, the Board, and the State of California faithfully;

**WHEREAS**, he has always exhibited the epitome of fairness in reviewing scientific issues coming before the Committee;

**WHEREAS**, he was extremely dedicated in the time spent and study given to each and every matter brought before the Committee;

**WHEREAS**, he has always been at the forefront in acquiring the high quality information needed to address important air quality issues through pertinent research;

**WHEREAS**, he has been instrumental in the success of the speciated particulate matter monitoring programs and comprehensive data analysis in southern California;

**WHEREAS**, his insights and involvement in planning and conducting various field studies in southern California have been invaluable as demonstrated in his foresight and commitment to collecting the necessary air quality data for documenting health effects and the impacts of our air pollution control programs, specifically during the Children's Health Study; and

**WHEREAS,** his accomplishments include directing the Multiple Air Toxics Exposure Study as well as working closely with the Coachella Valley to bring it into attainment of the federal PM10 standard.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the Air Resources Board thanks Mr. Zeldin for his many years of dedicated service to the Air Resources Board and the people of California.

Executed at San Francisco, California, this 26th Day of July 2001.

Dr. Alan C. Lloyd, Chairman	
Dr. William A. Burke, Member	Joseph C. Calhoun P.E., Member
Dorene D'Adamo, Member	Mark J. DeSaulnier, Member
C. Hugh Friedman, Member	William F. Friedman, M.D., Member
Mathew R. McKinnon, Member	Barbara Patrick, Member
Barbara Riordan, Member	Ron Roberts, Member