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Aerosol Coating Products 

    

Title 17, California Code of Regulations (CCR), sections 94520- 94528     
Maximum Penalties: $5,855 to $11,710 per day     
CA Health & Safety Code (HSC) §§ 42400, 42402     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Excess Ozone $6,160 $20,000 per ton 7 
Toxic Compound Prohibition  $21,392 per ton 1 

Labeling $750 $850 per day 5 
     

     
Aftermarket Parts 

    

Title 13, CCR, sections 1900 et. Seq., 2030-2031, 2047-2048, 2200-2207, 2220-2225, California Vehicle Code (VC), section 27156  
Maximum Penalties: $45,563 per action     
HSC §§ 42400, 42402     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Certification $8.70 $2,967 per part 57 
     

     
Antiperspirants and Deodorants 

    

Title 17, CCR, sections 94500-94506.5     
Maximum Penalties: $5,855 to $11,710 per day     
HSC §§ 42400, 42402     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Excess VOC   $15,000 per ton 1 
Excess VOC   $1,150 per day 1 
Labeling No per day penalties assessed during this period   

     
     

 
 
 

    

https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/consumer-products-enforcement
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/aftermarket-performance-and-add-parts
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/consumer-products-enforcement/antiperspirants-and-deodorants-regulation
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Asbestos (ATCM) (HSC 39658(b)) 
Title 40, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Part 61, Subpart M     
Maximum Penalties: $1,000 to $10,000 per day     
HSC §§ 39674, 39675     

or up to $1,091,000 and one year in jail per violation per day possible where willful and intentional results in harm/death, HSC § 42400.3  
Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 

Cases 
Failure to Notify $500 $5,500 per day 12 
Failure to Inspect $1,363 $5,000 per day 6 
Asbestos Emissions   $25,000 per day 1 

     

     
Automotive Refrigerant, Small Containers 

    

Title 17, CCR, sections 95360-95370     
Maximum Penalties: $5,855 to $17,565 per day     
HSC §§ 38580,42400, 42402     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Certification   $25 per can 2 

Failure to Include Educational Material   $1,000 
per missing 
educational 

material 
27 

Reporting Violation   $10,000 per report 1 
     

     
California Vehicle and Emissions Warranty Period     
Title 13, CCR, section 2141 and Title 13, CCR, section 2144-2146     
Maximum Penalties: $45,563 per action     
HSC §§ 43016     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Failure to comply with Warranty Reporting Requirements $5,625 $10,822 per violation 2 
     
     

     

https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/asbestos-neshap-program
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/small-containers-automotive-refrigerant
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/resources/fact-sheets/california-vehicle-and-emissions-warranty-periods
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Cap and Trade 

    

Title 17, CCR, sections 95800 et. seq.     
Maximum Penalties: $5,455 to $10,910 per day     
HSC §§ 38580,42400, 42402     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Lack of Compliance Instruments   $100 per instrument 1 
Disclosure Violations $10,000 $35,000 per incident 1 
No Account Representatives   $1,605 per day 1 
Auction Rule Violation   $25,000 per incident 1 

     
     

Cargo Handling Equipment     
Title 13, CCR, section 2479     
Maximum Penalties: $5,855 to $11,710 per day;    
HSC §§ 39674, 42400, 42402;      

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Failure to Meet Opacity Requirements $275 $1,500 per violation 8 

Failure to Meet In-use Performance Requirements $500 $37,000 per piece of 
equipment 11 

Failure to Meet Reporting Requirements   $7,500 per violation 1 
     

     
Cargo Tank Vapor Recovery     
Title 17, CCR, section 94014     
Maximum Penalties: $5,855 to $11710 per day; $87,825 per violation     
HSC §§ 42400, 42402; § 42402.3     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Failure to Meet Pressure Performance Requirements $500 $5,000 per tank 112 
Unlawful Purging of Vapor to Atmosphere $2,500 $30,000 per violation 4 

      
 
      

https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/cap-and-trade-program/about
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/cargo-handling-equipment
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/cargo-tank-vapor-recovery
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Commercial Harbor Craft     
Title 13, CCR, section 2299.5 and Title 17, CCR, section 93118.5     
Maximum Penalties: $5,855 to $11,710 per day      
HSC §§ 39674, 42400, 42402;      

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Failure to Meet In-use Performance Requirements $2,500 $6,457 per engine 5 
     

     
Composite Wood ATCM     
Title 17, CCR, sections 93120-93120.12     
Maximum Penalties: $5,455 to $10,910 per day     

HSC §§ 39674, 39675, 42400, 42402     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Failure to Comply with Composite Wood ATCM $27 $10,000 per day 29 
     

     
Consumer Products     
Title 17, CCR, sections 94507-94517     
Maximum Penalties: $5,455 to $10,910 per day     
HSC §§ 39674, 42400, 42402     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Excess Volatile Organic Compounds (VOC) $99 $70,588 per ton 169 
Excess VOC $560 $4,500 per day 93 
Excess Aromatic   $13,672 per ton 1 
Excess Aromatic   $1,000 per day 1 
Excess Toxic Air Contaminants (TAC) $4,391 $45,021 per ton 13 
Excess TAC  $2,000 $5,000 per day 2 
Certification $7,500 $10,000 per violation 6 
Certification   $1,000 per day 17 
Labeling $667 $3,000 per day 61 
Global Warming Potential   $32,967 per ton 1 

     

https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/commercial-harbor-craft
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/composite-wood-products-program
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/consumer-products-enforcement
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Consumer Products, Alternative Control Plan     
Title 17, CCR, sections 94540-94555     
Maximum Penalties: $5,855 to $11,710 per day     

HSC §§ 42400, 42402     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

No penalties assessed during this period         
     
     

Diesel Emission Control System, Verified     
Title 13, CCR, sections 2706(g), 2707(c), and 2709     
Maximum Penalties: $5,455 to $10,910 per day; $42,450 per action     
HSC §§ 39674, 39675, 42400, 42402; §43016     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Selling Non- Unit $369 $5,000 per unit 7 
Offering for Sale Non-Verified Unit $50 $1,000 per unit 6 
Installing Without Authorization $550 $5,000 per unit 2 

     
     

Drayage Trucks     
Title 13, CCR, section 2027     
Maximum Penalties: $5,455 to $10,910 per day; $42,450 per action     
HSC §§ 39674, 39675, 42400, 42402; §43016     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Trucks - Failure to Report   $800 per vehicle 34 
Trucks - Failure to Meet In-Use Performance Requirements $200 $1,800 per violation 231 
Trucks - Submitting False Data $300 $1,300 per violation 4 

Railyard - Failure to Submit Quarterly Reports $7,300 $10,000 per quarterly 
report 2 

Dispatching Non-Compliant Trucks $30 $100 per dispatch 10 
     

 
     

https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/consumer-products-program/complying-consumer-products-regulations/alternative
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/verification-procedure-use-strategies-control-emissions-diesel-engines
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/drayage-trucks-seaports-railyards
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Dry Cleaner (ATCM) 
Title 17, CCR, sections 93109 and 93110     
Maximum Penalties: $5,455 to $10,910 per day     
HSC §§ 39674, 39675, 42400, 42402     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Submitting Inaccurate Reports $357   per violation 1 
Failure to Pay Fees $357   per violation 1 

     
     

Engine Certification Label Program, On-Road Heavy-Duty Vehicle     
Title 13, CCR, sections 2180-2189     
Maximum Penalties: $300 first citation, additional $800 after 45 days, additional $1,800 for 2nd citation in 12 months   
HSC § 44011.6     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Citations 

Missing or Illegible Emission Control Label (ECL) $66 $1,800 per label 1996 
     

     
Fleet Tampering / Non-conforming     
HSC, section 43008.6     
Maximum Penalties: $1,500 per violation     
HSC § 43008.6     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Dealer and Fleet Tampering & Non-conforming Vehicles (non-diesel) $500 $1,500 per vehicle 11 
     

     
Fuel Containers and Spouts, Portable     
Title 13, CCR, sections 2467-2467.9     
Maximum Penalties: $608 per portable fuel container or spout     
HSC § 43016     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Certification $0.50 $36 per unit 7 

https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/phase-out-perchloroethlyene-dry-cleaning-process/dry-cleaning-program
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/resources/documents/road-heavy-duty-certification-program-california-motor-vehicle-emission-control
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/other-areas-mobile-enforcement
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/portable-fuel-containers-gas-cans
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Fuel Distributor Certification (Motor Vehicle Fuel)     
HSC, section 43026     
Maximum Penalties: $1,000 to $10,000 per day     
HSC § 43026     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

No penalties assessed during this period         
     
     

Fuels     
Title 13, CCR, sections 2250-2259; 2260-2276; 2280-2285; 2290-2293,5; and 2299-2299.5    
Maximum Penalties: $25,000, $35,000, $50,000, $250,000 per violation per day; $5,855 to $11,710 per violation per day; $45,563 per 
action 

 

HSC § 43027; §§ 39674, 39675, 42400, 42402; §43016, 43020     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Noncompliant Fuel $500 $25,000 per day 49 
     

     
Heavy-Duty Vehicle Inspection Program (HDVIP)     
Title 13, CCR, sections 2180-2189     
Maximum Penalties: $300 first citation, additional $500 after 45 days, additional $1,800 for 2nd citation in 12 months   
HSC § 44011.6     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Citations 

Exceeding Opacity Limit - 1st Citation   $300 per violation 120 
Exceeding Opacity Limit - No Corrective Action Taken Within 45 Days $500 $800 per violation 148 
Exceeding Opacity Limit - 2nd Citation   $1,800 per violation 2 
Tampering - 1st Citation   $300 per violation 350 
Tampering - No Corrective Action Taken Within 45 Days   $800 per violation 216 
Tampering - 2nd Citation   $1,800 per violation 1 
Refusal to Submit to Inspection - 1st Citation   $800 per violation 18 
Refusal to Submit to Inspection - No Corrective Action Taken Within 45 
Days No penalties assessed     
Refusal to Submit to Inspection - 2nd Citation No penalties assessed     

https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/fuels-enforcment-program/fuels-distributor-certification-program
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/topics/fuels
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/heavy-duty-diesel-inspection-periodic-smoke-inspection-program


2014 – 2023 Minimum and Maximum Penalties 

 

8 
 

Idling, Commercial Vehicle     
Title 13, CCR, section 2485     
Maximum Penalties: $5,455 to $10,910 per day; $42,450 per action     
HSC §§ 39674, 39675, 42400, 42402; § 43016     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Idling Longer than 5 Minutes $100 $1,000 per violation 1,604 
     

     
Idling, School Bus     
Title 13, CCR, section 2480     
Maximum Penalties: $5,455 to $10,910 per day     
HSC §§ 39674, 39675, 42400, 42402     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

No penalties assessed during this period         
     
     

Indoor Air Cleaning Devices     
Title 17, CCR, sections 94800-94810     
Maximum Penalties: $5,455 to $10,910 per day     
HSC §§ 42400, 42402     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Certification $3,000 $160,960 per settlement 25 
     

     
Landfill Methane Rule (LMR)     
Title 17, CCR, sections 95460-95476     
Maximum Penalties: $5,855 to $11,710 per day     
HSC §§ 38580, 42400, 42402     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Failure to Report   $70,000 per violation 1 
     

https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/atcm-to-limit-vehicle-idling
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/resources/documents/school-bus-idling-and-idling-schools
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/list-carb-certified-air-cleaning-devices
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/landfill-methane-regulation
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Large Spark Ignited Engine (LSI) Fleet Requirements     
Title 13, CCR, sections 2775-2775.2     
Maximum Penalties: $5,855 to $11,710 per day; $45,563 per violation     
HSC §§ 39674, 39675, 42400, 42402; § 43016     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

No penalties assessed during this period    per violation  
     
     

Low Carbon Fuel Standard     
Title 17, CCR, sections 95480-95491     
Maximum Penalties: $5,855 to $11,710 per violation per day; $25,000, $35,000, $50,000, $250,000 per day   
HSC §§ 38580, 42400, 42402; §§ 38580, 42402, 43027     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Compliance Report $50 $195 per deficit 2 
Compliance Report $4,000 $15,000 misreporting 10 
Compliance Report   $1,000 per day 1 

     
     

Mandatory Reporting of Greenhouse Gas Emissions (MRR)     
Title 17, CCR, sections 95100 et. seq.     
Maximum Penalties: $5,855 to $11,710 per violation per day     
HSC §§ 38580, 42400, 42402     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Inaccurate Report $500 $1,605 per day 8 
Inaccurate Report $25,000 $75,000 per incident 4 
Late Report $400 $3,000 per incident 9 
Late Report   $349,500 per incident 1 

     
 
 
      

     

https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/large-spark-ignition-lsi-engine-fleet-requirements-regulation
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/low-carbon-fuel-standard
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/mandatory-greenhouse-gas-emissions-reporting
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Marine / Watercraft 
Title 13, CCR, sections 2440-2448, 2850-2869     
Maximum Penalties: $42,450 per action     
HSC §§ 43016, 43212     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Certification $500 $5,000 per violation 16 
     

     
Motor Vehicles / Engines Certification, New     
HSC, sections 43150-43154     
Maximum Penalties: $45,563 per action     
HSC §§ 43016, 43212     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Certification $150 $5,000 per violation 119 
     

     
Off-Highway Recreational Vehicles     
Title 13, CCR, sections 2410-2415     
Maximum Penalties: $45,563 per action     
HSC §§ 43016, 43154, 43212     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Certification $500 $2,500 per vehicle 5 
     

     
Off-Road Engine Certification, Compression Ignition     
Title 13, CCR, sections 2420-2427     
Maximum Penalties: $45,563 per action     
HSC §§ 43016, 43154, 43212     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Certification $125 $21,428 per vehicle 18 
     

https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/spark-ignition-marine-watercraft/about
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/new-vehicle-and-engine-certification
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/highway-recreational-vehicles
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/road-compression-ignition-certification-program/about
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Off-Road Engine Certification, Large (LSI)     
Title 13, CCR, sections 2430-2439     
Maximum Penalties: $608 per unit or $45,563 per action     
HSC §§ 43016, 43212     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Certification $375 $3000 per violation 4 
     

     
Off Road Engine Certification, Small (SORE)     
Title 13, CCR, sections 2400-2409 and 2750-2774     
Maximum Penalties: $608 per unit      
HSC §§ 43016, 43212     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Certification $21.29 $556.25 per violation 23 
Labeling  $5 per label 1 
     

Off-Road Diesel-Fuel Fleets, In-Use     
Title 13, CCR, section 2449     
Maximum Penalties: $5,455 to $10,910 per violation per day; $42,450 per action    
HSC §§ 39674, 39675, 42400, 42402; § 43016     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Adding Illegal Engine $200 $2,000 per violation 133 
Failure to Report   $800 per violation 570 
Misreporting   $300 per violation 24 
No EIN   $600 per violation 484 
No ROAR   $1,000 per violation 139 
Submitting False Data $300 $500 per violation 11 
 
 
 
 
     

https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/new-vehicle-and-engine-certification-executive-orders
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/small-off-road-engines-sore
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/use-road-diesel-fueled-fleets-regulation
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Oil and Gas 
Title 17, CCR, section 95674 
Both CARB and local air districts have the authority to enforce CARB’s Oil and Gas Methane Regulation. 
Penalties secured by the local air district as a result of enforcement action are retained by the local air district. 

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

No penalties assessed during this period         
 
      

On-Board Diagnostics, On-Road Heavy-Duty Vehicle     
Title 13, CCR, sections 1971.1 and 1971.5     
Maximum Penalties: $45,563 per action     
HSC §§ 43016, 43154, 43212     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Failure to report    $150  per engine 1 
     
     

On-Board Diagnostics, On-Road Light-Duty Vehicle     
Title 13, CCR, sections 1968.2 and 1968.5     
Maximum Penalties: $45,563 per action     
HSC §§ 43016, 43154, 43212     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Failure to Meet Certification Requirements $6.25 $1,800 per vehicle 3 
     

 
On-Road New Diesel Engine Emission Standards Certification 
Title 13, CCR, sections 1956.8, 1971, and 1971.1     
Maximum Penalties: $42,450 per action     
HSC §§ 43154, 43212     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

No penalties assessed during this period         
     
     

https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/oil-and-gas-enforcement
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/resources/documents/heavy-duty-obd-regulations-and-rulemaking
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/obd
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/new-vehicle-and-engine-certification
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Outboard Marine Tanks and Components, Portable     
Title 13, CCR, sections 2190-2194     
Maximum Penalties: $42,450 per action     
HSC §§ 43016, 43212     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

No penalties assessed during this period         
     
     

Periodic Smoke Inspection Program (PSIP)     
Title 13, CCR, sections 2190-2194     
Maximum Penalties: $42,450 per action     
HSC § 43016     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Failure to Perform Test/Failed Test $42 $800 per violation 365 
     

 
Prohibition on Use of Certain Hydrofluorocarbons in Stationary Refrigeration, Chiller, Aerosols-Propellants, and Foam End-Uses 
Title 17, CCR, sections 95371 - 95379     
Maximum Penalties: $11,710 per violation per day     
HSC § 38580     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Violations 

Failure to Comply with Requirement - Use of Prohibited Substances $0   per day 2 
Failure to Comply with Annual Report Requirements  $1,500 per unit 2 
      

Public Agencies and Utilities Fleets     
Title 13, CCR, sections 2023-2023.4     
Maximum Penalties: $5,455 to $10,910 per violation day; $42,450 per action     
HSC §§ 39674, 39675, 42400, 42402; §43016     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Failure to Meet In-Use Performance Requirements   $1,000 per violation 2 
     

https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/outboard-marine-tanks
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/heavy-duty-diesel-inspection-periodic-smoke-inspection-program
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/rulemaking/2020/hfc2020
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/fleet-rule-public-agencies-and-utilities
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Public Transit Bus Fleets 
Title 13, CCR, sections 2023-2023.4     
Maximum Penalties: $5,455 to $10,910 per violation day; $42,450 per action     
HSC §§ 39674, 39675, 42400, 42402; §43016     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Failure to Report   $50 per day 1 
     
 

Refrigerant Management Program (RMP)     
Title 17, CCR, sections 95460-95476     
Maximum Penalties: $5,855 to $11,710 per violation day     
HSC §§ 38580, 42400, 42402     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases/Violations 

Failure to Comply with Automatic Leak Detection System Requirements $152 $1,750 per unit 11 
Failure to Inspect $152 $1,750 per unit 29 
Failure to Register/Report $115 $2,000 per unit 21 
Failure to Register/Report   $ 5.1 M total 1 
Failure to Repair 

 
$500 per day 1 

Failure to Comply with Annual Report Requirements  
$5,000 per unit 28 

Failure to Comply with Annual Implementation Fee Requirements 
 

$5,000 per unit 29 

Non-Compliance $150 $5,855 per violation 105 
     
     

Renewable Portfolio Standard     
Title 20, CCR, sections 1240, 3200-3208     
Maximum Penalties: $10,910 per violation day     
HSC § 38580     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Publicly Owned Utility, Failed to Meet Regulation Requirements   $50 per mega-
watthour 1 

https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/innovative-clean-transit/about
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/refrigerant-management-program
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/renewables-portfolio-standard
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Solid Waste Collection Vehicles     
Title 13, CCR, sections 2021, 2021, 2021.1, and 2021.2     
Maximum Penalties: $5,455 to $10,910 per violation day; $42,450 per action     
HSC §§ 39674, 39675, 42400, 42402; §43016     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Failure to Meet In-use Performance Requirements  $150 $1,800 per day 108 
     

Sulfur Hexafluoride (SF6) Reduction     
Title 17, CCR, sections 95340-95346, 95352-95358     
Maximum Penalties: $5,455 to $11,710 per violation day     
HSC §§ 38580, 42400, 42402     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Violations 

Emission Exceedance $137 $700 per day 12 
Submitting a Late or Inaccurate Report $320 $5,000 per violation 11 
Possessing SF6 on or after January 1, 2011, and intentionally emitting SF6 
to the atmosphere   $10,000 per day 1 

     
     

Tractor and Trailer Greenhouse Gas Regulation     
Title 17, CCR, section 95300     
Maximum Penalties: $5,455 to $10,910 per violation day     
HSC §§ 38580, 42400, 42402     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Failure to Meet In-use Performance Requirements  $1,000 $1,800 per violation 259 
 
 
 
 
 
      
     

https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/solid-waste-collection-vehicle-regulation
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/elec-tandd
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/ghg-std-md-hd-eng-veh
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Transport Refrigeration Units     
Title 13, CCR, section 2477     
Maximum Penalties: $5,855 to $11,710 per violation day     
HSC §§ 39674, 42400, 42402     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Failure to Meet In-use Performance Requirements  $225 $3,000 per unit 2275 
Failure to Register $0 $1,300 per unit 860 
No IDN $0 $1,800 per label 507 
Submitting False Data $300 $500 per violation 23 
 

      
Trucks and Buses, In-Use Diesel     
Title 13, CCR, section 2025     
Maximum Penalties: $5,455 to $10,910 per violation day; $42,450 per action     
HSC §§ 39674, 39675, 42400, 42402; §43016     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Failure to Meet In-use Performance Requirements  $100 $20,000 per vehicle 4650 
Failure to Provide Sales Disclosure $225 $300 per violation 26 
Failure to Report/Misreporting $75 $1,375 per violation 171 
Failure to Verify Compliance of Hired Vehicle/Fleet $100 $1,396 per fleet 12 
Hiring Non-Compliant Vehicle/Fleet $1,000 $10,000 per fleet 13 

     
     

Vessels, At-Berth for Auxiliary Engines ATCM (Shore Power)     
Title 17, CCR, sections 93118.3 et. seq.     
Maximum Penalties: $5,455 to $81,825 per violation per day     
HSC §§ 39674, 39675, 42400, 42402     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Failure to Meet In-use Operational Requirements  $250 $850 per violation 7 
     

 
     

https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/transport-refrigeration-unit
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/truck-and-bus-regulation
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/ocean-going-vessels-berth-regulation
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Vessels, At Berth Control Measure (Shore Power) 
Title 17, CCR, sections 93130 through 93130.22     
Maximum Penalties: $45,563 per action     
HSC §§ 38580, 39674, 42400, 43016     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

No penalties assessed during this period      
 
      

Vessels, Fuel Sulfur and Other Operational Requirements for Ocean-Going    
Title 13, CCR, section 2299.2 and Title 17, CCR, section 93118.2     
Maximum Penalties: $5,455 to $81,825 per violation per day; $566 per unit or $42,450 per action    
HSC §§ 39674, 39675, 42400, 42402, 43016     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

Failure to Properly Complete Operational Requirements $610 $1,000 per hour 16 
Failure to Properly Complete Operational Requirements $1,000 $53,000 per day 108 
      
      

Vessel (Ocean-Going) Incineration ATCM     
Title 17, CCR, section 93119     
Maximum Penalties: $5,455 to $81,825 per violation per day     
HSC §§ 39674, 39675, 42400, 42402     

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Unit Penalty Number of 
Cases 

No penalties assessed during this period         
 

https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/ocean-going-vessels-berth-regulation
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/ocean-going-vessel-fuel-regulation
https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/resources/documents/oceangoing-ship-onboard-incineration

