California's 5-minute Idling Rules are Enforced

Know the rules and your options

Trucks can idle for 5 minutes everywhere in California. Any law enforcement department, including air districts and CARB, can fine a 10,000 pound or greater truck owner and driver up to \$1000 per day for illegal idling (13 CCR 2480 & 2485).

Where can't trucks idle for more than 5 minutes?

Within 100 feet of these restricted areas, even with a certified Clean Idle engine/sticker or while queuing:



When can trucks idle for more than 5 minutes?

✓ With certified Clean Idle engines and while queuing in unrestricted areas

> CALIFORNIA AIR RESOURCES BOARD

- ☑ In adverse weather conditions
- ☑ Using power take-off devices
- ☑ In traffic
- During mechanical failure
- ✓ For certain inspections



What are the benefits of not idling?

🚺 Save money

- Restarting a truck uses less fuel than idling.
- Between ½ and 1 gallon of fuel is used for every hour of idling.
- At \$4 per gallon, a diesel truck idling for only an hour per work day can cost \$500-\$1000 annually.
- Save on maintenance costs and increase the life of the vehicle: Idling an engine can cause twice the wear and tear on engines as driving at regular speeds.
- A Quieter for your neighbors
- Less air pollution means fewer illnesses and deaths from lung and heart diseases

How can you stay comfortable in the cab?

- Use battery-powered auxiliary power systems.
- Use electric hook-ups that provide heating, cooling, and electricity.
- When possible, open windows and wear layers.

Myth: Diesel particulate filter (DPF) regeneration requires idling.

Fact: DPF regeneration passively occurs at driving speed engine temperatures. To achieve the temperature needed to regenerate the DPF while idling requires injecting about ½ gallon of fuel into the engine on top of the fuel already wasted during idling.

When in doubt, turn it off. For you, your family, your friends, and your community.

Visit arb.ca.gov/noidle for more information CARB's idling rules.