### **O** Air Resources Board

FACTS ABOUT

# Changes to California's Commercial Vehicle Idling Regulation

Idling diesel trucks and buses create toxic air pollution, contribute to global warming, and waste costly fuel – and in some cases, the operator may be breaking the law. Find out how you can help keep emissions in check so we can all breathe easier.

#### Which vehicles are covered?

Heavy-duty diesel vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of 10,000 lbs. or heavier.

#### How long can I idle?

Idling for more than 5 minutes is prohibited within California's borders (exceptions apply). While at a school, the driver must shut down the engine immediately upon arrival and leave within 30 seconds of starting the engine. For more information on idling limits at schools, see the <u>School Bus Idling factsheet</u>.

#### What must you do if cited by an ARB representative?

Provide the following:

- Driver's license
- Vehicle registration

• Motor carrier information (Motor carriers must provide their drivers with motor carrier information.)

#### What are the fines?

Vehicle owners and drivers may receive fines, starting at \$300 and can be as much as \$1000 per day. Vehicle owners can now be responsible for citations issued to drivers of their vehicles.

#### Are there situations where idling is allowed?

Yes. Idling is allowed in the following situations:

- You are stuck in traffic
- When idling is necessary to inspect or service your vehicle
- · You are operating a power take-off device
- · You cannot move due to adverse weather conditions or mechanical failure
- A bus with passengers on board or idling for up to 10 minutes prior to passengers boarding.
- You are queuing (must be beyond 100 feet from any restricted area)

• Your truck's engine meets the optional low-NOx idling emission standard, and your truck is located more than 100 feet from any restricted areas (clean-idle label required). Restricted areas include: housing units, schools, hotels, motels, hospitals, senior care facilities or child care facilities.

See <u>www.arb.ca.gov/noidle</u> for a complete list of exemptions.

## If I can't idle, what can I do about cab comfort?

Listed below are some available idle reduction technologies:

- Battery-powered auxiliary power systems
- Fuel-fired heaters (restrictions apply; see www.arb.ca.gov/noidle)
- Diesel-fueled auxiliary power systems (restrictions apply; see www.arb.ca.gov/noidle)

• Truck stop hookups that provide heat, cooling, electricity and other services throughout California

Visit <u>www.arb.ca.gov/msprog/cabcomfort/cabcomfort.htm</u> for further details on these and other idle-reduction technologies.

## What restrictions apply to idle-reduction technologies?

• You may not operate a diesel-fueled auxiliary power system for more than 5 minutes when you are within 100 feet of any restricted areas.

• Diesel-fueled auxiliary power systems (APS) on trucks with 2007 or newer model year engines must meet additional requirements (verified clean APS label required)

· Fuel-fired heaters must meet certain emission standards

Visit www.arb.ca.gov/noidle for further details.

## If I see a truck illegally idling, what should I do?

Call us at 1-800-END-SMOG or email <u>helpline@arb.ca.gov</u> with the following information:

- Date and time you saw the violation
- · Location (cross streets or address, and city) of the incident
- · License plate number from the front of the truck, including state
- DOT, MC and MX number from side of door
- Company name and any identifying marks on the truck
- · Details about the observed idling violation

Your calls or email will be kept anonymous, if requested.

# Where can I get more information?

- www.arb.ca.gov/noidle
- 1-800-242-4450 or 916-322-7061