Auto parts retailer Golden State Supply to pay $24,000 for selling do-it-yourself cans of automotive refrigerant that violated California’s climate regulations
SACRAMENTO – Auto parts retailer Golden State Supply LLC has agreed to pay $24,461 for violating a state regulation meant to reduce emissions of a powerful climate-changing gas found in do-it-yourself containers of automotive refrigerant.
The global warming potential from just one 12-ounce can of automotive refrigerant, which is used to recharge motor vehicle air conditioners, is equivalent to the carbon dioxide emissions from burning 150 gallons of gasoline. That’s roughly how much gas would be used to drive from San Francisco to New York and back as far as Colorado. The regulation was developed in 2009 requiring self-sealing cans and a deposit and recycling program for used cans.
The Roanoke, Virginia-based company, also known as Carquest, is a subsidiary of Advanced Auto Parts, one of the largest auto parts chains in the country. CARB and Golden State Supply entered into a mutual settlement agreement in January.
“Preventing emissions from these do-it-yourself cans makes a big difference,” California Air Resources Board Enforcement Division Chief Todd Sax said, “and a crucial element is accurate reporting of both sales and returns of the cans and containers. This is especially important now because the deadline for this required reporting is March 1.”
Golden State Supply self-disclosed to CARB that it sold cans of automotive refrigerant in California that were not certified by CARB between 2014 and 2016 and failed, as required, to report the sales to CARB. Recordkeeping is crucial for preventing uncertified cans from entering the marketplace and also for determining how many used cans have been recycled each year.
The $24,461 penalty — marking the first settlement for this regulatory program — will be paid to the California Air Pollution Control Fund for projects and research to improve air quality. Golden State self-reported its violations and promptly and fully cooperated with CARB throughout its investigation.
CARB’s regulation, in effect since Jan. 1, 2010, applies to the sale, use and disposal of small containers of automotive refrigerant (those holding more than 2 ounces and less than 2 pounds of refrigerant by weight).
Manufacturers, retailers and distributors of small cans of automotive refrigerant in California must submit annual report data to CARB by March 1 of each year.