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MODIFIED REGULATION TEXT:

Note: Language to be added is underlined and language to be removed is shown in strikeout.
The modifications proposed at the public hearing on October 26, 2000, are shown in double
underline to show additions and double strikeout to show deletions.

Amend Tables 1, 2, 3a, 3b, 3c, and 4, in Section 90705, title 17, California Code of Regulations
(CCR) (The Air Toxics Hot Spots Fee Regulation), to read as follows:

90705. Fee Payment and Collection.

(a) Each district shall notify and assess the operator of each facility subject to
this regulation in writing of the fee due.  Except as provided in Sections
90702(c) and (d), 90703, 90704(f), and 90704(g), each district shall use the
facility program category as the basis for billing.  The operator shall remit
the fee to the district within 60 days after the receipt of the fee assessment
notice or the fee will be considered past due.  If an operator fails to pay the
fee within 60 days of this notice, the district shall assess a penalty of not
more than 100 percent of the assessed fee, but in an amount sufficient, in
the district's determination, to pay the district's additional expenses incurred
by the operator's non-compliance.  If an operator fails to pay the fee within
120 days after receipt of this  notice, the district may initiate permit
revocation proceedings.  If any permit is revoked it shall be reinstated only
upon full payment of the overdue fee plus any late penalty, and a
reinstatement fee to cover administrative costs of reinstating the permit.

(1) The invoices sent by the districts to the facilities shall contain, but
not be limited to, the following information: name and address of
the facility; name, address, and phone number contact of the district
sending the bill, date of bill, invoice number, fiscal year for which
the bill is being sent, where to send the remittance, an indication of
whether or not a small business cap is applicable, and the following
statement: "The California Health and Safety Code Section 44380
requires the collection of fees from facilities subject to the
requirements of the Air Toxics Hot Spots Information and
Assessment Act of 1987."

(b) Each district shall collect the fees assessed by or required to be assessed by
this regulation.  After deducting the costs to the district to implement and
administer the program, each district shall transmit to the State Board the
amount the district is required to collect for recovery of state costs pursuant
to Section 90700(b)(1), as set forth in Table 1, within 180 days of the
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receipt of an invoice from the State Board.  Checks shall be made payable
to the State Air Resources Board.  The State Board shall forward the
revenues to the State Controller for deposit in the Air Toxics Inventory and
Assessment Account.

(c) Any fee revenues received by a district for which fees have been adopted
pursuant to Section 90704(b) that exceed district and state costs shall be
reported to the State Board and shall be retained by the district for
expenditure in the next two fiscal years.

(d) If a district does not collect sufficient revenues to cover both the district
program costs and the portion of the state costs that the district is required
to remit to the State Board for a particular fiscal year due to circumstances
beyond the control of the district, the district shall notify the Executive
Officer of the State Board prior to April 1 of the year following the
applicable fiscal year and may for demonstrated good cause be relieved by
the Executive Officer from an appropriate portion of the fees the district is
required to collect and remit to the state.

Circumstances beyond the control of the district  may include but are not
limited to plant closure  or refusal of the facility operator to pay  despite
permit revocation or other enforcement  action.  Documentation of the
circumstances  resulting in the shortfall shall be submitted to the ARB upon
request.  Nothing herein shall  relieve the operator from any obligation to
pay any fees assessed pursuant to this regulation.

(1) A district for which the State Board has adopted a fee schedule
pursuant to Section 90704(b) may, upon notifying the Executive
Officer of the State Board, carry over all or a portion of such
shortfall in revenue from one to four fiscal years after the shortfall
was discovered and add the shortfall amount to its program costs for
each such subsequent fiscal year.

Notes:  Authority cited:  Sections 39600, 39601, and 44380, Health and Safety Code.
Reference:  Section 44380, Health and Safety Code.
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Table I

Revenues to be Remitted to Cover State Costs By District

               Revenues
District                                                                    to be Remitted

Amador     2,552       1,346       1,346
Antelope Valley   10,133       8,928       9,263
Bay Area   80,022     83,371     83,371
Butte   10,435       9,296       9,296
Calaveras            0                0                0
Colusa            0              0              0
El Dorado     7,488       3,738       3,738
Feather River     5,015       8,863     12,492
Glenn        455          455          455
Great Basin   10,488       5,109       5,109
Imperial   10,775     10,775     10,775
Kern        729          589          589
Lake            0              0              0
Lassen     3,129       3,129       3,129
Mariposa        507          507          507
Mendocino     4,519       4,720       4,720
Modoc          70            70            70
Mojave Desert   27,053     22,697     22,295
Monterey     7,994       5,985       5,985
North Coast     7,207       1,502       1,502
Northern Sierra     7,185       7,215       7,215
Northern Sonoma          70            70            70
Placer   12,018     11,147     11,147
Sacramento     9,232       9,232       9,232
San Diego 114,896   138,231   138,231
San Joaquin Valley   81,347     53,023     53,023
San Luis Obispo        350          350          350
Santa Barbara   39,668     30,897     35,888
Shasta   12,757      13,093     12,054
Siskiyou     6,275       5,873       5,873

South Coast 684,077   545,513   578,153
Tehama          67            67            67
Tuolumne        834          700          700
Ventura   43,833     45,775     49,996
Yolo-Solano     5,698       5,698       5,698

 TOTAL 1,206,878 1,037,964 1,082,339
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Table 2

District Costs to be Recovered Through the Fee Regulation

                                        Anticipated
District               District Costs*

Antelope Valley           9,000 13,340
Great Basin           7,500   5,520
Imperial                                          770
Lassen           1,988   2,089
Mojave Desert                                            25,000                 35,135
Santa Barbara                                            102,500                50,000

* These amounts may reflect adjustments for excess or insufficient revenues under
sections 90705(c) and (d)(1).
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Table 3a
Cost per Facility by District and Facility Program Category

   Unprioritized Unprioritized              Unprioritized Tracking Tracking Tracking
District        (Simple)    (Medium)                (Complex)  (Simple)   (Medium) (Complex)

State Portion            402        603        804  67    100       134
   Of Fee

Total Fee
(State Portion + District Portion)

Antelope Valley     692

Great Basin          805  1,060  1,043                   1,207  1,590  1,565           1,609   2,119   2,086

Imperial       88

Lassen

Mojave Desert            800                         1,904   4,294    212   477     317   715       423  954

Santa Barbara                                537   331   396     805  497  594    1,074  663  792
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Table 3b
Cost per Facility by District and Facility Program Category

  Risk                       Risk                        Risk
            Score >10    Score >10             Score >10           >=10 < 50            >=10 < 50            >=10 < 50

District (Simple) (Medium)     (Complex)   (Simple)      (Medium) (Complex)

State Portion               1,674                 2,009         2,344                     3,014                     3,349                       3,684
   Of Fee

Total Fee
(State Portion + District Portion)

Antelope Valley                7,927  7,832               11,181   11,060

Great Basin            2,613  3,209  3,170                       3,417

Imperial                                   3,732   4,088

Lassen   5,272   5,378

Mojave Desert                                                                                         5,952   10,730                6,431   11,476

Santa Barbara      7,508  8,607 9,437  8,108  9,271     12,616   8,707  9,935
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Table 3c
Cost per Facility by District and Facility Program Category

    Risk       Risk       Risk       Risk         Risk         Risk
           >= 50 < 100 >= 50 < 100    >=50 < 100     > = 100      > = 100    > = 100

District (Simple)   (Medium)               (Complex)      (Simple)                 (Medium)  (Complex)

State Portion                   4,353       4,688              5,023       5,693   6,028                 6,363
   Of Fee

Total Fee
(State Portion + District Portion)

Antelope Valley

Great Basin

Imperial

Lassen

Mojave Desert            8,204   14,045

Santa Barbara                         10,240   11,597        
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Table 4*

Fees for Industrywide and District Update Facilities

  Industrywide District Update
District                           Facilities     Facilities

Antelope Valley   0                                 125
Great Basin           60                      103     125
Imperial           35                                        38.50
Lassen                 0                        50         0
Mojave Desert           85    0                                          125
Santa Barbara           95                                          125

* State cost per facility is consistent statewide as follows:
 State Industrywide facilities: $35
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Appendix A

District Air Toxic Inventories, Reports, and Surveys
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Appendix A

Air Pollution Control District
Air Toxic Inventories, Reports or Surveys

1. San Diego County Air Pollution Control District "List of Semiconductor
Manufacturers Using Toxic Gases (Arsine or Phosphine).  May 1988."

2. San Joaquin Valley Unified Air Pollution Control District "San Joaquin
Valley Unified APCD Toxics List.  February 25, 1994."

3. Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District "Current Santa
Barbara County Air Pollution Control District List of Air Toxic Sources.
July 14, 1997."


