UPDATED INFORMATIVE DIGEST

2007 AMENDMENTS TO THE STATEWIDE PORTABLE EQUIPMENT
REGISTRATION PROGRAM (PERP) REGULATION AND THE AIRBORNE TOXIC
CONTROL MEASURE (ATCM) FOR DIESEL-FUELED PORTABLE ENGINES

Sections Affected: Amendments to title 13, California Code of Regulations (CCR),
article 5, sections 2451, 2452, 2453, 2455, 2456, 2458, 2459, 2460, 2461 and 2462
which is the Statewide Portable Equipment Registration Program. Amendments to

title 17, California Code of Regulations (CCR), sections 93116, 93116.1, 93116.2 and
93116.3 and adoption of section 93116.3.1 which is the Airborne Toxic Control Measure
for Diesel-Fueled Portable Engines.

Background: The Board adopted the Portable Engine ATCM in February 2004.
Portable engines include a wide variety of engine types and uses. A portable engine
may provide primary power to a piece of equipment or it may serve as an auxiliary
engine.

The Legislature passed the portable equipment registration statutes in 1995. These
statutes (HSC 8841750 et seq.) required ARB to create and maintain a program for the
registration of engines and equipment that are operated at more than one location
throughout the State. Per these 1995 statutes, the Board adopted a Statewide
Regulation establishing the Portable Equipment Registration Program (PERP) on
March 27, 1997, and it became effective on September 17, 1997. The Board has
previously approved amendments to the PERP Regulation on December 11, 1998,
February 26, 2004, and June 22, 2006. When an engine is registered in PERP, state
law provides that the owner of that engine need not obtain local air district permits prior
to operating. To be registered in PERP, however, the engine being registered must
meet the most stringent emissions standards in effect at the time of application.

Most of the engines associated with portable equipment are diesel-fueled, making these
engines also subject to the requirements of the Portable Engine ATCM. The Portable
Engine ATCM covers all portable engines, not only those registered in PERP.

At its September 2006 meeting, the Board received public testimony concerning the
inability to register older engines in the PERP. After January 1, 2006, the PERP
Regulation only allowed engines to register that met the current nonroad emission
standards in effect at the time of application submittal. Pursuant to the testimony, the
Board directed staff to consider options and report back to the Board.

ARB staff, in consultation with affected industry and the local air districts, developed
emergency amendments to the PERP Regulation and the Portable Engine ATCM. The
Board approved these emergency amendments at its December 7, 2006 public hearing,
and they were approved by the Office of Administrative Law (OAL) on



December 27, 2006. These emergency amendments were filed with the Secretary of
State and were effective for a period of 120 days.

On March 22, 2007, staff presented to the Board amendments to the PERP Regulation
and the Portable Engine ATCM. These amendments made permanent the emergency
regulatory changes to PERP Regulation and the Portable Engine ATCM adopted by the
Board on December 7, 2006. ARB staff also proposed some minor revisions that are
intended to provide additional clarity and expediency to the implementation of the PERP
Regulation.

On June 29, 2007, ARB staff sent out a notice of additional amendments to the PERP
Regulation and Portable Engine ATCM for public comment for a period of 15 days.
These additional amendments were also intended to provide additional clarity and
expediency to the implementation of the PERP Regulation and Portable Engine ATCM.

DESCRIPTION OF THE PROPOSED REGULATORY ACTION
The following amendments will allow certain engines to permit or register that would not
otherwise qualify. They also provide regulatory relief for affected industry relative to the

availability, sale, purchase, and registration of complying engines.

PERP Requlation

Resident Engines

ARB staff proposed a redefinition of what constitutes a resident engine in the PERP
Regulation to include those Tier 1 and 2 engines that had been operating in California
between March 1, 2004 and October 1, 2006. This revised definition will prevent the
importation from out of State of Tier 1 or 2 engines, which would negatively affect
California’s ambient air quality.

Tier O Spark-Ignition Engines

Staff added subsection 2456(d)(10) to the PERP regulation. This provision requires the
removal from service by January 1, 2010 of any registered spark-ignition engine that
does not meet a certified nonroad standard or the emission standards listed in Table 1
of the PERP regulation. This requirement was inadvertently deleted with the previous
amendments adopted in June of 2006. This restoration will ensure the emission
reductions from the replacement or retirement of many older high-emitting gasoline
engines.

Tier 1 and Tier 2 Diesel Engines

The amendments allow the registration in PERP of “resident” Tier 1 and Tier 2 engines
that do not meet the current nonroad emission standard in effect. After January 1, 2010,
only the cleanest tier available will be allowed to register.



Recordkeeping and Reporting

ARB staff proposed the removal of the hour meter requirement for rental equipment
units. These rental equipment units are already required to track daily throughput,
which is adequate for determining compliance with daily emission limitations. The
annual reporting requirement was also revised to only require reporting of throughput,
instead of hours. The tracking of hours of operation for these units is redundant and
places an undue burden on industry.

Staff added subsection 2458(a)(4) to the PERP regulation to specify that throughput is
to be measured at the initial loading point of the equipment unit. This requirement is
only applicable to rock crushing and screening plants, and will make it much easier to
determine compliance with throughput limits as stated on the registration

Registration and Inspection Fees

ARB staff proposed a requirement for collecting back registration and inspection fees for
these Tier 1 and Tier 2 engines that do not meet the current nonroad emission standard
in effect. The proposed fee schedule favors owners and operators that act early. Fees
are to be collected from either the year of purchase, or model year of the engine. Fees
are higher for those owners or operators of Tier 1 engines if a Tier 2 standard was in
effect at the time of purchase. The bulk of these back fees will be redirected to the
districts for compliance programs. In addition to having to pay back fees, the owner or
operator would also have to pay current registration fees that would be due.

Staff modified section 2460(b)(3) to prohibit operators from choosing to have engine
inspections billed at an hourly rate rather than the regular flat fee, even if the engine is
integrated with an equipment unit that has hourly-rate inspection fees. Engine
inspection fees are a flat fee of $345 paid upon initial application submittal or upon
renewal. Staff made this change because it would be infeasible to give the operators a
choice of a different type of inspection fee after registration has been issued. If the
operators were allowed to choose a different type of inspection fee after paying the
regular inspection fee upfront, it would result in having to refund the difference between
the flat fee initially paid and the resulting fee based on the time it took for inspection. All
engine inspection fees shall be paid upfront, and redistributed back to the districts.
Having the engine inspection fees paid upfront does not preclude the district inspector
from conducting both the engine and equipment unit inspection at the same time. The
district will have to make sure that the hourly rate billed to the source was only for the
time spent inspecting the equipment unit only.

Miscellaneous Amendments
Staff modified section 2453(f) of the PERP regulation to clarify that operating conditions

are to be kept onsite with the registered engine or equipment unit. This should facilitate
compliance and enforcement activities in the field.



Staff modified section 2462(a) to be consistent with the registration expiration date for
engines specified in new subsection 2456(d)(10) and also section 93116(b)(1)(A) of the
Portable Engine ATCM

Staff removed section 2451(d) of the regulation. The provision originally stated that if
there is a loss of PERP eligibility, an owner must apply for a district permit within 90 days
and that they may continue to operate under their PERP registration until the district
grants or denies a permit. This language was intended to provide a smooth mechanism
for transitioning to a district permit if registration was lost due to the new eligibility
requirements added in 2004. ARB staff made this change because we believe that the
time for these units to transition to district permitting has now passed, so there is no
longer the need for this mechanism. In addition, some operators could potentially use
this provision to claim that they may legally continue to operate after being found in
violation of the PERP regulation.

ARB staff proposed the modification, addition, and deletion of terms in the definitions
section, deletion of outdated provisions, and minor clarifications where needed. These
changes are considered to be non-substantive and are intended to provide additional
clarity and expediency to the PERP Regulation.

Portable Engine ATCM

Tier 0 Engines

Tier 0 engines are those that are not certified to a California or federal nonroad
emission standard. The proposed amendments to the Portable Engine ATCM will allow
local air districts to permit Tier O engines at their discretion.

Tier 1 and Tier 2 Engines

The Portable Engine ATCM will only allow the permitting by the local air districts or
registration in PERP of Tier 1 and 2 engines that had been operating in California
between March 1, 2004 and October 1, 2006. This revised definition will prevent the
importation from out of State of Tier 1 or 2 engines, which would negatively affect
California’s ambient air quality. After January 1, 2010, only the cleanest tier available
will be allowed to register or seek local air district permitting, as is required by the
existing Portable Engine ATCM.

Compliance Flexibility
ARB staff proposed a provision in section 93116.3.1 in the Portable Engine ATCM that

would provide compliance flexibility during those periods where it can be verified to
ARB’s Executive Officer that compliant engines are not sufficiently available.



Staff modified section 93116.3(b)(7) from the original proposed amendments to
consolidate and simplify the eligibility provisions of both 93116.3(b)(7) and
93116.3(b)(8). Because of this consolidation, staff removed section 93116.3(b)(8) from
the original proposed amendments of the Portable Engine ATCM. Any section in either
the PERP Regulation or the Portable Engine ATCM that referenced both of these
sections was revised to remove 93116.3(b)(8). These sections originally provided
compliance flexibility to engine owners and operators when there was a tier change.
The owners or operators would be allowed to register previous tier engines for six
months after a tier change if they could show documentation regarding
ordering/purchasing/taking possession of the engine. These provisions took effect on
December 27, 2006. Staff made these changes to simplify these provisions by
removing the documentation requirements. This preserves the intent of the compliance
flexibility by allowing previous tier engines to register for a period of 6 months
immediately after an emission standard change.

Miscellaneous Amendments

ARB staff proposed the modification, addition, and deletion of terms in the definitions
section, deletion of outdated provisions, and minor clarifications where needed. These
changes are considered to be non-substantive and are intended to provide additional
clarity and expediency to the Portable Engine ATCM.

COMPARABLE FEDERAL REGULATIONS

There are no federal regulations that are comparable to the PERP Regulation or the
Portable Engine ATCM. However, in section 213 of the Clean Air Act, Congress
directed the Administrator of the United States Environmental Protection Agency (U.S.
EPA) to determine whether emissions from nonroad engines cause or significantly
contribute to air pollution which may reasonably be anticipated to endanger public
health and safety, and if so, promulgate emission standards for the control of such
engines. Engines used in portable equipment are a general category of nonroad
engines. To date, the U.S. EPA has adopted emission standards for new spark-ignition
nonroad engines at or below 19 kilowatts (25 horsepower) and compression-ignition
nonroad engines at or above 37 kilowatts (50 horsepower). Concurrent with authorizing
the U.S. EPA to adopt emission standards and other regulations for nonroad engines,
Congress established a nonroad engine preemption prohibiting all states, including
California, from adopting emission standards and other requirements related to the
control of emissions from new nonroad engines less than 175 horsepower used in farm
and construction equipment and vehicles.

In contrast to other states, however, the Clean Air Act permits California to request
authorization from the U.S. EPA to adopt and enforce necessary emission standards
and regulations for California for all nonroad engines not otherwise expressly
preempted. To date, California has adopted several nonroad regulations, including
emission standards for new spark-ignition engines at or below 19 kilowatts

(25 horsepower) and compression-ignition engines at or above 37 kilowatts



(50 horsepower). Both regulations have received authorization from the U.S. EPA. The
Statewide Regulation promotes consistency between the California and federal
requirements and does not establish direct emission standards or other emission
related requirements (which does not include in-use operational controls) for engines
that are expressly preempted under the Clean Air Act’s section 209(e)(1).



